Daydreaming Discussions- To Read or Not To Read Outside of Your Comfort Zone.

PicsArt_1462280909889

Hey there guys! Welcome to Daydreaming Discussions. This is a monthly feature created by me where I discuss anything bookish related or sometimes it might be about any non-bookish things as well. Also be prepared for a lot of ramblings and rantings and you’re very welcome to be a part of the discussion.

Hey there guys! I know I have been quite absent this week but it’s been a pretty stressy week, nonetheless I hope that everything works out soon in my favour. So, today I bring you a new discussion-

PicsArt_1457354108920

So, by out of the comfort zone, I mean we usually stick to the genres that we love to read and we are comfortable with. We usually hesitate to go out that boundary because it feels not necessary and there are plenty of books from our favourite genres. But let’s look at the positive side of what happens if we step out of our comfort zone.

There are two main things you would benefit from:

1. New genres or age category-

If you step out of your comfort zone and decide to try a new genre or age category, what’s the harm in that?

Take me for example, I used to read only mystery and thrillers as a kid. Then I got introduced to fantasy and paranormal genre and I immediately fell in love with it. I slowly diverged into science fiction which is now one of my favourite genres to read from. Also, I really didn’t like contemporary much because I got easily bored with it but I planned in 2015 to read more contemporary and I did and surprisingly I loved it.

Also, I think I read New Adult for the first time in 2015. The main reason I started reading NA was the too much overuse of the love triangle in YA, and in NA, love triangles are very rare. But well, it’s not the point in today’s post. What I am trying to say is that after giving it a try, I actually love reading NA. So yaayiee for me! πŸ˜€

So by going out of your comfort zone, you might discover a new favourite genre.

2. New Authors-

This one’s a no brainer and a huge plus. When you diverge into more new genres or age categories you are bound to discover more and more new authors which might ultimately led you to your new favourite bunch of authors. I sure did discover a lot of new authors myself.

BUT

Here comes the million dollar question-

Is branching out of your comfort zone really necessary?

It absolutely depends on you!

There are mostly positive sides to it as I stated above. If you want to try out new things outside your comfort zone, that’s great but it’s definitely not mandatory. And not necessary when you are not ready for it.

Read it only if you want to.

If you pressurize yourself into reading a new genre or age category because your friends or your favourite bloggers are reading it but you’re not comfortable with right now, definetely stop reading that. It’ll suck the joy out of your hobby or passion that you love so much. It will start to seem like a chore instead of relaxation and you might fall into a reading slump! Plus you might never look at that genre in that same way again when you might have enjoyed it when you were ready in the future.

So, my point is, step out of your comfort zone when YOU absolutely know for sure that you are ready and when you realize that, then it’s time to enjoy the ride!


Sooo guys, what are your opinions about today’s topic? Do you agree with me or disagree? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

25 thoughts on “Daydreaming Discussions- To Read or Not To Read Outside of Your Comfort Zone.

  1. Except for Biographies, I’d like to read books from any genre if they intrigue me. At first, I used to read only paranormal and fantasy genre and after some time I started to explore more genre’s like contemporary, thrillers, sci-fi/dystopia and historical romance. Sticking to only one genre sometimes leads me to reading slump that’s why I switch to other genres whenever I feel the need to jump into other genre.
    Great Topic! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I pretty much have a set rotation on the types of books I read. I usually cycle through a YA novel (paranormal/sciFi) then a NA contemporary and then back. BUT, I have recently got into audiobooks so that’s been great and I’m starting to warm up to the suspense romance in NA novels.

    It’s weird, normally I test my boundaries when offered review copies of something. I’m not sure if that is a good thing or a bad thing. But I’m willing to try anything once when it comes to reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think definitely try and step out of your comfort zone! But if you read one or two contemporaries, and don’t like them, I agree that you shouldn’t force yourself to read more. Great discussion πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I totally agree about branching out! I will literally read anything that sounds even remotely interesting to me. I’ve read biographies, literary fiction, sci fi, history books, fantasy, you name it and I’ve probably read it. Except for self help, haven’t gotten to that point yet haha. But I think it’s nice to have a wide variety of books. It gives you some really well rounded viewpoints and brings you into contact with thoughts and ideas that you might not be able to experience if you just stick to one particular genre. However, it is definitely alright to have your favorites. Fantasy and sci fi certainly make their presence known on my bookshelves. Great discussion! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love all your thoughts Poulami! And I totally agree with you – it’s totally up to the reader’s choice. I may venture out of my comfort zone if it’s with a book that someone I know highly recommends it. I’m all for discovering new authors and genres to love! The only category I wouldn’t in is certain non-fiction, since I already read enough of those in the form of textbooks for school lol. I hope this week proves less stressful!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Honestly, there’s not much that I don’t read. I love reading a mix of adult and young adult fiction but I also tend to love nonfiction when I do pick it up too. I haven’t tried much NA, as you know, but it’s definitely on my bookish bucket list to give more a go. However, for genres… I know I don’t like psychological thrillers and mysteries. But I still buy the ones that the blogosphere has deemed important must reads! But I do have to say I veto erotica. It’s just really not for me. πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    • I really haven’t given non-fiction much try because reading too many school materials were enough for me I think! πŸ˜› Yep! I know… I can’t wait for that day when (if) you might actually like NA! Eroticas are a no no for me as well! Because when I gave 50 Shades a try I actually got bored! XD

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Ooh I couldn’t agree more. XD I think it’s like hard to know if you should read outside your comfort-zone or not. Because I mean, reading is for FUN right?! but then we also want to stretch ourselves. *nods* But I was basically ONLY reading YA dystopians when I started reading YA…and goodness, I would’ve missed out on sooo much if I’d stuck to that. xD But now my “comfort zone” is basically anything YA. hehe. Although I do try to read something adult or a memoir occasionally to prove to myself I can. Although I don’t really enjoy them? Which has me scurrying back to YA where I belong. xD

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love this discussion. I’m in my mid-20’s and read 99.9% YA. Sometimes I feel a little weird for that like maybe I should be reading classics or something “harder”. But, really, I read for enjoyment. I read for entertainment. I like to have “fun” while reading. Not struggling to get through the language or prose of a book. That’s not to say I don’t read anything out of YA – I just don’t pressure myself or worry about it too much. Heck, I’m reading A Song of Ice and Fire. Granted, it’s taking me almost a year to get through 3 books – but it works for me lol

    Molly @ Molly’s Book Nook

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Monthly March 2016! – Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

