Review: Love Me, Love Me Not by Alyxandra Harvey

Title: Love Me, Love Me Not

Author: Alyxandra Harvey

Standalone

Genre: Paranormal, Romance, Retelling, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Cool

Page Count and Format: 211 pages, Ebook

Published: February 22nd 2016 by Entangled: Crave

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558655390


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Dating isn’t easy when you’re in the middle of a blood feud.

Anastasia Vila’s family can turn into swans, but just once she’d like them to turn into responsible adults.

After hundreds of years, they still cling to the blood feud with the Renard family. No one remembers how it started in the first place— but foxes and swans just don’t get along.

Vilas can only transform into their swan shape after they have fallen in love for the first time, but between balancing schoolwork, family obligations, and the escalating blood feud, Ana’s got no time for love. The only thing keeping her sane is her best friend, Pierce Kent.

But when Pierce kisses Ana, everything changes.

Is what Pierce feels for her real, or a byproduct of her magic? Can she risk everything for her best friend? And when the family feud spirals out of control, Ana must stop the fight before it takes away everything she loves.

Including, maybe… Pierce.

This Entangled Teen Crave book contains language, violence, and lots of kissing. Warning: it might induce strong feelings of undeniable attraction for your best friend.


PicsArt_1443945753901

I didn’t know what to expect from this book when I went in although I heard it was a retelling. Only after I finished reading this book I understood which one it was, I had not read the actual book but I did watch a barbie movie as a kid. 😛

Ana is a swan maiden. She only gets her wings when she finds love. She’s desperate to find true love otherwise she has to face drastic consequences. On top of that, they have to continuously fight the Renards, the foxes who creates a problem now and then. The only thing keeping her sane in the midst of all this is her best friend Pierce. But when Pierce kisses her, she’s gets confused about her feelings as she thinks it’s a byproduct of her magic. But when everything spins out of control and one of her cousins go missing, would she be able to save salvage them all?

The plot was unique but the execution fell flat for me. Nothing much happened in the first portion of the book and then suddenly everything started happening together. I had so many questions but my questions kept on piling up instead of them being answered. Half of the time, I could not understand what the hell was going on. I really wanted more explanation about the swan thingies and their rituals and what would happen if they didn’t do it but unfortunately none of them were explained much. That’s why, I just didn’t feel much invested in the story and I found myself skimming through the pages so that I could finish this book.

There were a lot of characters in this book and too many secondary characters sometimes confused me. I couldn’t connect with any of the characters much. Ana was an okay protagonist, she had a crush on of her classmate, Edward and she was so invested on getting hid attention that she didn’t notice that her best friend had feelings for her. Pierce was a sweet guy, he was caring and protective of Ana. He was also the one who knew her secret. I liked their friendship but I didn’t feel much chemistry between them.

Overall, Love Me, Love Me Not frankly was a confusing read. The plot had potential but it didn’t live upto it and I couldn’t connect with the characters. The writing was simple, although sometimes it did feel a bit scattered and all over the place. I really wanted to enjoy this book but unfortunately I couldn’t, I was very close to DNF-ing it but thankfully I finished it.

Recommend it?

I don’t think so!


So guys have you started this book yet? If yes, how was your experience or what do you feel about it? If not, then, do you want to read it? Share your thoughts with me!

5 thoughts on “Review: Love Me, Love Me Not by Alyxandra Harvey

  1. Such a shame! I really enjoyed the first half of Alyxandra Harvey’s Drake Chronicles series but they fell a little flat at the end; and I really liked her Lovegrove Legacy Series which ended on a huge cliffhanger without a third book in sight (ugh)—So I was really excited to see what new works she was putting out but this sounds like a complete flop 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aww, it’s been a while since I’ve seen you not recommend a book on here. I’m sorry the execution was poor and that it fell flat overall, Poulami! I hate when that happens. Lately, I’ve been reading all sorts of good books as you know. 😉 Maybe when exams are over you can pick up A Darker Shade of Magic and then AGoS, the sequel, because both are so good!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah…
      Yes, I really want to read that series, in fact I already have the first book sitting in my ereader for months, I don’t know why I haven’t picked it up yet but after the exams I’ll read the 1st and 2nd book together. And I hope I enjoy it as much as you did! 🙂

      Like

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- February 2016! – Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

