Review: Air Awakens by Elise Kova

Author: Elise Kova

Tittle: Air Awakens

Series: Air Awakens, book 1

Genre: Fantasy, Historical, Romance, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Cool

Page Count and Format: 287 pages, Ebook

Published: August 27th 2015 by Silver Wing Press

Source: I received a digital copy of this book from YA Bound Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051


Blurb (from Goodreads):

A library apprentice, a sorcerer prince, and an unbreakable magic bond…

The Solaris Empire is one conquest away from uniting the continent, and the rare elemental magic sleeping in seventeen-year-old library apprentice Vhalla Yarl could shift the tides of war.

Vhalla has always been taught to fear the Tower of Sorcerers, a mysterious magic society, and has been happy in her quiet world of books. But after she unknowingly saves the life of one of the most powerful sorcerers of them all—the Crown Prince Aldrik— she finds herself enticed into his world. Now she must decide her future: Embrace her sorcery and leave the life she’s known, or eradicate her magic and remain as she’s always been. And with powerful forces lurking in the shadows, Vhalla’s indecision could cost her more than she ever imagined.


PicsArt_1443945753901

I’ve wanted to read this book for a long time and the hype surrounding it was crazy. And frankly, I loved the blurb, so I definitely wanted to give it a try. I’m so glad I did because I really, really liked this book.

Vhalla Yarl is a seventeen year old library apprentice who she loves being surrounded by books. After she unexpectedly ends up saving the life of Crown Prince Aldrik, she learns that she possesses an elemental magic that was supposed to have been extinct centuries ago. At first, she tries to stay away from anything related magic because they were taught to fear it and hate it but her urge to learn more helps her understand the true nature of everything. While some find her magic very useful, others feel that she is dangerous and her power needs to be eradicated immediately. Would she be able to cope up with everything and leave her old life behind and start a new one as a sorcerer?

I really, really enjoyed reading this book. It had plenty of adventure and action with a dash of romance. Vhalla comes to know that she is a sorcerer after she unknowingly saves Prince Aldrik’s life. She, along with the others have been taught that sorcerers are evil people. So when she comes to know about her true self, she freaks out but due to her thirst for knowledge she discovers the truth about everything. I really loved how the plot was executed while keeping everything else in a perfect balance. But I wish there was bit more action. Everything towards the end really took a bizarre turn, I definitely wasn’t expecting that but I like where things are heading. There is already a forbidden relationship vibe in this book and after how it ended, I have no doubt that the next book won’t have some good dose of angst and mind blowing chemistry between Vhalla and Aldrik.

The characters were pretty great. They were flawed and felt so real. Vhalla is a strong protagonist and I really liked her. She took no bullshit, even when it came from the Crown Prince himself. I liked her no nonsense attitude. I definitely loved Prince Aldrik. He admitted he was not a good person, he had his fair share of faults but you can’t help but love him. At first he comes off as cocky and a douchebag but we slowly realise that’s not all to his character. I absolutely loved the relationship and the banter between these two and the sexual tension was perfectly done. Although there was not much romance but somehow I felt satisfied.

Overall, Air Awakens was definitely a fantastic start to a series. The plot was neatly executed and I fell in love with the characters. The writing was simple and beautiful and the pace was fast throughout the book. I’m really excited to read the next book and can’t wait to see how everything spans out.

Recommend it?

Yes!


Soooo guys, how many of you gave upto the hype and read this book? Or are you still waiting to read it? If you’ve already read it, how do you feel about it? Share your thoughts with me!

28 thoughts on “Review: Air Awakens by Elise Kova

  1. Action and adventure are my favorite flavors in books. I really want to read this now that I’ve seen it around the blogosphere so much. I will probably have to push reading this or books like it to get me out of all the depressing reads I’ve read recently. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with this review, Poulami!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ummm, how come I didn’t know about this book until now?? Because fantasy genre + action & adventure + great characters + banter between great characters = COMPLETE TBR MATERIAL!!!

    Oh, and did you say the main character is a LIBRARY APPRENTICE??? Asdfghjkl

    Liked by 1 person

      • Oh yeah. Stupid boards… 😦

        YES OMG CAN ANYTHING BE BETTER?? *_*

        And noooo they’ve only just begun, with the practicals. The theory exams start from 26th Feb and go on all the way till 28th March. I’m a goner, di! 😦

        So yeah, sorry I haven’t been checking into GR much (I’m afraid I’ll spend too much time browsing for books to add my TBR if I do). What recommendations did you want anyway?

        Liked by 1 person

      • NOPEEEE!! *sighs*

        Ah… yes I remember, the practicals come first! 😛 Don’t worry, I firmly believe you’ll do great. Just don’t be tense much or pressurise yourself and you’ll be fine. My final exams start from 1st April and I’m 100% sure CU is going to make a joke of our lives! Your school life’s coming to end and my college life. I really can’t believe that.

        Oh! No problem. I just wanted to start reading Stephen King’s books this year along with 875346 books and you’re a BIG fan so tell me 2-3 names of his books so I know from where to start, or your most favourites. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Well, I’m definitely TRYING not to get tensed up, but I don’t know how well that’s working. *sigh* :/

        Oh gosh, your exams start right after mine end! All the best in advance, di — I hope you come out with flying colours!! 😘😘 (I’ll try and wish you again after my boards end 😉 ) But yeah, I really can’t believe that school life’s coming to an end. I mean, me and my friends are still like, “We’ll discuss this during lunch break tomorrow”. And then the realisation hits. NO more lunch breaks. NO more hanging out in the corridors. NO more… so many things. It’s just… I guess it still just hasn’t planted into my mind yet.

        Ohhh, Stephen King recs? I can do that. 😀 Ummm, generally whatever he writes is awesome, but… maybe you could start with Carrie? Or even The Shining, if you want something a bit more, um, movie-material? (I know that sounds like nonsense, but I hope you got what I meant)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Okay, okay, I’m trying! 😛

        You WILL get into uni, di! I know you will! 😀 And hopefully, it WILL be better than your college life. Maybe? 😉

        Ah, so you got what I meant, huh? You must be pretty talented. 😛 And you’re very welcome.

        P.S. When you finish with those, and if (when) you end up loving them, come to me and I’ll treat you some more recs! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Bought this after a friend recommended it to me on Goodreads and I can’t wait to read it though I won’t get to it for awhile.

    Makes me happy to see that you enjoyed it; we seem to have similar tastes so I’m hoping that means I will enjoy it too 🙂 The hype is a little worrisome haha

    Liked by 1 person

  4. After seeing my coblogger Kynn fall in love with the series, It’s been high on my TBR list ever since. It reminds me of what Ink & Bone by Rachael Caine should have been. I can’t wait to start the series! Incredible review Poulami and so glad you enjoyed this one ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- February 2016! – Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

