Daydreaming Discussions- Romantic tropes: Most favourite to the least.

PicsArt_1462280909889

Hey there guys! Welcome to Daydreaming Discussions. This is a monthly feature created by me where I discuss anything bookish related or sometimes it might be about any non-bookish things as well. Also be prepared for a lot of ramblings and rantings and you’re very welcome to be a part of the discussion.

Heeeey guys! Happy Valentine’s Day! ❀

The day is already over here but today was pretty good, I spent the day with the two love of my life, i.e. books and chocolates. πŸ˜€ I was craving a chocolate donut for a week now and tadaa! Finally had it today, it was soooo beautiful and of course super duper yummy!

We also had Saraswati puja yesterday. Saraswati is the goddess of knowledge, music, art, wisdom and learning according to Hindu religion. So we had a two day program in my locality, I was not sure if I wanted to go today as well but well people came and dragged us there! πŸ˜› But surprisingly, had lots of fun, crazy danced for 3 hours straight and now my feet and aching pretty badly but it was worth it. πŸ˜€

So let’s not digress anymore, today I’m going to share the top five romantic tropes, from my most favourite to the least.

(P.S. I’m a hopeless romantic!)

1. Forbidden Love- It’s a kind of love where two people fall in love with each other despite everyone against them. Some have a tragic ending like in Romeo amd Juliet while some love triumphs against the universe.

I just simply love forbidden love, specially because it has a lot of angst and I LOVE angst and tension and when it builds up perfectly, the result is mind blowing.Β It’s kind of fun and exciting and kind of dangerous as well. I think, personally, I don’t have the guts to do anything forbidden, (well yet!) maybe that’s why I like it so much. I really can’t think of much examples right now after so much dancing, yes I know I do not think from my feet but still… so I’m gonna give one example for each of the following.

One of my favourite couple of all the times is Anna and Kaidan from the Sweet trilogy by Wendy Higgins. While Anna is the daughter of Duke of Substance Abuse and a guardian angel, Kaidan is son of Duke of Lust. Everything between them is pretty much forbidden but yet they fall in love.

Special mention: Delena i.e. Damon and Elena from the Vampire Diaries is one the perfect example of forbidden love. They fell in love against the whole goddamn universe and they went through sooo much together, This ship was the only reason I watched this show and I miss them like crazy!!! *sobs*

10301118_812401732116141_2641521005363477497_n

(P.S. A little secret, when I’m gonna realise the latter, I will confess the former. Someday. Definitely someday.)

2. Love/Hate Relationship- This is the kind of relationship were two people mostly hate each other at first, then they reach the frenemies stage which ultimately leads them to the lovers stage.

This is my second favourite. I love how this kind of relationship spans out, at first all they do is fight which sometimes frustrates me and sometimes it’s kind of fun. Then slowly they reach a truce or something like that before they start to realise that they might like each other or feel something more than that.

In Carry On by Rainbow Rowell we have a love/hate relationship between Simon and Baz.

3 . Friends to Lovers- This situation happens when two people are very good friends, mostly best friends and they realise they have romantic feelings for each other.

This one is the most adorable kind of romance where I want to squish the characters to death. Most of the times the two people are in denial or they usually choose to make the other person jealous to make him/her realise his/her feelings.

In The Girlfriend Request by Jodie Andrefski, Emma and Eli are best friends but Emma wants to be more than friends so she goes to ridiculous heights to make him realise her feelings for him.

4. Insta Love- Here two people fall in love within days of meeting each other.

Most of us don’t like this kind of relationship, because it just happens suddenly without much interaction between this two characters and they somehow seem to positively know they are in love. (Like even how?) Sometimes we don’t even understand that they are already in love and when the “L” bomb drops all of a sudden, we fall from the sky or the bed or the chair. You choose.. (But for me it’s still tolerable than love triangles.)

In The 5th Wave insta love occurs between Evan and Cassie. This is the only aspect that I didn’t like in the book because the L word appeared our of nowhere.

5. Love Triangles- Love triangle is something where a person has feelings for two people at the same time.

This kind of situation makes me want to tear all the hair in my head in frustration 99% of the time. I mean this is probably more scary than a zombie apocalypse. In simple words, I hate love triangles. Sometimes, occasionally, surprisingly I like it but I mostly despise it because it manages to play with my feelings in the most brutal ways.

I recently finished Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover where I read the most excruciating love triangle ever between Sydney, Ridge and Maggie. I’m still not over it and pretty much ugly cried throughout the book.


So, I don’t know if I made much sense in this post. My mind feels groggy. Yup. Definitely.

But anyways, this was my opinion about how I like the romantic tropes. What about you guys? What’s your most favourite and the least?

17 thoughts on “Daydreaming Discussions- Romantic tropes: Most favourite to the least.

  1. I’m right on board with you on this one! Forbidden Love is one of my favourite tropes ever! I’m a sucker for those.

    I’m on the fence with Friends to Lovers. Depends on their friendship to be honest. Some of my favourite romances have that friends to lover like Before Jamaica Lane or Beautiful Player. I just find unrequited love uncomfortable sometimes…

    Goodness: the love triangle in Maybe Someday was completely heart-wrenching. WOW! I read it a year ago and it is still a fresh stab to my heart when I think about it. So while I hate love triangles, I felt like that one was really well done even if it made me want to cry πŸ˜₯

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yipee! πŸ˜€
      Yes, it does depend on their friendship. Ooo I’m definitely going to check those out. Omg yes, I do not like unrequited love AT ALL. But I absolutely love when both of them realise they want to be more than friends and then it’s all awkward and cute and adfgljhf! πŸ˜›

      Yes, Maybe Someday tore my heart apart, played football with it and then kicked it out of this freaking universe! Well that’s what I felt, it was way too intense and I ended up bawling my eyes out. I definitely agree, the love triangle was really done well and it was so difficult to choose. That’s why I think love triangles are far more scarier than zombie apocalypse!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I understand your frustration with love triangles… BUT I love them so much. I think it’s my guilty pleasure honestly… Or it could be because Twilight, which introduced me to ya literature, had one. I don’t know. I can’t explain it. Another thing people tend to hate but I don’t entirely dislike is instalove. I do see the problem and unrealistic part of it but sometimes it’s not so terrible for me. On the other hand, I really dislike the forbidden love trope. Or starcrossed lover themed stories. I guess Romeo and Juliette kind of ruined it for me. And not really related, but something else that makes me a bit irritated is when a guy changes a girl’s entire outlook on life or vice versa. I get that the power of love can conquer all but it’s a little too melodramatic for me, I guess. Anyway, wonderful post, Poulami! Hope you had a lovely Valentine’s day with your loved ones and friends-though I just realized that this is not really a global holiday, hope you had a terrific day if you don’t celebrate it. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know… πŸ™‚ Ditto. Twilight opened up a whole new world for me as well. Honestly when I read it, I didn’t even consider that a love triangle because I knew from the very start who Bella would chose. I don’t have much problem with insta love as well if it’s executed well. I’m with you on this one, I really didn’t like Romeo and Juliette but I do loooove this trope. Hehe… I understand but I love a bit of drama… only in books though. πŸ˜›
      Yeah… I spent it with chocolates and books! πŸ™‚ I hope you had a great day as well.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- February 2016! – Daydreaming Books
  4. Pingback: Daydreaming Discussions- How I Rate My Books!

Leave a Reply

