Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Author: Rick Yancey

Tittle: The 5th Wave

Series: The 5th Wave trilogy, book 1

Genre: Post-Apocalyptic, Sci-fi, Thriller, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Cool

Page Count and Format: 460 pages, Paperback

Published: May 7th 2013 by Penguin Books

Source: Purchased

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051


Blurb (from Goodreads):

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one. Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave. On a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, until Cassie meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan may be her only hope for rescuing her brother and even saving herself. Now she must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up. Cassie Sullivan gets up.


PicsArt_1443945753901

I wanted to read The 5th Wave for a long time but I couldn’t because I was kinda busy buying other books. Then I saw that the movie was coming out and it was the perfect opportunity for me to read the book before going to see the movie. So, I finally picked it up in December and I’m so glad I did because I absolutely loved the book.

Cassie had been living a pretty normal life just like any other high school student until the mothership arrives. After that nothing remains the same. Cassie along with her father and brother moves to a refugee camp but due to certain circumstances her brother gets seperated from her and she promised that would never happen. The 4th wave have already started, will Cassie even make it alive to rescue her brother in time or will all hell break loose?

We are pretty much familiar with alien invasion in books and movies but the concept of the waves was freaking awsome and brilliant. I was glued to the book from the very first page. The plot was executed really well and I enjoyed the suspense and the engaging action throughout the book. This book had multiple POVs which was definitely a plus because we got to know what all the characters were thinking. It was a bit confusing at first but I quickly got the heck of it. The training part in the military camp was a bit gruesome and I was suspicious of Vosch from the very beginning. But that plot twist, holy hell, I didn’t see it coming! It took me a few moments to process everything before I moved forward with the book.

The characters were one of the most important aspect of this book and I ended up liking them, very much. I really liked Cassie, she was a strong character and loyal to her promises. I loved her relationship with her little brother Sammy. No matter what the situation was, she never gave up on finding her brother. Evan’s character was a bit complex and he was definitely different but yeah I ended up liking him as well. I liked their romance but it was a bit too insta-lovey. I mean when he dropped the “L” bomb I was like when did this happen, where was I? Other than this aspect I pretty much enjoyed their relationship.

I was a bit confused obout what to feel about Ben Parish but as we proceeded, he quite grew on me. So yeah, I definitely liked him as well and I loved that he treated Sam like his own brother. Among his other squad members, I really liked Ringer, she was sassy and smart and took no bullshit. I pretty much hated Renzik because of how badly he treated everybody. Everything about the camp smelled fishy to me. Nonetheless, all the characters played an equally important role in this book. I absolutely loved how everything ended, well not everything because there was a bit of a cliffhanger but nonetheless I was satisfied.

Overall, The 5th Wave was an awsome book, it was fast paced and I couldn’t wait to finish this book as I pretty much raced through it. The concept and the plot was neatly executed and the characters were pretty great. The narrative style was a bit different but nonetheless I enjoyed it. I can’t wait to start the next book but unfortunately it will have to wait until my final exams are finished and until then the 3rd and the last book will come out as well. So I plan to read book 2 and 3 together. I reeeally hope April comes soon!

Recommend it?

Definitely yes!


The 5th Wave-  Movie Review

 

Director: J Blakeson

Cast: Chloë Grace Moretz, Nick Robinson, Ron Livingston, Maggie Siff, Alex Roe, Maria Bello, Maika Monroe, Liev Schreiber

Release Date (US): January 22, 2016

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051


PicsArt_1443945753901

  • I really, really liked the movie. All the effects of the waves were vividly described and it was pretty fantastic. I specially liked the tsunami, yes it was a bit depressing but nonetheless it was a great scene as well.
  • Most of the significant episodes were executed differently but it stayed true to the plot. I mean, I can’t complain, it’s an adaptation after all but thankfully they didn’t change anything major.
  • The camp scene was cut short. In the book I think it consists of 30-40% but here it was just a few scenes and I think that was pretty okay because they had to fit everything within just a few hours in the movie.
  • Also the training of Ben and his team members were shown very less as well, there was barely one scene, I would have loved if they included a few more scenes.
  • I would have liked if they stuck to the original for only these two scenes- The big revelation occurred to Ringer in the book but here Ben figures that out and when Cassie comes to the military camp she recognises Ben and not the vice versa.
  • I loved that the the L word didn’t occur in the movie. Yet. So I am absolutely okay with it.
  • That peeping scene was absolutely not necessary but it was damn funny!
  • Oh and I pretty much ogled the screen because you know…
  • Other than that, I loved the acting and how everything was executed. I can’t wait to watch the next one!

Recommend it?

Yes. Even if you didn’t like the book, you should definitely give the movie a try.


Sooo guys, how many of you have read the book and watched the movie as well? What did you loved and hated the most about it? Share your thoughts with me!

16 thoughts on “Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

  1. I am SO torn about reading this series. The movie looks like a lot of fun and definitely has me intrigued but I dunno about the book series. I hear lots of good things and your review is very convincing!

    I hate that it has some insta-love but I kinda expected that from the movie trailer oddly enough. Hmm, maybe I’ll give this one a shot later in the summer!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved this book. Definitely one of the better ones I’ve read. And the second book runs hot and cold for people, so I’m curious to see which camp you fall in.

    The movie was not my favorite, for a few reasons. As a medium itself, it was fine – it told a more complete story than most adaptations (There are a few YA movies that I’ve sat through going “Will someone who hasn’t read the book understand this at all?!”) and it was cast well – loved the gender bend on Resnik. But I didn’t like how they made Ringer – she lacked any depth in the movie, and especially after the second book – she’s one of my favorite characters of any series. And Poundcake TALKED.

    Okay, not going to lie – reading the second book probably ruined the movie for me more than the 1st book.

    Evan’s dropping the L-bomb was probably a bit too soon, but I get the impression they are together for weeks, if not months before they head out to find Sam (just to let Cassie’s leg heal). And, as I have 17 year old siblings, most kids drop the l-bomb way too early.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved the book, so I can’t believe that I still haven’t seen the movie yet! (But I was pretty sick for a month, so I guess I can believe it!)

    Anyway… this book… I freaking loved it. I didn’t think I’d like it, but I just got so into it so quickly. I was kind of bummed that it wasn’t the same with The Infinite Sea, but I’m hoping that the third one is strong. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well I nearly missed out. Don’t worry, your health comes first, you can definitely see the movie later or whenever you want in your home. 🙂

      I’m glad you loved this book. Yes, I’ve heard the same from so many people that’s why I’m afraid to start the next book and that’s why I’m planning to read book 2 and 3 together. And I reeeally hope so! 😀

      Like

  4. Wonderful dual review, Poulami! I have to say that I put this one on the back burner despite the rave reviews and movie release… I don’t know I haven’t really been in a sci-fi mood lately. Ah well. But thank you for sharing your thoughts! I hope your exams go smoothly and that you’ll be able to pick up The Infinite Sea! Only a few more weeks left. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- February 2016! – Daydreaming Books
  6. Pingback: The Creative Blogger Award & The Summer Reader Book Tag!

Leave a Reply

