Review: Beyond the Stars by Stacy Wise

Author: Stacy Wise

Tittle: Beyond the Stars

Standalone

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [New-Adult]

Heat Rating: Mildly warm

Page Count and Format: 336 pages, Ebook

Expected Publication: February 8th 2016 by Entangled Publishing

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Falling for him wasn’t in the plans…

Most girls would kill for the opportunity to work for Jack McAlister, Hollywood’s hottest actor, but twenty-one-year-old Jessica Beckett is ready to kick him out of her red Ford Fiesta and never look back. She should be spending her junior year in France, eating pastries and sharpening her foreign language skills. Instead she’s reluctantly working as Jack’s personal assistant, thanks to her powerhouse talent agent aunt.

Jack is private, prickly, and downright condescending. Jessica pushes his buttons—she’s not the type of girl to swoon over celebrity heartthrobs, precisely why her aunt thought she’d be perfect for the job— and Jack pushes right back.

But as she begins to peel away his layers, Jessica is shocked to find she craves her boss’s easy smile and sexy blue eyes. The problem is, so does the entire female population. And what started out as the job from hell soon has Jess wondering if a guy like Jack could ever find love with a regular girl like her.


PicsArt_1443945753901

I love this kind of storyline, it screams of forbidden romance in a kind of way. Though it wasn’t exactly that but I definitely enjoyed the ride.

Jessica had to cancel her educational trip to France because she fell ill and now because of her aunt who is an agent, she had to reluctantly agree to work temporarily as a personal assistant for Hollywood’s most hottest actor, Jack McAlister. Jessica isn’t easily fazed by celebrities, especially after a certain incident. She thought this job would be easy but Jack is the complete opposite of that. But as they forced to spend time with each other, Jessica discovers what Jack is truly underneath the facade. But when so much fame is in the way, is anything normal possible between them?

I really enjoyed the plot of this book. This book was fun and fluffy. I could relate to Jessica to some aspect because like her, I’m not that fazed by celebrities as well. [But that doesn’t mean I won’t faint if Dylan O’Brien is in front of me! *Ahem*] I mean, I love them but it ends there. So back to this book, Jessica didn’t want this job but Jack was her aunt’s best client so she didn’t want anything bad to happen to her because of her decesions, so she took the job. This book was pretty funny as well and we get the glimpse at the very first page where Jessica is driving Jack’s pet pig to a show he’s giving interview. It was pretty hilarious.

I liked Jessica, she was fun but reserved. And she knew how to push Jack’s buttons. They both challenged each other. I loved the banter between them. Jack was a pretty awsome guy as well but he built a strong wall around himself because position as an actor was pretty vulnerable. I enjoyed the chemistry between these two as well. Everything went pretty well until I reached 90% of this book, then it unnatural sped up and I felt the ending was rushed. The last 10% was uber clichéd and the “L” bomb was suddenly dropped, everything happened a bit too fast which felt a bit too unnecessary.

Overall, Beyond the Stars was a good read. I liked the plot and the characters, especially the banters between Jessica and Jack. The writing was simple and smooth, I enjoyed reading this book and finished this book quite easily.

Recommend it?

Yes.


So how many of you are planning to read this book when it comes out? Are you exited? Is it already in your tbr? Share your thoughts with me!

9 thoughts on “Review: Beyond the Stars by Stacy Wise

  1. By the time I had decided to request this on Netgalley it had been archived 😦
    But it sounds exactly what I wanted it to be. Shame that the ending is rushed–I hate when that happens.

    I don’t know a girl who wouldn’t faint if Dylan O’Brien appeared in front of them…<3

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This sounds like it would make a seriously fantastic romcom haha! I am so glad you loved it, sounds like it delivers a lot of laugh and squee ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooh, this sounds like an adorable storyline! And I’m so happy to hear it was well executed as well. And haha, same. I don’t think I’d really fangirl with celebrities… unless it was Yixing from Exo. That’d be another story. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- February 2016! – Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

