Review: Broken by Susanne Valenti

Author: Susanne Valenti

Tittle: Broken

Series: Cage of Lies, book 3

Genre: Dystopia, Sci-fi, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Slightly warm

Page Count and Format: 211 pages, Ebook

Expected Publication: January 31st 2016 by Kdp

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Since all of her hopes were dashed, Maya is struggling to adapt to her new life. Where dreams and wishes once kept her going now there is only the burning desire for revenge. She’s changing, hardening into the person she needs to be to hold it together but sometimes the cracks still show. She wants nothing more than to go back and become the person she used to be but sometimes she can’t even remember who that was. Nothing will be right again until she resets the balance. Blood will pay for blood and she won’t give up until the final drop has been spilled. Some say she’s taking it too far, others say it isn’t far enough.


PicsArt_1443945753901

I won’t lie, my expectations for this series this series is going higher and higher. While I loved the first book (you can read my review of Chained here), the second book blew my mind (you can read my review of Linked here), this book was definitely a bit different but I’m glad to say it didn’t dissapoint.

Broken takes place after six months after that tragedy occurred which left Maya heartbroken with no hope left at all. Only Alicia understands her pain and both of them are firm on taking revenge, it’s the only thing in their mind. But when unexpected hindrances head their way and a shocking truth is revealed, what will Maya do?

Boy, the author sure knows how to execute action scenes which I immensely enjoyed. Six months have passed away since that tragedy shook everybody’s life, Maya is a totally different person in this book from what she used to be. She has much hardened and her spirit is fuelled only by the thoughts of revenge. I liked the growth of all the characters. After Maya and the rest of her group hear a radio transmission, they learn that the Wardens of the city are coming to execute them and they know it’s the time for a war. This book is filled with vividly descriptive action, from the preparation after they hear the transmission and the full on war, everything was executed perfectly. It sure felt a bit monotonous sometimes but it did manage to hold my attention throughout the book and I wasn’t bored for even a second.

I loved Alicia as always, she’s the same sassy person I remember but that tragedy had hardened her equally as it did to Maya. There are so many characters in this book and I really felt attached to all of them and I definitely loved the diversity in this book. I specially loved Blane and Jayden’s relationship but…. I’m not gonna divulge anything but I was heartbroken after what happened. Taylor, well I’m not exactly a fan of him but I didn’t dislike him either, he was the only person who made Maya feel like herself and I understood Maya’s conflicting emotions towards him but it was clear that they could never be what Coal and Maya was. All the characters played an equally important role in this book. And the ending… it made me super happy!! I couldn’t stop smiling and I finally felt relieved, although the situation was totally against Maya but I’m perfectly satisfied with the ending. BUT I do need to know what happens next!

Overall, Broken was an excellent read, I was satisfied how the plot and the overall action was executed, I totally loved all the characters, they all had their pros and cons, none of them were perfect but they were portrayed as realistically as possible. It was fast paced and the writing was smooth and easy to read. This series is definitely one of my favourites now, I can’t wait to read the rest of the books in this series.

Recommend it?

Yes.


So guys, are you exited to read this book? Have you started this series yet? If not, you definitely need to because it’s totally awesome. So what do think about this book? Share your thoughts with me!

One thought on “Review: Broken by Susanne Valenti

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- January 2016 – Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

