Daydreaming Discussions- Why it’s perfectly okay to be the black sheep in the bookish community.

PicsArt_1462280909889

Hey there guys! Welcome to Daydreaming Discussions. This is a monthly feature created by me where I discuss anything bookish related or sometimes it might be about any non-bookish things as well. Also be prepared for a lot of ramblings and rantings and you’re very welcome to be a part of the discussion.

I was going through a few reviews when this topic struck me. I’m sure a lot of bloggers have discussed this topic but today I wanted to share my opinion as well. So let’s talk about why it’s perfectly okay to be the black sheep in the book blogging community.

So what is a black sheep, you may ask?

One who is considered disreputable or disgraceful because of their different opinion. Okay… that might be a bit too much! πŸ˜› I’m sure that’s not the case in the book blogging community.

This can be interpreted as one who has an entirely different opinion about a book that is majorly liked by most of the people.

Am I a black sheep?

Eeh… I think I am. *baa baaa…*

I’ve seen in Goodreads, if a book is popular, most of the times the ratings are 70% or 80% positive. But what about the rest of the percentage? There are a few people who obviously didn’t like the book as much as other people did.

It has happened to me. I’m giving one example (I hope Cait doesn’t see this otherwise she’s going to turn me into a pineapple this time for sure!)- The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. Although I’ve met some people who have shared the same opinion as me but it’s majorly liked by the bookish community. I had to DNF the book and I couldn’t even reach halfway because I was bored with it as I felt the plot was going nowhere. Yes, I definitely want to give it another try this year but my opinion majorly differs from others.

So is this a bad thing?

Definitely not.

Everybody is entitled to their own opinion. But yes if you say crappy things about a book you didn’t like, then I’m going to have a huge problem with you because I’m 100% against bashing. The author put so much effort in creating up a whole book, you can’t simply disrespect that because you didn’t like it. However, if one politely states their reason or opinion for not liking the book, then I don’t think it’s a problem at all.

I’ve been in the book blogging community for more than 6 months now and I know for a matter of fact that this is an amazing community, full of supportive people. I have met so many amazing people as well and I know that everybody respects the others opinion, how different it might be.

I confess, when I just started blogging I was afraid to be judged if I disliked a book that was mostly liked by other people, I thought people would hate me. BUT guess what? Nobody did. Everybody respected my opinion.

Conclusion:

So it is completely okay to have a different opinion, even if a book is massively popular and you didn’t like it or enjoy it as much as you thought you would. Share your honest opinions and definitely don’t sugar coat it, then everybody will respect you and accept you as you are in this amazing bookish community.


So any of you share my opinion? Are you thr black sheep in the book blogging community? Did you read a book and you didn’t like it, were you afraid to share your opinion with others? Share your thoughts with me, wonderful people! ❀

16 thoughts on “Daydreaming Discussions- Why it’s perfectly okay to be the black sheep in the bookish community.

  1. Great topic Poulami! I think I am a black sheep too! I also didn’t liked Raven boys and It was surprising to see so many people gushing about it. Recently, I’ve read Passengers which is one of the top hyped book that was loved by many readers but sadly it didn’t reached my expectations. It was really hard to write a negative review on a book loved by many people but I always write my honest thoughts. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah yes, I remember. And I just read your review of Passenger, I’m kinda bummed you didn’t like it, mostly because of the pace, it plays a huge factor for me too but nonetheless I’m gonna give it a try.

      That’s what I love the most about you Raven, you are completely honest about your reviews and also, you politely state your reasons. That’s why you are one of favourite blogger and one of the few whose bookish opinions I trust. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I loved that topic! I admit it, I’m scared sometimes not to like a hyped book as much as everyone else is. So when that happens, I’m even more scared to write a review! But I feel like everyone should have their own opinion, and It’s okay if you’re the black sheep, there are other black sheeps out there, too! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I feel like the community has set up too many standards for us. Just because the majority of people love a book doesn’t mean we have to like it as well!
    I’m a huge fan of Raven Boys but I understand why some people like you would think it’s not their cup of tea 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nice discussion, Poulami! I have to admit that I’ve gotten to black sheep status more than a few times-actually recently with Bookishly Ever After. However, I do like that overall most of the book blogging community is very supportive and respectful of differing opinions. I don’t think I’ve ever been uncomfortable with having different opinion when I dislike a book everyone loved… but I do become self conscious when I love a book everyone hated.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve read about two chapters of Ravenboys, but it’s just so boring. Well, no that’s not right. It’s just too slow. I put it down somewhere last year and haven’t picked it up again since.
    I’ve quite a few books that I feel different about than most people. I’m ok with that; it’s impossible for all people to like the same things after all.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. *STORMS OUT OF THE DARKNESS* OKAY WHAT IS THIS I READ? OMG. NO POULAMI. I THOUGHT WE WERE FRIENDS. *collaspes sobbing*

    Hehe, okay but seriously now?! I 100% agree that it’s okay to be a black sheep! And actually I wouldn’t call your disliking-of-the-Raven-Boys that black sheepish because I know tons of people who don’t like it. I mean, you’re all deluded and missing out BUT STILL WHATEVER. I think it’s important to always voice your opinions honestly, even if they seem unpopular, because it creates balance and it’s good to see things from someone else’s perspective!! IT IS!! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • OH DEARIE…. *hands you a slice of chocolate brownie cheesecake* Well at least I didn’t get turned into a pumpkin! *phew*

      Girl, how do you manage to be funny every single time?! πŸ˜€ But hey, only because you rave so much about it and kind of your every single post contains Maggie Stiefvater, that’s why I’m willing to give it another try. And yesss, exactly! Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- January 2016 – Daydreaming Books
  8. Pingback: Sunday Post #22 – Pre-birthday party | Books around the World
  9. Ha, yeah I also DNF’d Raven Boys :p Funny thing is her other book, The Scorpio Races, is one of my all time favorite books! It’s weird how that works sometimes πŸ™‚

    And I’m a proud black sheep! I do things my own way, and while I always try to be respectful, I’m not afraid to read and blog how I want to, or share my honest opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

