Review: The Girlfriend Request by Jodie Andrefski

Author: Jodie Andrefski

Tittle: The Girlfriend Request

Standalone

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Cool

Page Count and Format: 216 pages, Ebook

Expected Publication: January 11th 2016 by Entangled: Crush

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558321867


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Updating best friend to girlfriend is more than a change of status…

Emma has been best friends with Eli since she moved to his neighborhood ten years ago. Tired of being cast in the role of the girl next door, Emma creates a fake Facebook profile in the hopes of starting an online friendship with Eli, which would hopefully lead to more. Like…way more. From friend request to In a Relationship- it all seemed so completely logical when she’d planned it.

Eli can’t figure out what Emma is up to. He’s pretty sure she’s the one behind the Facebook profile, but then again, why would she do something so drastic instead of just admitting she wants to be more than friends? And who the heck is this new guy he saw her with? Eli starts to think that just maybe… he missed his chance with the girl next door.

Two best friends, one outlandish ruse. Their status is about to become way more than It’s Complicated…

This Entangled Teen Crush book contains one fake Facebook profile, two best friends who secretly crave each other, and a dreaded sex talk with parents… boy crush in the room included. Pushing a relationship beyond the friend zone has never been so crazy…


PicsArt_1443945753901

You know you have a feeling that you’re going to like a particular book very much and that’s what exactly happened with The Girlfriend Request. I ended up falling in love with it. YA Contemporary is not my strongest forte, I easily get bored with this genre but I’m glad to say that is slowly changing. The Girlfriend Request was the perfect kind of book that motivated me to keep reading this genre more. This book was so perfectly adorable but I wanted to slap and hug the characters at the same time! 😛 This book is definitely among my top favourites. I was smiling like an idiot after I finished reading this. 🙂

Emma and Eli had been best friends forever since she moved to his neighborhood ten years ago. Now Emma wants to be something more than just friends in Eli’s life but she’s scared if taking a step in that direction might destroy their friendship altogether. So she makes a ridiculous plan of starting a fake facebook profile where she would make him fall for her then ultimately tell him the truth. But then one thing or the other starts to go wrong and Eli might already know about the facebook thing. But when another guy falls into the equation things become way too complicated. Would Emma be actually able to tell Eli what she feels for him or will their friendship be destroyed forever?

Soo… as I said this book was way too adorable plus it has such a cute and a beautiful cover. The plot was not at all new but still kinda new because I really haven’t read any book where a girl took such a drastic yet a silly step like her. The plot was executed really well. This was such a fun read with a perfect blend of angst and romance which I really, really loved! Despite her best friend, Sarah’s warning, Emma decides to move with her plan and makes a fake facebook profile. There’s a lot of miscommunication between these two after the facebook thing starts because Eli suspects it’s hers, which actually makes it more fun to read. And then they decide to spice it up by going to a fake date with Jake, a friend of Sarah’s brother and Emma realises she might actually like him. So, we do have a sort of love triangle but it was pretty obvious who she actually wanted to be with. I was pretty mean to Jack in my mind despite he was a pretty nice guy. (I was like shoo, go away! You don’t stand a chance!) I was really mad at Eli for not taking a step despite the fact that he really liked Emma as well but decided against it. So I was really glad when he finally came to his senses.

I pretty much loved all the characters. Emma is such an adorable character, she is caring but impulsive. I loved the friendship between Emma and Eli, it was so sweet. Eli was a great character as well. They both understood each other so well but they both acted in impulse when it came to their feelings because both of them were afraid that they were going to loose the other one if the feeling wasn’t mutual. (I was like God! It’s clear as crystal that they are made for each other! When are they going to see that?!) Their romance is absolutely, so cute! And the angst made it so perfect. Gah! I loved it so, so much!

Overall, The Girlfriend Request was such an adorable and an awsome read. The trope- best friends turning into lovers is one of my favourites and I’m so glad I enjoyed this story so much. The plot was absolutely perfect with memorable characters whom I loved so much. The writing was simple and beautiful and the pace was even throughout the book. After such a long time, I’ve read a perfectly adorable and interesting book which deserves all the love in this world! 😀

Recommend it?

Absolutely YES!


So how many of you are interested in reading The Girlfriend Request? Is it already in your tbr? What are your expectations for this book? Share your thoughts with me!

17 thoughts on “Review: The Girlfriend Request by Jodie Andrefski

  1. Oh! I’ve never even heard of this book! I’m so glad that you enjoyed it! And I love that the romance was spot-on! That’s always important in romances.

    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There’s been so much buzz about this one; it really sounds sweet! I actually just purchased my first Entangled Crush book the other day (Finding Perfect). I probably won’t be reading that title any time soon but hopefully when I do get to it, it’ll be a good experience.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- January 2016 – Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

