Daydreaming Discussions- Things I Love and Hate about Blogging

PicsArt_1462280909889

Hey there guys! Welcome to Daydreaming Discussions. This is a monthly feature created by me where I discuss anything bookish related or sometimes it might be about any non-bookish things as well. Also be prepared for a lot of ramblings and rantings and you’re very welcome to be a part of the discussion.

Sooo… today I wanted to share with you guys how blogging  has affected my life and what are the things that I love and hate about it. But before that MERRY CHRISTMAS people! I hope you had a wonderful day yesterday and if you’re celebrating today, hope you have a blast! I don’t celebrate a big Christmas so I had a quite day at home with mom as dad was out of town and I stuffed myself with cakes and books throughout the day! Also I woke up to cakes and chocolates beside my bed in the morning so that was a yummilicious surprise. I hope you guys have a wonderful holiday and a great year ahead. ❤

Now moving on… blogging definitely affected my life. Mostly in good ways. So today I decided to make a list post stating the pros and cons about the various aspects and how blogging makes me suuuuper happy and sometimes a little sad.

PROS:

  • Blogging changed my reading habits. Believe it or not, until the previous year I read 1 or 2 books per month, I don’t think I even read a total of 10 books a year. Shocking. I know. I already opened Goodreads previous year but I actually started using it from this year, so my first step was to set a goal for the yearly reading challenge. I set it to 30. Then throughout the year it went up, I changed it to 50, then 70, then 100 and finally 120. But I even crossed that. I have read a total of 140 books this year and still counting.
  • I have always been a fast reader but I didn’t think I could actually read this much. After I started blogging I realized I could actually do that.
  • I branched out and read so many new genres. Usually for me, it was only limited to mystery and thriller books but after I started blogging, I’ve read so many variety of books since then. Especially contemporary, they used to bore me but this year I kinda outdid myself by reading so many contemporary books. Thanks to NA books which is something new for me which I discovered this year.
  • I came to realise what kind of books I love to read the most. Fantasy and paranormal are now definitely my favourite genre. And sci-fi is reaching that place pretty fast.
  • I love recommendations. Sooo many people have recommended me variety of books and I love reading reviews. So I get to know about new books every day and from there I choose which I want to read.
  • The blogging community is so, so great. This is the BEST part. I had no idea this kind of community even existed the previous year but after I joined the blogsphere I gained a lot of good friends throughout the year with whom I can eternally fangirl.
  • I literally don’t have a single person in my life with whom I can share my bookish thoughts and ramblings. And blogging provided me with that platform. I can’t convey my thanks to you people for supporting me and staying by my side even when my nonsensical ramblings makes zero sense sometimes! 😛 (Like right now…)
  • ARCS! Again, I didn’t have a single clue what arcs (advanced review copies) were but after I started blogging I’ve got to read so many arcs throughout the year and it’s been an awsome experience. And plus sometimes we get lucky and the authors reply back as well. And that is TOTALLY AWSOOOOME!
  • Also, blogging involves a lot of writing and because of that, I think my writing is improving daily, bit by bit

CONS:

  • I get easily obsessed with any new thing that I actually like. So yes, I have been kind of obsessed with blogging which I’m slowly trying to get to a level where I can maintain a perfect balance without hampering my studies in any way because blogging is really time consuming.
  • ARC envy. I’ve been lucky enough in this department where 90% of my requests have been granted. But there’s still some books which I’ve been eagerly waiting for and I’m denied of that. So yeah, obviously that makes me super sad sometimes but I totally understand. It’s not possible to get every request and it’s definitely okay to feel sad but that’s it. We are going to read that book one day, maybe not soon enough like we had guessed but we will read it one day.
  • Money problems! I love blogging = I love reading = I need more books in my life! Those who have permanent jobs, awsome! But what about people like us? Yeah, I do have a part time job but that’s doesn’t give me much to buy loads of books, dealing with this fact is sometimes disheartening and I don’t want to ask my parents for money. So yeah… the only solution is to deal with this fact and hope for the best in the future.

So, I think… that’s it. These are the various things that I love and kind of hate about blogging.


What about you guys? What are your favourite aspects of blogging and what are the things you hate about it? How has it affected your life? Share your thoughts with me!

14 thoughts on “Daydreaming Discussions- Things I Love and Hate about Blogging

  1. I love having a place to showcase my thoughts on the books I love! The one thing about blogging is it takes time, and there are points where I feel pressured to review a book even though I don’t have much to say.But all in all, blogging has been one of the best things to happen to me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a great post Poulami! I’ve seen myself become a bit obsessed with my blog as well. Thankfully, I have been able to take a step back and not check on it 24/7! I can definitely tell my writing is improving. My reviews have been more concise and to the point instead of just rambling on and on. I feel you about having no one to share your bookish thoughts! That’s one of my favorite aspects of blogging.

    Great post Poulami!!
    Genni @ Ready, Set, Read!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- December 2015 & 2016 Goals! | Daydreaming Books
  4. Of the cons, I mostly agree with you on how time consuming this hobby it is. I mean I never feel tired of blog hopping or even making posts, it’s just so… addicting. I’m going to post a lot less in 2016 though. And can you believe that in 2014 I read like five books? I stopped reading for fun when I entered my second year of high school and didn’t start back until this year. XD I mean I still read assigned reading for school but I was totally out of the loop in terms of ya releases. I never heard of Rainbow Rowell and other popular authors until 2015, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

