Review: Something in the Air by Marie Landry

Author: Marie Landry

Tittle: Something in the Air

Standalone

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [New-Adult]

Heat Rating: Warm

Page Count and Format: 246 pages, Ebook

Published: November 10th 2015

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051


Blurb (from Goodreads):

When Rose Morgan put off her college plans to help her mother through a difficult time, she thought it would just be a bump in the road of her journey. She got a job to help pay the bills and started picking up the slack at home. But three years later, her bumpy ride hasn’t smoothed out yet, and Rose feels stuck. She’s working at a job she hates and living with a manipulative mother. She’s tired of feeling like her life has stalled, tired of the resentment and anger building inside her with each passing day.

Then Declan Connelly appears in her life, and even though the hot Irishman is seriously tempting, Rose is determined not to let him in. She’s afraid to suck anyone into her bizarre life, especially someone who seems too charming for his own good. She soon learns there’s more to Declan than his sexy accent and charismatic personality, though. He’s a good man, and he wants Rose in his life, baggage and all. He’s got his own, and he isn’t scared away like she originally feared he would be.

Everything in Rose’s life is changing quickly. It’s finally her time–time to figure out what she wants and what her future holds. Time to get swept off her feet and not fight it. But when her plans might take her away from all the amazing new things in her life, including Declan, Rose has to make a choice. Is she willing to chase her dreams, even if it means letting go of love?


PicsArt_1443945753901

This book was really, really sweet! It was a beautiful story about broken dreams, friendship and love. At first I was a bit hesitant after I saw the mixed reviews on Goodreads but after reading a review of one of my blogger friends, I just couldn’t resist it. And boy! I’m glad I gave this book a chance.

Rose Morgan lives with her manipulative mother. She works pretty hard being the soul earner in her family but she hates her job and longs to travel the world, she feels stuck in her life. Then she meets Declan, a hot Irishman with an accent. She tries to stay away from him but fate has different plans. And slowly she finds herself falling for him. But when her dreams actually start to come true, will she chase after them or choose to stay with Declan?

The plot was quite enjoyable. Rose has been working as a waitress for nearly three years and she absolutely hates it but her mother is totally dependent on her, so she has no other way out. She usually doesn’t let people in but when she keeps bumping into Declan she decides to give it a chance, of course after much persuasion from Declan, he was pretty persistent. I absolutely loved that guy! He was a perfect gentleman, a great listener and definitely a swoon worthy material!

His lips twitched . “You know, let me court you. Or, what is it you North Americans say? I want to ‘go out’ with you.”

A breathy laugh escaped my lips. “Oh.” I looked down at where his hand still rested on my arm, then returned my gaze to his. “I actually kinda like ‘courting’ better.”

Aww… courting! Does anyone nowadays even say that? It sounds so romantic and sweeet! Anyways, moving on… I liked Rose’s character. Although her situation was quite unfavourable but with a little push from Dante, her best friend and Declan she got the courage to do the right thing and finally stand up for herself. I loved the romance between Declan and Rose, their relationship build up slowly and steadily which I immensely enjoyed. Although I would’ve loved more of their scenes together. The ending felt a bit unrealistic but nonetheless it was satisfying.

The side characters were pretty unique and great as well. I absolutely adored the friendship between Dante and Rose. He was always there by her side and supported her through everything. Maura, Declan’s cousin was another interesting character whom I immediately liked. I even liked Rose’s father when he came into the view, he tried his best to make up for the lost years. But the character I hated the most was her mother, she was really horrifying, how could she manipulate her own child and keep her away from her father when it was all along her fault. Also due to her, Rose couldn’t even complete school. I thought was she was going to redeem herself but proved me wrong. I was so glad when Rose finally stood upto her.

Overall, Something in the Air was a great story which I immensely enjoyed. The plot was well maintained and I fell in love with the characters. The writing was smooth and beautiful and the pace was even throughout the book, it was neither slow nor too fast. I absolutely loved the friendship and the romantic aspect in this book. I’m definitely going to keep an eye out for this author from now onwards.

Recommend it?

Yes!


Soooo, guys read this one yet? What did you feel about this book? Was it right upto your alley? Or are planning to read it soon? Share your thoughts with me!

7 thoughts on “Review: Something in the Air by Marie Landry

  1. Had the same thoughts about this book! I have yet to finish my review of it though since I switched phones and had all my review notes gone. 😦

    Lovely review hun! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gosh, I am so adding this to my TBR because a hot IRISH guy!! Ireland is my dream destination and I really enjoyed When Irish Guys are Smiling when I read it years ago. Just ugh, the fact that he’s Irish (meaning that accent) makes me feel like Declan will be swoonworthy! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- December 2015 & 2016 Goals! | Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

