Review: Fairest by Marissa Meyer

Author: Marissa Meyer

Tittle: Fairest

Series: The Lunar Chronicles, book 3.5

Genre: Sci-fi, Dystopia, Retelling, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Cool

Trigger Warning: Abuse

Page Count and Format: 142 pages, Ebook

Published: January 27th 2015 by Feiwel & Friends

Source: Purchased

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558321867


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Mirror, mirror on the wall,
Who is the fairest of them all?

Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told . . . until now.


PicsArt_1443945753901

I was already into a few chapters of Winter when a review of Winter popped into my email, I decided to skim through it a bit and that person said reading Fairest was a good idea before reading Winter. Then I realised I already had Fairest, so I paused Winter and started reading this book. And O M G, I was completely blown away! Although this book is not necessary to read before diving into Winter but I would whole-heartedly recommend it because this book was creepily perfect!

“Love is a conquest, love is a war”

This book tells us the story of Levana, of what happened before any of the incidents in The Lunar Chronicles actually happened. We get to know a lot of things about Levana from this book, we get to know about her unfortunate childhood, how she got her scars and why she wears glamour, how Winter came into the picture and about her real mother, what happened to Princess Selene and how Levana actually became this way.

I really, really felt bad about Levana and how she was treated during her childhood but at the same time I couldn’t stop but loathe her as well because no matter what she always had that twisted sort of mind. I needed time… okay a lot of time to process this book after finishing it because honestly, despite how cruel Levana was, I just felt bad. Only if there was some kind of hope or if she actually received love, ever, things might have been different. I was actually hysterically towards the last portion, what happened was nerve wrecking.

I absolutely hated Channery, Levana’s older sister. I mean, how could anybody be that cruel. She played a major role in turning Levana this way. Also her parents never cared about her. She understood a long time ago that she could only rely on herself. The romance was creepy, very very creepy. Levana was literally obsessed with Evret, who was Winter’s actual father. I felt uncomfortable reading that but that was the motive of this book.

Overall, Fairest was an incredible read which turned me into a mess. Everything was handled perfectly in this book. I didn’t ever think that I would love reading an antagonist’s story this much but Fairest proved to be that book. The writing was beautiful and it flowed smoothly and the pace was even throughout the book. This book was quite short and addictive so I finished it quite easily in one sitting.

Recommend it?

Y E S !!


Eeeeep guys! I finished Winter today so I thought it would be appropriate to post the review of Fairest today. So how many of read this book or decided to skip it and directly read Winter? What were your thoughts about this incredible book? Share it with me!

15 thoughts on “Review: Fairest by Marissa Meyer

  1. I’m so glad you loved both Fairest and Winter! This series literally blew my mind. When I was reading this book, I was so shocked at how horrific Channary was! If I thought Levana was evil, Channary is on a whole other league! Who does that to their sister as a toddler?! The romance really creeped me out as well and I just wanted to reach in and stop Levana from what she was doing!

    By the way, I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog award, Poulami! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I LOVED this one and I’m so glad I read it before Winter! I think it was really interesting and kinda crucial to see it from Levana’s Point of view. I mean, omg, she’s so screwed up…but it makes sense she turned out how she did. GAH CHANNERY WAS AWFUL. I can only imagine what Cinder would’ve turned out like if she’d stayed on Lunar. 😳
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Whoaaa this one sounds really creepy! I HAVE Fairest but haven’t read it (despite finishing Winter – ALL THE FEELS ❤ ) I really need to get to this though. I love how you can feel bad for Levanna despite all the crap she's done, it shows how gosh darn complex her character is.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Review: Winter by Marissa Meyer | Daydreaming Books
  5. I COMPLETELY AGREE WITH YOU 110%. This book was such a great and satisfying end to the series. It’s so great seeing all the characters come together and build each other up. And, of course, the romances were all amazing too. Winter and Jacin were such a nice addition. ♥ Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- December 2015 & 2016 Goals! | Daydreaming Books
  7. I was about to buy this at the last bookstore I visited. But then… it was SO EXPENSIVE for such a tiny book! So I put it away.
    But with 5/5 stars, you’ve changed my mind 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

