Review: Saven Deception by Siobhan Davis

Author: Siobhan Davis

Tittle: Saven Deception

Series: The Saven series, book 1

Genre: Dystopia, Sci-fi, Fantasy, Romance, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Cool

Page Count and Format: 381 pages, Ebook

Expected Publication: December 15th 2015 by Siobhan Davis

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558321867


Blurb (from Goodreads):

I’ve fallen hard for an alien, but he’s harboring secrets.
Massive ones that threaten the very essence of humanity.
How can I give him my heart when his race plans on taking my future?

Sadie Owens has been slowly dying inside. Bit by bit, piece by piece, day by day. Trapped in a life she hates, she relies on only one person- herself.

Despised by her family and betrayed by an unscrupulous government, Sadie dreams of a different life. When she is chosen to participate in the government’s new social experiment, she is ecstatic at the prospect of spending six months in Thalassic City, the shiny new city under the sea.

Immediately drawn to Logan Chandler, Sadie is captivated by the beautiful boy with the ocean-blue eyes. Logan seems to embody everything that has been forbidden, but he isn’t all he appears to be.

Confused over Logan’s true intentions and concerned when best friend Jenna starts transforming in front of her eyes, Sadie partners with newcomer Jarod in a bid to uncover the government’s real agenda. The truth is more shocking than anything she could ever have imagined.

When Sadie finally understands why the Saven walk among us, will it be too late to save her heart and the human race?


PicsArt_1443945753901

This book was simply awsome! I absolutely loved it, it is indeed a great start to a series. The concept was fresh and interesting laced with suspense throughout the book and the characters were pretty great as well which made an awsome combination. It was really an interesting and addictive read.

In the futuristic dystopian world, the world is divided into three distinct class- the stars who are the poor people, coins, the middle and the bullions, the upper class or the rich people. Sadie belongs to the lower class and they are deprived of almost everything, even the right to fall in love and marry. She longs to go away from her home where nobody cares for her and when she gets a chance to participate in one of the government projects, she snatches the opportunity. There she meets Logan Chandler and they seem to form an instant connection and they have a hard time staying away from each other. But things are not actually what they look like and when Sadie discovers the ultimate truth, it blows her mind. Will she accept the truth even when it threatens the whole of humanity?

I haven’t read much books about alien invasion or aliens and humans coexisting, so this was definitely new and interesting to me. The plot was handled really well. The book is entirely told in Sadie’s POV, i.e. the main protagonist. She wanted an out from her everyday life and when she gets the chance she is ecstatic. The project that Sadie participated in consisted that they live in Thalassic City, an underwater world build due to overpopulation to see how everybody could adapt to the changes before people actually came to live here. The world building was superb, we are slowly introduced to the new world and every single thing was explained in great details which I absolutely loved.

Sadie was a great character, I liked her from the very first. She didn’t receive any love at her home and that’s why she desperately wanted to get out. When she arrives in Thalassic City she makes quite a few good friends but Logan is the one whom she can’t stay away from. The chemistry between them is crackling and the romance between them is just perfect. I felt entirely satisfied with it. Logan was a swoony character. Though he had a hot and a cold attitude but I could totally understand where that was coming from. Apart from that he was really sweet and caring and a great Will Smith fan! The connection between Logan and Sadie was instant but their relationship evolved slowly and steady and I totally enjoyed the banters and the angst between them. Yayiee for no love triangle!

The plot twist was really great. I couldn’t believe at first when I read that. The actual reason behind the government experiment was to see that if aliens could live among the humans without getting detected in exchange for human resources and in return the aliens wanted something which was rather disturbing. Now, it’s a no brainer and it’s already revealed in the blurb that Logan is an alien, in fact he’s an alien royalty. But he’s different from the others along with Neve and Haydn. They actually want to make a difference but they have no clue how to. I liked the secondary characters as well, specially Neve. But Dante seriously gave me creeps and I hated him so much! I liked Jenna as well but well what happened with her was really unfortunate. A lot of questions remained though, specially about the rebel group, I’m really exited to know more about them.

Overall, Saven Deception was a freaking awsome read! The plot was executed really well and I fell in love with the characters. Each of them had a unique and distinct personality. The writing style was smooth and beautiful and it was fast paced which I really enjoyed. The world building was fantastic and the romance between Logan and Sadie felt amazingly perfect to me. And yep, Siobhan Davis is the queen of cliffhangers! This book ends in a somewhat peaceful note but not without a major cliffhanger. I’m dying to know what happens next!

Recommend it?

DEFINITELY YES!


So guys how many of you are interested in reading this new book that was a fantastic start to a series? Is it already in your tbr? Have you read The True Calling trilogy by this author yet? If yes how was your experience? Share your thoughts with me!

15 thoughts on “Review: Saven Deception by Siobhan Davis

  1. Omg I have never even HEARD of this book before and it sounds amazing and I THINK I NEED IT BASICALLY. (I love sci-fi-ish stuff. xD) And I love how I almost always find a book I’ve never heard of when I come to your blog. 😛 You are so marvellous. xD
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, this sounds amazing! It actually reminds me of Gravity, I’ve forgotten who the author is, but its wonderful how invested you were in this. Crazy plot twists that you didn’t see coming? My, my, I’m impressed! *nods* I’d like a copy. Aliens are kind of my specialty haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gravity is probably by Melissa West. I recently bought the ebook, well actually it was free on Amazon that day so yeah who am I to resist! 😛 Though I’ve to admit that I wanted to read it for some time now.

      You should definitely give this a go then if that’s your speciality! 😉 Hopefully you’ll like it as much as I did.

      Like

  3. I haven’t heard really anything about this book but it sounds so good! Aliens in a dystopian world? Count me in! I just started getting back into dystopian after a while, and this sounds right up my alley. I’ll have to add it to my to read shelf on goodreads!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- December 2015 & 2016 Goals! | Daydreaming Books
  5. Pingback: Review: Saven Deliverance by Siobhan Davis |

Leave a Reply

