Daydreaming Discussions- Love Triangles: Yay or Nay for you?

PicsArt_1462280909889

Hey there guys! Welcome to Daydreaming Discussions. This is a monthly feature created by me where I discuss anything bookish related or sometimes it might be about any non-bookish things as well. Also be prepared for a lot of ramblings and rantings and you’re very welcome to be a part of the discussion.

Today I wanted to talk about one of the most dreaded tropes mostly in YA books, i.e. love triangles.

So what’s a love triangle?

love_triangle_by_playercandi-d5vn090-1

I know, I know, we all probably know it by heart now but here’s a simple definition- when two people have romantic feelings for the same person and that person have feelings for them as well which in turn becomes an utterly incredible mess most of the times.

So next comes the questions, do I love it or not?

I absolutely HATE love triangles, with a capital H. I loath it, I can’t stand it at all!

Why?

It’s pretty simple, I love to see a relationship build up slowly and steadily between two people. And when there’s more than one love interest and the person can’t choose the “right” guy, it becomes really irritating for me and it feels like a drag on.

I don’t know why but it’s becoming a trend among YA authors, mostly in the fantasy/paranormal genre to portray a love triangle in each and every book. It’s really becoming a big menace for most of the readers… I think. Plus 99% of the time, it’s executed in such a way that we can’t help but throw the book away in a rage! Kidding! I definitely don’t throw any of my babies away like that but yeah when that happens I feel frustrated enough.

When I realize a book is heading towards a love triangle:

And I’m like DUDE, NEITHER AM I FALLING FOR A PERSON, NOR IS ANYBODY FALLING FOR ME, HOW CAN 10,000000 BOYS FALL FOR YOU?!

I seriously don’t like it guys. I feel like it’s cheating. Maybe because I don’t understand a love triangle because I haven’t been in one but seriously, how many of you people have actually been in a love triangle before? Really, how can someone feel romantically for more than one person at a single time? Like, how is it even possible? This goes way over my head.

Plus, whenever there’s a love triangle, it makes it hard for me to connect with the that main character because yeah it’s not everyday a guy I see in a 10 meter radius falls for me every single time which apparently happens in the book with the MC. And this sort of makes it unrealistic for me. I know it’s fiction but there must some kind of thing with which we can form a common ground, right?

anime-twilightAlso it feels like that the author is buying time and the plot is moving nowhere expect the main character bouncing from one love interest to the other. And when there’s more than two love interest and it goes on forming from to square to a pentagon, omg what a nightmare! I had that reading experience before, poor me, I’m probably scarred for life.

And when you’re rooting for person A but person B gets the girl or vice versa, I’m like:

before the sadness and the utter defeat settles in. One way or the other, one character looses and it’s really really sad to see that even when I’m not rooting for that guy/person.

Conclusion: Love triangles make me SAAAAAAD and mad! Very much. It feels pointless to me.

BUT.

Here comes that 1% where I usually end up enjoying the love triangle. This case is very very rare but I enjoyed it in A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas although the love triangle is just starting but seriously I liked both the main male leads- Tamlin and Rhysand. (Although I’m pretty sure I’m gonna tear up all the hair in my head when the actual choosing time comes) I liked Tamlin but when Rhysand stepped in, I was gone. Poof. Done for! Yesssh, I’m so rooting for him!

Anyways, another instance is the True Calling trilogy by Siobhan Davis. It was another love triangle executed really well. It had it’s frustrating moments but I kinda enjoyed it.

But really, it’s definitely not enjoyable when it’s becoming a common instance in every book nowadays, it’s seriously getting monotonous for me. I would be forever grateful if the authors really stopped doing this.

Soooo, I hope I didn’t hurt anybody’s feelings in this post, it’s just my personal opinion.


So guys, do you LOVE or HATE love triangles? Any particular reason? Do you feel nearly damn frustrated or do you actually enjoy it?

Share your thoughts with me!

31 thoughts on “Daydreaming Discussions- Love Triangles: Yay or Nay for you?

  1. There can be exceptions, but they’re very rare! I hate that they’re called “love” triangles. Surely if she really loved one of them it’d be easy to choose? Can you even love more than one person at the same time? I really hope this trend ends soon!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful discussion post, Poulami! 😀 I definitely can relate to some of your points especially the one where you mentioned how it’s hard to relate or connect with the MC when there’s a love triangle. Yet… I think reading books with love triangles are my guilty pleasure. The romance is a bit of a push and pull and even though it’s pretty obvious who the couple will be… I still like reading them anyway. Maybe it’s because my first ya read years ago was Twilight and though I don’t really care for the books I do have soft spot for them anyway. 😛 However, I do go bonkers when there’s a love square of even a polygon. Now that drives me crazy because that’s way too unrealistic…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post! I’ll admit, I used to LOVE love triangles, before they became the most overdone thing to ever be overdone. I guess it started with Twilight (which I had a bit of an obsession with as a teenager), and because I loved that book so much, I kind of sought out love triangles in other books – I picked them BECAUSE of the love triangle. However, NOW… they’ve been done to death and they need to get out of my life already. Not only that, but I now see what a cop out they are. Like you said, relationships are all about the slow build up (which is often neglected in love-triangle books), and you can definitely create tension without introducing another person into the mix!! If I see on the back of a book the mention of two boys (the nice one and the brooding bad-boy one) that the heroine is struggling to choose between, it’s a massive eye-roll from me, and I put it straight back down again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! 😀
      I was obsessed with Twilight as well, I was actually the first one to start reading it in our school and then the craze followed. 😛 But atleast in Twilight, it was predictable, I knew from the start that whatever happens she would end up with Edward but mostly nowadays love triangles are flung as if they are just casual occurrences and many times the person ends up with the guy we are NOT rooting for. That sucks!
      Omg yesh that’s another thing that’s just unbearable.
      Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this post, Poulami! To be honest, I feel like love triangles are flung around too casually, and lack any depth. I think good love triangles are possible – if authors explore the complexity of those relationships and the amount of grief and “AARAHRHHRHGHHH!!” it caused, then I think they can be interesting. But oftentimes I feel like the love triangles are shallow and are more annoying than anything else. Also, you’re right – it does feel like cheating when you look at the big picture!

    Personally, I am more interested in the relationship that develops between two people who are committed or devoted (in varying degrees) to each other – I think they’re sweeter and nicer to read. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like 90% hate them. XD But I do have several instances where I think the triangle was written well! Like The Hunger Games, Splintered, Ballad/Lament by Maggie Stiefvater, and Throne of Glass (the first two books anyway 😛 ). I think a lot of books seem to fall into this trap of only developing one side?!? So it’s kinda obvious who the MC will pick, ergo WHAT IS THE POINT OF READING IT. *hyperventilates with rage* I also don’t like triangles because I feel like if you fall in love with a second person, you didn’t love the first person enough. So you probably don’t deserve EITHER of them until you get your priorities in order. xD
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great post! I remembered thinking that Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac did an okay job with the love triangle thing, because it was more poking fun at how the main character tends to choose the mysterious guy over the best friend in a lot of YA books.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great topic Poulami! Well, I love reading love triangles but I’d hate them if they aren’t executed well. I have read many books with triangles and most of them were annoying and very irritating. I also hate the triangles which does nothing but dragg the plot. I totally agree with you on Rhysand and Tamlin! Rhysand is very tempting character but I’m still Team Tamlin. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Don’t kill me, but i have quite the weakness for love triangles (well-written ones, of course). I just… really like them? 😛 Have you read The Infernal Devices? It’s got the world’s best and MOST PERFECT love triangle. ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  9. A good love triangle can help progress the story but “good” ones are hard to find. But they shouldn’t be a requirement or necessity for certain stories.

    Like you, I detest love triangles. If one is hinted at in the synopsis, the book is an automatic pass. I don’t find them realistic and I get that it is fiction but I think romance is one of those “realistic” elements in a story, regardless of its genre that should be treated as such.

    I’m all about having those platonic friendships haha

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I’ve never been in a love triangle, but I really don’t mind them if they are well done. There are definitely some that make my eyes roll because they are bad, but some don’t seem so bad. Just like innocent crushes and confusion, which is all too common in middle and high school. It probably helps me tolerate them because I see kids go back and forth on who they like on a daily basis. The Perks of Being a Teacher. lol

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: November 2015! | Daydreaming Books
  12. Pingback: Blogger Interview – Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

