Review: Butterfly Dreams by A. Meredith Walters

Author: A. Meredith Walters

Tittle: Butterfly Dreams

Standalone

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [New-Adult]

Heat Rating: Warm

Page Count and Format: 317 pages, Ebook

Expected Publication: November 24th 2015 by Loveswept

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558321867


Blurb (from Goodreads):

She’s waiting to die. . . . Corin Thompson is paralyzed by her obsession with mortality. Having lost both of her parents, she is terrified by the idea that she too will die young, and she loses control at any sign of illness. But when Corin connects with someone who has survived a very real brush with death, she begins to see the world in a whole new way.

He’s learning to live. . . . As Corin struggles under the weight of her neuroses, Beckett Kingsley is attempting to rebuild a life that feels all too temporary. With the ever-present threat of heart failure never far from his mind, he just wants to make the most of whatever time he has left. And that means pursuing the girl he never expected to find.

Together, Corin and Beckett finally learn to let go of their fears and take solace in everyday pleasures. Who knows what the future holds? After all, nothing lasts forever— the only promise they have is right now.


PicsArt_1443945753901

Butterfly Dreams is the second book I read by this author after Desperate Chances. I consider myself very lucky as I got the chance to read the eARC. This book is undoubtedly one of the best book I’ve ever read, it’s incredibly beautiful and heartwarming and the essence of this book lingers long after the final pages have been turned. And the cover, it’s so stunningly beautiful.

After the death of Corin’s parents, she started suffering from hypochondria, i.e. a person who is abnormally anxious about their health. She fears that she will die soon just like her parents. Beckett has suffered from a fatal cardiac arrest, another one in the near future could be very deadly. These two first meet at a support group and slowly but steadily they begin to form an unlikely bond and they realise they both have the power to heal each other. Will Beckett be able to make Corin realise to live her life to the fullest and will Corin take that chance with him when she knows he’s only hanging by a thread?

I had a feeling that I was not going to be dissapointed with this book, and oh my God, I fell in love with it. I cannot express how much I adore this book! It’s so powerful and contains so many strong messages. The plot was so realistic and diverse, it dealt with so many issues and opened my eyes to some of them which I was not familiar of. The main protagonist, Corin not only suffers from hypochondria but also thanatophobia, i.e. fear of mortality. The author made the characters so realistic, it was pretty easy to relate to them, even though (thankfully) I hadn’t gone through such experiences. The last 5% was pretty intense, I cried hysterically throughout that whole portion, I really thought I was going to die, omg it was such a heart stopping moment and well, what can I say, everything was executed just perfectly!

The characters were pretty uniquely portrayed. Corin didn’t get any support nor did she get any help for herself when her parents died, she simply locked herself into a shell and started believing that she would get sick just like her parents and die suffering. She had frequent panic attacks but she stayed in denial without asking for help. But when Beckett stepped into the view, things began to change. She felt happy and safe with him and for the first time she actually began to live. Beckett wanted to give her everything, he made her realize the value of life. Although Corin was reluctant and afraid to get involved with him at first, she realised it was too late and couldn’t stay away from him much longer.

PicsArt_1448316909303

Beckett was such a swoon worthy guy, he always tried to stay optimist and simply accepted her as she was and stood by her side no matter what.  He was such a pretty damn perfect character.

PicsArt_1448315852187

Their first meetings were so awkwardly cute! It was simply utterly adorable. She would turn into a blabbering mess whenever she was nervous around him. There was incredible amount of character growth which I absolutely loved. She turned from an unstable character in denial to an amazing woman who’s been through many things and is now much stronger. I adored their relationship, it built up slowly and nothing felt rushed. Both of them were complete opposites but they fit in together quite easily and it felt so damn natural. They were both broken inside but they healed each other. Even when things became impossible, they never gave up on each other.

Overall, Butterfly Dreams was an incredible (okay I’m saying this word for the last time now, I just can’t help it!) book which dealt with a few important issues, the plot was brilliantly executed and I fell in love with the characters. I absolutely loved their relationship and I enjoyed the romance between Corin and Beckett. The writing style was simply beautiful and sometimes even poetic which I loved very much. The pace was even throughout the book, neither too slow nor too fast. This book is definitely one of my new favourite this year and I’m going to read every single book this authors writes.

Recommend it?

YES YES YES!


So guys are you exited for this awsome book? Or are you going to let it pass? I definitely want to buy myself a physical copy of this book, everything is just so beautiful about this book. Let me know what you guys think in the comments!

5 thoughts on “Review: Butterfly Dreams by A. Meredith Walters

  1. Wow, this sounds like an AWESOME book! You sell it so well. I am really interested about the themes too – there needs to be more books on mental illness, but also about trauma-related stuff. Great review though – you definitely have me interested. I’ll add this to my tbr! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks like this was a wonderful read! There’s nothing better than a slow burn romance full of three dimensional and relatable characters to back it up 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed this, because a lot of contemporaries nowadays seem to be a hit and miss with me. But poetic style, you say? YES PLEASE.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: November 2015! | Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

