Review: Queen of Blood by Jill Myles

Author: Jill Myles

Tittle: Queen of Blood

Standalone

Genre: Historical, Paranormal, Romance, [YA/NA]

Heat Rating: Warm

Page Count and Format: 287 pages, Ebook

Published: June 30th 2015

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051


Blurb (from Goodreads):

For one hundred years, Seri’s people have lived under the thumb of the Blood, the cruel and mysterious rulers of Athon. Seri wants nothing more than to put food on the table and marry the hotheaded but handsome Rilen come spring. But when a noblewoman asks Seri to be her handmaiden, Rilen insists she move to the enemy’s castle . . . and spy on the newly arrived prince.

Prince Graeme has grown weary of his family’s curse. The Blood are powerful and immortal, but doomed to live in the shadows, flitting from lover to lover, always in search of the mythic Eterna— the one woman who will sate their hunger. Now his father has sent him to the outskirts of the empire to stamp out a rebellious Vidari faction. But when a wild and alluring Vidari girl shows up at court, he finds himself torn between following his father’s orders and following his heart . . .

A war is brewing between Athonite and Vidari, between Blood and man. As uprisings sweep through the land, Seri and Graeme find themselves at the center of a storm with only one choice: betray each other, or betray their people.


PicsArt_1443945753901

Queen of Blood was nothing like the sort of book I was expecting, I liked the new take on the vampire genre and I simply loved how the things were carried out. I found myself smiling at various parts, this was a story I really found interesting and enjoyed it throughly.

The Vidari people lost to the Anthon’s hundreds of years ago and since then they have been forced to remain under them as mere slaves. Seri is a Vidari girl who works hard to provide her family with food, and when she gets offered to get paid to work as a handmaiden to one of the ladies in the royal court, she reluctantly agrees after her fiancé Rilen persuades her that she can act as a spy and give them all the inner information for the rebellion against the Anthons. Prince Graeme is different than her father and his brother, but a century long curse plagues him. Until he finds his true mate, an Eterna, his thirst for blood can’t be sated and he is bound to suffer for his whole eternal life. Then shockingly he finds Seri as his Eterna in his bride choosing ceremony. Will they make peace and choose to thrive forward or will Seri’s secret and the rebellion tear them apart?

The plot in Queen of Blood was predictable yet not exactly. It mainly focuses on the love story of Seri and Graeme which I immensely liked. At first I was quite unsure about this book but as I continued reading, I couldn’t put this book down. It was really, really good. I was hooked after reading the first couple of chapters. Although I could guess what was going to happen but I loved how the plot was executed. Seri simply agreed to go into the castle as a spy because she blindly trusted Rilen, she didn’t have a clue what was going to happen next, obviously. Both Seri and Graeme were reluctant to marry each other because of their origin but he was stubborn because he knew it was the only way to break the curse. I admired Seri, although she had to marry against her wish, she didn’t forget her beliefs and traditions and she bowed down to nobody. But I felt a little frustrated towards the end when she struggled to tell the truth to Graeme when it was pretty clear who was doing the wrong.

As it was far more than an ordinary marriage, their internal bond was stronger, they could feel what the other person was feeling. I loved that Seri and Graeme didn’t fall in love at once, although they couldn’t control their physical lust, their relationship build slowly and strongly. I immensely loved Graeme, he was totally a swoon worthy material! He appeared cold and ruthless at first but he merely knew what was actually going on outside and he really wanted to make a difference rather than choosing war. He was caring and possessive over Seri but never in an overbearing kind of way, also I loved the fact that he never ever forced himself on her. And the way he took care of her and her family, simply perfect, made me fall in love with him even more.

I was relieved that there was not much of a love triangle and I well.. basically wanted to strangle Rilen. He was basically a bastard and a monster. But thankfully, I liked how everything turned out at the end. Oh and I loved the side characters, specially Melene, Graeme’s sister. She was pretty charming and enthusiastic, I immediately liked her. Also I loved Josdi, Seri’s sister, she helped knock some common sense into her. All of them had a unique and vibrant personality.

Overall, Queen of Blood was a pretty intriguing read which kept me engaged throughout the book. Although the plot was predictable, the execution was handled brilliantly. I liked the characters immensely and I simply loved the relationship and the steamy romance between Seri and Graeme. I had no problem with the writing style, it was written quite smoothly and it was pretty easy to read. The pace was fast throughout the book and there wasn’t any dull moment, not for even a second. I definitely will be looking forward to read more works by this author.

Recommend it?

Definitely yes!


Guys have you read Queen of Blood yet? It’s a wonderful novel, I definitely recommend you to pick it up if you love this genre. If you’ve already read this book, what did you think about it? And if not yet, will you read it in the future or are you planning to pick this one up very soon? Share your thoughts with me!

7 thoughts on “Review: Queen of Blood by Jill Myles

  1. Out of all the books you’ve been reading lately, this one seems like the closest to my normal comfortable books. I love paranormal romance-isn books so much! The title of this one kind of reminds me of Red Queen, which I caved in buying for Yallfest (but you probably already saw that, haha)! Awesome review, Poulami!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay! I’m so glad you liked it! It was a great read and I really enjoyed Seri and Graeme’s hate/love relationship. I totally hated how Rilen used Seri as a spy without any care of her safety. Great Review BTW! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: November 2015! | Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

