Review: Stupid Boy by Cindy Miles

Author: Cindy Miles

Tittle: Stupid Boy

Series: Stupid in Love, book 2 [Can be read as a standalone]

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [New-Adult]

Heat Rating: Warm

Page Count and Format: 181 pages, Ebook

Published: February 17th 2015 by TKA Distribution

Source: I received a digital copy of this book from Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558587481


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Brax Jenkins and Olivia Beaumont are the most envied couple at Winston University— but the so-called “virginity dare,” orchestrated by Brax’s old fraternity, almost tore them apart. Now, a new dare is taking shape, and it’s sure to set emotions ablaze- more than ever before.

Winston’s “It Girl” Harper Belle isn’t just president of the Deltas- she’s also a master at keeping her ugly past a secret. So, when the Kappas’ dare hits closer to home for her more than anyone realizes, she devises a competition of her own as payback. Three sorority sisters will seek out a notorious womanizer on campus and–unbeknownst their “mark”- secretly train him to be the perfect boyfriend. Always up for a challenge, Harper targets the biggest player she can find: Brax’s wickedly handsome foster brother Kane McCarthy.

But, Harper discovers there’s much more to Kane than girls, games, and partying. His easy smile belies the quiet, old soul reflected in his deep brown eyes. All it takes is one night, one secret laid bare, and one kiss from Kane to shift Harper’s world on its axis. Suddenly, the girl who’s always walked a straight and narrow path can’t think of anything else except losing control.


PicsArt_1443945753901

I was very exited to read this book since I absolutely loved Stupid Girl. (You can read my review here.) But unfortunately, I didn’t fall in love with this book. I’m not saying I didn’t enjoy it because I did but it failed to create a lasting effect on me. By the way, in Stupid Girl, White Horse was playing in my mind, here it was Let It Go! 😛 And although this book can be read as a standalone, I recommend you read book one first.

In Stupid Boy, the Delta sisters headed by Harper Belle plan to put a final stop to the dares by the Kappas by giving them a taste of their own medicine. They plan for a complete bad boy makeover and for that Harper chooses Kane McCarthy, Brax’s brother as her victim. But as they get to know each other, Harper learns about his wounded past and realises that they are both broken. But Harper is reluctant to let Kane see her inner demons. But when the truth comes out, will they give each other another chance or will they drown in their nightmares and be lost forever? (Really, I have zero talent on how to write a blurb, I totally suck!)

Once again, I have to tell that the plot was clichéd, it was pretty similar to that of book 1 just with different pasts. But unlike in book 1, I didn’t feel that much sympathy for the characters, it didn’t tug me at my heart. I was told that the characters suffered in this way and honestly, I felt really bad for them but that was it. I couldn’t wholeheartedly connect with them. Though I did enjoy the romance between them but it escalated too quickly. I liked the romantic aspect most in Stupid Girl, half of the book Brax and Olivia were simply friends and slowly their relationship developed, and here, one moment she was complaining about him of stalking and the next she was telling him her secrets and kissing him. Really not done! I guess my expectation went up a bit, okay I know it went above’s the sky’s limit but still I was very upset that it didn’t meet my expectation.

Harper and Kane both had a bitter past which scarred them for life. They both lived in an abusive environment. But from the blurb, I thought Harper was going to be an ice queen, instead she was the complete opposite. I liked her but I definitely would have enjoyed it more if she maintained a cold hard exterior and Kane would’ve work hard to break her false facade. (Never mind my tini tiny expectations which were crushed!). Kane was different as well, he was calm and gentle, completely opposite to that of Brax but I loved his persistent nature. I just wanted more time so that characters and the plot could develop but things just wrapped up a bit too quickly for my taste.

Overall, Stupid Boy was an okay read. I enjoyed it, just didn’t quite fall in love with it. The plot was clichéd and the I couldn’t connect much with the characters though I liked the romance between Kane and Harper but I wanted more depth in the plot. The writing style was simple and smooth, I enjoyed the flow of the dialogues. And the pace was even throughout the book, neither too slow nor too fast. Although this book didn’t quite meet my expectation, I’m pretty excited to read the next book in this series.

Recommend it?

Yes.


So guys, how many of you have read Stupid Boy? Did it meet your expectation or was it just an okay read for you? Also have you read Stupid Girl, i.e. book 1 in this series? Did you enjoy it more or less compared to this book? Share your thoughts with me!

8 thoughts on “Review: Stupid Boy by Cindy Miles

  1. I didn’t read the second book (and just skipped right ahead to the third whoops lol) mostly because this seemed almost exactly like the first but gender swapped. I’m glad you liked it but I can see where your reservations come in.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aw I’m sad it didn’t live up to the other one for you…but I did giggle at the title. XD All I need to do is send this to my brother and say it’s a memoir of his life. HAHHAHA JUST KIDDING. (Omg I’m a horrible sister). XD
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Review: Stupid Love by Cindy Miles – Blog Tour + Giveaway! | Daydreaming Books
  4. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: November 2015! | Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

