Review: Paladin by Sally Slater

Author: Sally Slater

Tittle: Paladin

Series: Paladin, book 1

Genre: Fantasy, Historical, Romance, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Cool

Page Count and Format: 386 pages, Ebook

Published: May 14th 2015 by Perfect Analogy Publishing

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Brash, cocky, and unbeatable with a sword (well, almost), Sam of Haywood is the most promising Paladin trainee in the kingdom of Thule… and knows it. The only problem is that Sam is really Lady Samantha, daughter of the seventeenth Duke of Haywood, and if her father has his way, she’ll be marrying a Paladin, not becoming one.

But Sam has never held much interest in playing damsel-in-distress, and so she rescues herself from a lifetime of boredom and matrimonial drudgery. Disguised as a boy, Sam leaves home behind to fight demons— the most dangerous monsters in Thule— alongside the kingdom’s elite warriors. Pity that Tristan Lyons, the Paladin assigned to train her, is none other than the hero of her childhood. He hasn’t recognized her–yet–but if he does, he’ll take away her sword and send her packing.

Sam is not the only trainee hiding secrets: Braeden is a half-demon with a dark past that might be unforgivable. Whether he can be trusted is anyone’s guess, including his.

As demons wreak havoc across the land, rebellion stirs in the West, led by a rival faction of warriors.

A war between men is coming, and Sam must pick a side. Will saving the kingdom cost her life– or just her heart?


PicsArt_1443945753901

Well… this book was totally unexpected but in an awsome way! I saw a fellow blogger’s review of this book and the blurb seemed pretty exiting, so I didn’t hesitate to request it on Netgalley. Oh and plus I saw there was no love triangle, (I know… what a relief!) so there was no harm in giving it a try. And oh boy! I absolutely loved this book! Paladin was packed with adventure, action, romance, it had all the elements that we fantasy lovers absolutely love and enjoy.

Sam or Lady Samantha was always different than the other girls of her age. When she should be looking for her ideal marriage partner, she longed to be a Paladin i.e. a demon slayer. After an unfortunate incident where Sam’s mother is killed by a demon, she decides to run off and join the Paladin as a trainee in the disguise of a boy. But she’s not the only one harbouring secrets, there’s Braeden who is a half demon and he might be dangerous to everyone around him, including himself. The trio forms an unlikely alliance as they set out for an adventure and they slowly discover that what they knew uptil now might entirely be a facade and the truth they discover is shocking as ever.

I really enjoyed the plot. Though it started a bit slow but it didn’t take time to pick up its speed. The book is narrated in Sam, Braeden and Tristan’s POV, mostly Sam’s, I equally enjoyed reading all of them. I absolutely loved Sam, she is a kickass heroine, she’s loyal, strong, caring, stubborn, sassy and she’s absolutely sure of herself. She’s also the girl who doesn’t need a knight in a shining armour.

“If this were a fairy tale, I’d be my own damned knight.”

Sam’s such a fine character, I absolutely loved and enjoyed reading about her. She disguised herself as a boy as she joined the training to be a future Paladin because girls were not allowed to do such things and she wanted to avenge her mother’s death. There she meets Tristan who is none other than her hero who saved her from a demon attack and also her trainer. There were really many awkward and funny moments because of the fact that he didn’t knew that Sam was actually a girl. It was pretty difficult to control my laughter, specially when they visited the brothel. I also loved the banters between Tristan and Sam. Then comes Braeden, he was a pretty great character. He was definitely not what I expected, I though he was going to cocky and arrogant, instead he was calm and gentle. I was rooting for him from the moment he entered the scenario.

This book was filled with so much action which I absolutely adored. There were so many detailed fighting scenes with various demons and I’ve always loved fighting specially sword fighting fascinates me and I got excited everytime there was a fighting scene, which was very often. 😀 The plot twist was mind blowing, I could guess there was definitely something off about a particular character but never in the world did I guess that! It was pretty much an OMG moment where my ereader fell from my hands (thankfully in my bed). I loved how this book ended but I definitely need the second book because the ultimate fighting is going to take place. I can’t wait to see what happens next!

Overall, Paladin was a great read. The plot was well written and there was great characterisation. I loved the friendship between Sam, Braeden and Tristan, the trio formed a strong bond. Also, I loved the romance between Sam and Braeden although it wasn’t a dominant factor in this book which I actually enjoyed for a change. The writing style was a bit different but I had no problem with it, it was smooth and easy to read. I was hooked from the start and it was a pretty enjoyable ride throughout the book.

Recommend it?

Definitely yes!


So guys, have you read Paladin yet? You must guys, it is such an awsome book! Don’t forget to share your thoughts with me! And also feel free to recommend me any action packed book but definitely with a pinch of romance.

9 thoughts on “Review: Paladin by Sally Slater

  1. I feel weird commenting on this when I didn’t really read it, but I want to read this so bad and I wanted to kinda avoid spoilers. But this is the first time I’ve seen a blogger post about this book so I wanted to check and see your rating on it. I’m glad to see that you enjoyed it. Whenever I get together with some of my friends we always end up playing Dungeons and Dragons and I almost always RP a Paladin so I was immediately drawn to it because of that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay! I’m so glad you liked it. Paladin has given me a wonderful reading experience. It is the perfect package of entertainment and I must agree the brothel part was really funny. I can’t wait to read its sequel. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thaaaaanks to you I gave it a try! Same here! I enjoyed it so freaking much. That’s why I always follow your recommendations, our taste in books quite match, that’s why if you’ve liked a book, I’m 99% sure I’m going to like it as well, that’s why I took a risk and gave this book a try and I simply loved it! 😀

      Like

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: November 2015! | Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

