Review & Giveaway: The Reluctant Sacrifice by Kerr-Ann Dempster

Author: Kerr-Ann Dempster

Tittle: The Reluctant Sacrifice

Series: The Aramithians, book 1

Genre: Paranormal, Romance, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Slightly warm

Page Count and Format: 263 pages, Ebook

Published: August 7th 2015

Source: I received a digital copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558321867


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Centuries ago, sibling rivalry tore Aramith apart. As punishment, the losers were stripped of their immortal birthright and banished to Earth. There, they wasted away from old age and diseases. However, there is hope…

If a Shaw child, born on the 12th day of the 12th month offers her soul in a public sacrifice, then the exiles will be forgiven and welcomed home to Aramith.

Aubrey Shaw is that child, but dying for the exiles is not on her to-do list. Using her gift as a Jumper, Aubrey leaps between bodies to escape relentless shape-shifting hunters. Only, shedding her skin is not enough. Not when Joshua, her best-friend-turned-hunter, is hell-bent on dragging her to the altar.

Will Aubrey’s love for Joshua change his mind?

Or, will she have to trust the scarred stranger who shows up out of the blue cloaked in lies and secrets? Doing so means giving up on Joshua. But betting on Joshua’s love could do more than break her heart.

It could kill her.


PicsArt_1443945753901

I’M IN LOVE. . . WITH COY! THIS BOOK WAS HELLISHLY FREAKISHLY AWSOOOOME! JUST LEARNED THAT TWO MORE BOOKS WILL COME OUT AND IT’S NOT GOING TO BE A STANDALONE!! I’M SOOOO EXITED! I REALLY, REALLY WANT MORE!! HANDS DOWN PEOPLE, YOU NEED TO PICK THIS UP RIGHT NOW, LIKE RIGHT NOW! LIKE SERIOUSLY, ONE OF THE BEST READS OF 2015 SO FAR.

Yeah, that caps lock was really necessary guys, I needed to get that out. Nonetheless let me come back to my review starting with a short synopsis as always. Oh, and the cover is sooo beautiful, I’m staring at it all day!

The story revolves around Aubrey who is a Jumper, i.e. she possessed the ability to jump into other people’s body and live on. She’s also the girl from the prophecy whom everybody wants on the alter to be sacrificed. Long ago, in their realm known as Aramith there was a war between the two siblings Celo and Charr who created the place. Charr and his companions were defeated and they were stripped of their immortal birthright and now, only if Aubrey offers her soul willingly, the exiled will be forgiven and welcomed back in Aramith. But Aubrey doesn’t want to die but she has nowhere to run anymore and her former best friend, Joshua is hell bend on finding her and giving her up for the sacrifice. But when a stranger offers help, will she take it or will her love for Joshua bring her to her ultimate doom?

I fell in love with this book! From the very first page we are thrown in the chaotic life of Aubrey while she’s on the run with her mother and hiding from the “hawk unit”, a group of shape shifters whose only goal it is to drag Aubrey to the sacrifical altar. It’s full of action and suspense, the suspense increases as we go on and I was dying to know what happened next. The plot was so fresh and unique, I absolutely loved it. Constantly, one thing or another was thrown into the way and I was glue to my e-reader and I didn’t want to stop reading at any cost. The story also brings out interesting moral dilemmas. I loved the concept about the Jumpers who can leap from one body to another but not without consequences, they carry a part of the previous body’s soul as they move on to the next one, and also with each jump their soul rips apart and gets back together which results in slowly loosing their personality. The world building was perfect and the plot twist was really great! And the ending, God, it was bittersweet and perfect, I was nearly in tears.

Now can we talk about Coy! How absolutely magnificent that guy is. I mean c’mon he went through something terrible but still he kept himself on the right path and did everything to help Aubrey although he was a hunter and a “cloaker”. He is the perfect book boyfriend material. I liked Aubrey from the beginning, her character is shown as humanely as possible. Although she’s not a kickass character and she just wants to live her life, I loved her more and more as I kept reading. I also liked the fact that for her jump she chose bodies of people who were already dying. I shipped these two sooo much! There was perfect amount of chemistry between them and I loved the romance.

I really hated Joshua, while reading I found myself uttering every curse word possible when it came to him. I rarely do this kind of thing but he was intolerable! Aubrey had always loved him and I did feel bad for her because he didn’t even reciprocate for once but she deserved so much better than this guy, c’mon for God’s sake he slept with her evil sister, Morgan who wanted to torture and kill her. I equally hated her, she was simply pure evil, just like her father. I felt bad for Aubrey’s mother, she sacrificed her life for her and died in the hands of Morgan. Tessa, Aubrey’s best friend was an awsome character, you can’t help but love her and she loves Supernatural! She was so loyal and caring, she’s the the kind of friend I wish I had.

The writing was stunningly beautiful and addictive. As I’ve already said it was really, really hard to stop reading this book. I had a busy day yesterday but whenever I was getting time I was reading this. The pace was fast, just the way I like it and I had to race through the book. There was not a single dull moment and I had a hell of an awsome experience.

Overall, The Reluctant Sacrifice was an awsome read. This book is officially my top favourite. The plot was uniquely woven with lots with twists and turns full of action packed and it fast paced from the very beginning. The characterisation was really good, I loved Aubrey and Coy and I loved the romance between them. The writing was smooth and beautiful and I think I’ll be reading everything this author writes! Specially, I can’t wait to read the next book in this series! Really. Can’t. Wait!

Recommend it?

Why are you still here, just go buy this EPIC book already!


Giveaway!

A signed paperback and a masquerade mask (inspired by the one Tessa wore)!

PicsArt_1447255327564

The novel is up for grabs in $0.99 only and it will stay that way until December 31st!


GUYS, have you read this freakishly awsome book yet? If not, you need to so that we can fangirl together, okay? I’ll be waiting… and if you already read this, feel free to scream and shout in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Review & Giveaway: The Reluctant Sacrifice by Kerr-Ann Dempster

  1. Wow, this sounds amazing! Its rare that a book has you glued to your seat, and sounds like this is a real page-turner 🙂 It DOES sound exquisitely unique, and I feel like I would really like the MC here. I love how they are called Jumpers – it reminded me of the move Jumper 🙂 Great review, I’m going to be adding this to my TBR pile!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: November 2015! | Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

