Review: Holly Hearts Hollywood by Kenley Conrad

Author: Kenley Conrad

Tittle: Holly Hearts Hollywood

Series: Holly Hearts Hollywood, book 1

Genre: Contemporary, [Young-Adult]

Heat Rating: Cool

Page Count and Format: 154 pages, Ebook

Published: September 23rd 2014 by Swoon Romance

Source: I received a digital copy of this book from Chapter by Chapter in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558587481


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Seventeen-year-old Holly Hart wants to be a star. She moves to Los Angeles from the small town of Cedar Junction, only to hear she’s too fat and ugly to be a famous singer.

But when Shell Shocked Records looks past Holly’s plus-size and less-than-graceful-personality to offer her a recording contract, Holly cannot believe her good fortune. On closer inspection, however, the the record execs want Holly to do all the singing, and a thinner and more beautiful girl, Lacey, would lip-sync and get all the credit. Holly goes for it because after all, she wanted to sing.

Contractually bound to secrecy, Holly is more than happy to sit backstage and write in her journal while Lacey shimmies in the limelight and basks in the fame. Before she knows it, Holly is friends with Serena, the pop-star daughter of a music-mogul, flirting with an intern, and developing a strange half-friendship with Lacey.

When Grayson Frost, the biggest country star in America, and coincidentally, a former school bully begins dating Lacey, Holly hopes that he won’t recognize or torment her.

Through a series of embarrassing and weird events, Holly gets to know Grayson and learns that he is much nicer and more mature than he was four years ago. Holly is horrified when she starts falling for him. When Grayson admits he fell for Lacey’s voice, what is a girl to do when she can’t legally tell the truth at the moment when the truth matters the most?


PicsArt_1443945753901

I’m still a bit confused what to feel about this book because I thought this was going to be like some forbidden kind of thingy like “Another Cinderella Story” featuring Lucy Hale but it was not exactly what I wanted. Though there were some pretty funny moments but this book didn’t live upto my expectations.

After hearing Holly’s voice in YouTube, Shell Shocked Records offered her a recording contract but it has a catch, she can’t come infront of the camera and some another girl named Lacey would be the front face and will lip-sync her songs and get all the credit. Holly agrees to the condition because she hates being the centre of attraction. But then Grayson come into the picture, her former classmate and a bully. As she gets to know him, she realises he has changed a lot and also that she can’t help but like him. She wants to tell him the truth but she’s bound in a contract. And on top of that the executive of Shell Shocked tells Holly to stay the hell away from them. It’s upto Holly to decide if she wants to keep intact the contract or her friends.

I thought the concept was going to be executed in a different way. But unfortunately, it wasn’t. When someone is a singer, I think the voice matters the most and not your size. I don’t think I’ve ever criticised a person who has a gorgeous voice but is a plus size. Like who even cares when you have an awsome voice! But this was not the case for Holly when Shell Shocked offered the contract to her only if she agreed to be behind the camera. I was outraged or you can say dissapointed, that she even agreed to this and even her mom was okay with this! Like seriously, WHAT THE HELL! This thing was what that bothered me the most, I thought there was going to be some more unusual circumstances under which she had to agree to this ridiculous demand. Other than this factor, the book was quite enjoyable and even hilarious sometimes. The was not much forbidden romance as I had expected (I wanted that, you guys know I’m a sucker for forbidden romance) , I wanted to see more communication between them, somehow the connection between them felt empty.

The characters were… umm good! I can’t say I couldn’t exactly connect with Holly because I did. I liked her voice and I could connect with the insecurities that she felt but still that doesn’t mean you could make that stupid decesion! I liked the friendship between Holly and Serena, the executive’s daughter, who’s also a singer. She was a great character. I didn’t like Lacey much, she was a snobby character. She did have a good side but she usually liked being a bitch. Grayson was somewhat okay, we didn’t see much of him in the book, so I don’t know what I exactly feel about that guy but like I said I wanted more communication between him and Holly.

This book was totally written in diary format but it didn’t actually follow the full style because there were too many dialogues. I don’t know why the author bothered to write it that way because it would’ve been fine if it was chapter wise because it totally looked like that. So yeah, it kinda bothered me at first. I thought I was going to DNF it but I carried on. The writing was simple and easy to read and the pace was slow at the beginning and even throughout the rest of the book.

Overall, Holly Hearts Hollywood was a book that I somewhat liked. The concept and the writing style bothered me but the characters were good and I liked the friendship aspect of this book. It was funny and hilarious sometimes. The writing was simple and the pace differed a little throughout the book.

Recommend it?

Yes if you like this kind of storyline.


Guys, have you read this book yet? Did you love it or hate it? Or was it just meh for you? Share your thoughts with me!

5 thoughts on “Review: Holly Hearts Hollywood by Kenley Conrad

  1. I felt the same way too! Are you going to read the sequel? The end was quite a cliffhangarish and I didn’t know it was a series when I first read it. I was quite surprised when I saw there’s going to be a second book. Now I’m really curious to know what’s going to happen next but I’m pretty much confused whether it’s worth it or not.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Review: Holly Hearts Headlines by Kenley Conrad – Blog Tour + Giveaway! | Daydreaming Books
  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: November 2015! | Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

