Review: Back To Us by Teresa Roman

BtUAuthor: Teresa Roman

Tittle: Back To Us

Standalone

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [New-Adult]

Heat Rating: Warm

Page Count and Format: 157 pages, Ebook

Published: July 28th 2015

Source: I received a digital copy of this book from Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558587481


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Abandoned by her parents at fourteen, Jessica knows what it means to struggle. She’s vowed that getting her degree is the only thing she has time for, until a summer internship brings Justin into her life.

But Justin has scars of his own. A tour of duty in Afghanistan has left him with wounds. A medical discharge from the Navy leaves Justin struggling to make sense of his new reality. Then he meets Jessica; but can the two of them leave their pain in the past and make a future together?


PicsArt_1443945753901

Back To Us was a light read, it had a lot of potential but it felt flat for me. It had a promising start but somewhere towards the middle the rhythm got lost. Nonetheless I did enjoy this book, I just didn’t fall in love with it.

The story is about Jessica and Justin. Jessica’s financial condition is not so good. She had a pretty rough childhood and now she lives with her brother Mike. She got a summer job in a community centre where she meets Justin for the first time. The two of them connect because of their tragic past yet trust remains an issue between them. As things heats up between them, they have to decide if they want to leave things as they were or take a chance on each other and move forward.

The plot leans towards the poor girl rich boy storyline which is usually not my thing. But still the story started slow and steady which I liked. But I would have liked a few more interactions, heart to heart conversations between them before they decided to take things on the next level but nonetheless I enjoyed their relationship. I was glad it was not insta-love but I didn’t feel any depth in their relationship either which was a bummer. It took a lot of time for Justin to trust her back, of course his issues were much bigger being an amputee but still, it was like he was forcing her out of his life because of the guilt he felt when she repeatedly tried to tell him it didn’t matter. It was frustrating, it felt the plot was moving back and forth without moving towards any conclusion. The ending felt rushed, they got back together so fast, it felt unrealistic and we were just told the other things which happened at the end when I actually wanted to see those incidents play out.

The characters were okay for me. I didn’t feel much attached to them. Jessica had a pretty bad childhood, her father practically disowned her and her brother. Since then she had been living on her own. I liked Jessica’s strength and independent nature and also that she didn’t easily quit and fought back. Justin worked as a medic in the navy but after a tragic incident he lost both of his legs. He struggled very much and lost his self confidence. But with Jessica he wanted to be better and more but most of the time his insecurities won. I wanted to see his character evolve but unfortunately we didn’t get to see that because the ending was rushed. But I did love Mike, he had quite a few bad habits but he was a great big brother and he was always there for Jessica.

The writing was simple and easy to read. This book wasn’t too long, so I easily finished it in one sitting. The pace was even throughout the book.

Overall, Back To Us was an okay read for me. The plot was clichéd, the starting was good but it didn’t manage to keep me interested throughout the book. The characters were somewhat okay and I enjoyed the romance but I wanted more depth to it. The writing was smooth and the pace was even throughout the book.

Recommend it?

Maybe if you like this kind of plot.


So guys, have you read this one yet? Did you like it or hate it? Share your thoughts with me.

One thought on “Review: Back To Us by Teresa Roman

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- October 2015 ! | Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

