Review: Rikki by Abigail Strom

26792112Author: Abigail Strom

Tittle: Rikki

Series: Hart University, book 1 [Can be read as a standalone]

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [New-Adult]

Heat Rating: Slightly warm

Page Count and Format: 205 pages, Ebook

Published: September 20th 2015

Source: I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558321867


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Ever since junior high and an ill-fated game of seven minutes in heaven, Rikki Eisendrath and Sam Payne have hated each others’ guts. But when they end up at the same college—and the same dorm—they figure it’s time to declare a truce.

They even become friends . . . sort of. But when Sam asks Rikki to model for his sculpting project, they start spending more time together—and her feelings for him get more complicated.

She tries to focus on the guy she’s been crushing on instead. But Sam’s the one she can’t stop thinking about, even though their arguments are starting to heat up as much as the chemistry between them.

With antagonism and attraction this intense, there’s bound to be an explosion. But when the dust settles, will Sam and Rikki be enemies, friends . . . or something more?


PicsArt_1443945753901

This was definitely not my kind of book but I ended up falling in love with it. It was so, so good! Though I was frustrated for most of the times and there was angst, lots and lots of angst between the characters but I just loved it! It made it more exiting in a kind of way. I started the book with a neutral attitude and I’m so glad I gave this book a chance, it ended up being my new favourite! 😀

The story is about Rikki and Sam who shared their first kiss together in a game called seven minutes in heaven in their high school days. They were never friends in high school and they went back to ignoring each other after this incident. When they ended up in the same university, also in the same dorm room, they declared a truce and decided to try being friends. But as they start to spend time with each other, Rikki starts to feel strongly for Sam which scares her and she feels conflicted about Sam feeling for her. As the chemistry between them intensifies, it’s upto them to decide that they want to remain enemies, be friends or much more.

The plot was different from any NA book that I’ve ever read. The story revolves around the first year of the university lives of Rikki and Sam. It also stated the experience of innocence to a new sexual conceptism. Although being enemies, Rikki have always felt something for Sam but she has never acted upon her feelings because she thought Sam hated her. She continues to do the same in her university. I was frustrated a lot, because just as I was thinking something was going to happen or one of them would confess, it always went the opposite way. But that doesn’t mean I didn’t love it, it was exactly the opposite. I enjoyed the friendship and the banters between Rikki and Sam, I also the sexual tension between them and their chemistry was undeniable. I loved the family and the friendship aspect of this book, I wish there was more of it.

Rikki and Sam were two fully different people yet same in so many ways. Rikki was a control freak and that’s why she was scared when she couldn’t understand her feelings for Sam. But I loved her and I can totally relate to her, not the control freak thingy though. She loved studying and she was totally focused it. She was caring, kept to herself and also not judgemental. And I loved Sam as well though he was really good at hiding his feeling and that’s why at first I wanted to hit him. Though he did a terrible mistake, he remained chivalrous. He was a pretty decent guy, the things he kept doing for her, you can’t help but love him. I just loved these two together. This book depicted the experience of new friendship, first love and delving into much more. I simply loved all the characters, they were fresh and unique and also relatable and realistic.

I loved the other characters as well. Both of Rikki’s moms were totally great, specially Beth. I wanted more of them. I wasn’t sure of what I felt for Tamsin, Rikki’s roommate at first but as the story progressed, I absolutely loved her. She was an awsome friend.

The writing was simple and beautiful. I absolutely loved how the dialogues flowed out. I breezed through the book in a day. The pace was even throughout the book, neither too slow nor too fast. The story didn’t slack in any portion and I didn’t feel bored for even a second. It was pretty hard to put this book down, I was constantly turning the pages to see what happened next.

Overall, Rikki was a great read for me. The plot was great, it depicted a beautiful story of friendship and love. The characters were unique and diverse. I loved all of them. I specially enjoyed the romance and the angst between Rikki and Sam. They had a crackling chemistry. The writing style was smooth and the pace was even throughout the book. I’m definitely looking forward to read this series and also any other works by this author.

Recommend it?

Yes!


So guys, have you read Rikki yet? Did you love it or hate it? Or are you planning to read it? Share your thoughts with me!

One thought on “Review: Rikki by Abigail Strom

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- October 2015 ! | Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

