Review: Never Say Never by Emily Goodwin – Blog Tour + Giveaway!

NSN banner1Welcome to my tour stop of Never Say Never by Emily Goodwin hosted by Between the Sheets Promotions. You can view the full tour schedule here.


NSN AmazonAuthor: Emily Goodwin

Tittle: Never Say Never

Series: The Never series, book 1 [Can be read as a standalone]

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [New-Adult]

Heat Rating: Very warm

Page count and format: 263 pages, Ebook

Published: September 26th 2015 by Black Ink

Source: I received an eARC of this book from Between the Sheets Promotions as a part of this blog tour in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating: PicsArt_1444558511051


Blurb (from Goodreads):

My life was full of nevers.

It was never supposed to go this way. I was never supposed to lose Mom so soon. I was never supposed to worry about making ends meet, to worry about losing the farm. I never thought I’d be working a job I hate, with a boss who was more interested in what was under my shirt than in my head. Saving neglected and abused horses had been my whole life. It was my reprieve, my sanity, my last saving grace in a cruel world. I never thought I’d grow to resent it, but I guess there is a first for everything.

Then I met him.

The Hollywood playboy. The entitled, cocky asshole that I can’t get out of my head. I never thought there could be more to him than sex appeal and an infamous reputation of loving and leaving. I never thought I’d fall for him, put my heart on the line, and risk letting him completely destroy me.

But you know what they tell you…never say never.


PicsArt_1443945753901

“You might be broken but I love every shattered piece of you.”

This book was heart wrenchingly good. I loved it, specially the setting. The plot was something similar as in NA books but it was also much more than that. I liked the characters and totally loved the horses and did I mention I love horses. I always wanted to have one of my own beside a dragon! AHEM! Anyways, onto the review…

The story revolves around the life of Haley who lives in a ranch with her mother. For her whole life she has been rescuing poor and abused horse and taking care of them. One rescue mission goes terribly wrong as her mother burns to death while saving a horse and Haley blames herself for her mother’s death. While she’s barely coping up she meets Hollywood’s greatest star, Aiden who has come there to shoot for a film. They’re both fighting a loosing battle by wanting to stay away from each other. Slowly, both of them start to fall for each other as they discover the true person underneath the facade. But are they ready to fight for each other when their pasts get caught up with them pulling them towards darkness?

The plot was the same old but I loved how the author executed it here. I really, really liked the setting. Haley lived in a ranch which was located in an isolated area and she loved it exactly like that. She had a special bond with the horses and she loved tending and nursing them. The first chapter was really heartbreaking because I loved Haley’s mom, she seemed liked an awsome person and then she died in the fire saving a horse. I was horrified and terrified and I already crying. Her mom was her best friend, her guide and in an instant everything got taken away from her. When you read these kind of thing, well atleast I always relate with them with my real life. I mean if something happens to my mom, I won’t definitely make it because she is my whole world. Anyways, she was all alone and if it wasn’t for Aiden, she wouldn’t be able to come back to normal. I liked how their relationship slowly evolved but their chemistry didn’t manage to suck me in. I loved the romance in the first part but somewhere after the midways something felt lacking. Nonetheless, what I loved the most about this book was the dark and realistic aspect and how it was portrayed.

The characters were pretty great and I enjoyed reading about them. I liked Haley, she was a strong character, despite going through something horrifying like that she managed to survive. I really felt bad for her. There were times she almost gave up but the horses were a constant reminder of what her mother would have wanted for her. She broke down quite often but she never gave up. I truly liked that about her. Although I didn’t exactly fall in love Aiden but I liked him. He had a tragic past and for that he used alcohol and other medicines to forget his pain. But after meeting Haley, something inside him changed. He wanted to be better for her. Yes, he did mistakes but both them them helped each other overcome the pain and their broken past and accept the present. They made each other better and I absolutely loved that. I also liked Lori, Haley’s best friend. She was sweet and really cared for Haley.

The writing was pretty simple and easy to read. I loved Haley’s inner monologues. Although the book felt a bit longer than necessary but I finished it easily in two sittings. I felt pace was a little slow after the midways but for most of it, it was even.

Overall, Never Say Never was a good read for me. I enjoyed the plot and the heart wrenching reality it portrayed. The characters were great and likable. I liked the romance between Haley and Aiden but it didn’t manage to capture my attention. The writing was smooth and I throughly enjoyed this book.

Recommend it?

Yes.


Author Bio:

1635425-3Emily Goodwin is the author of the twice banned dark romance, STAY, as well as over a dozen other titles. Emily writes all types of romance, from love stories set in the zombie apocalypse to contemporary romances taking place on a western horse ranch. Emily lives in Indiana with her husband, children, and many pets, including a German Shepherd named Vader. When she isn’t writing, Emily can be found riding her horses, designing and making costumes, and sitting outside with a good book.

Author Links:

Facebook || Goodreads || Website

Purchase Links:

Amazon US || Amazon UK


Giveaway (INTL)-

One eBook copy of Never Say Never, ends October 25th

a Rafflecopter giveaway

3 thoughts on “Review: Never Say Never by Emily Goodwin – Blog Tour + Giveaway!

  1. Ahhh this sounds really great! I keep having SUCH a bad run with NA books which seem to have no plot….but I love that she had such a great relationship with her mum and that her personality is awesome. Squee! Great review! 😀
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- October 2015 ! | Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

