Review: Poison by Lan Chan

26140145Author: Lan Chan

Tittle: Poison

Series: Wind Dancer, book 1

Genre: Dystopia, Post-Apocalyptic, Sci-fi, [Young-Adult]

Heat rating: Cool

Page count and format: 230 pages, Ebook

Published: September 1st, 2015 by Createspace

Source: I received a digital copy of this book from YA Bound Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: PicsArt_1444558511051


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Since the night her mother was murdered, sixteen-year-old Rory Gray has known one truth: There are no good Seeders.

In post-apocalyptic Australia, the scientists known as Seeders have built a Citadel surrounded by food-producing regions and populated with refugees from the wars and famine. To maintain their control, the Seeders poisoned the land and outlawed the saving of seeds.

It’s been six years since Rory graced the Seeders’ circus stage as the Wind Dancer and still the scars on her body haven’t healed. Even worse are the scars on her heart, left by a Seeder boy who promised to protect her.

Now the Seeders are withholding supplies from Rory’s region for perceived disobedience. Utilising the Wanderer knowledge she received from her mother, Rory must journey to the Citadel through uninhabitable terrain to plead for mercy.

However, the Citadel isn’t as Rory remembered. The chief plant geneticist is dying and rumours fly that the store of viable seed is dwindling. The Seeders are desperate to find a seed bank they believe Rory can locate, and they will stop at nothing to get it.

To defy the Seeders means death. But Rory has been close to death before–this time she’s learned the value of poison.


PicsArt_1443945753901

OH MY GOD THIS BOOK WAS FILLED WITH AWSOMENESS! And it was so damn fabulous! And the cover is so beautiful! At first I had a bit of difficulty in getting into the story, it was only a little close to the halfway that I became invested and I was sucked into the story with full force. I’m so glad I did not stop and kept reading otherwise I wouldn’t have been able to experience the hell of a ride by reading this book.

The story is set in post-apocalyptic Australia where the people known as Seeders have done genetic modifications to almost everything possible, they’ve poisoned the land and outlawed the saving of seeds. All the people depend on them for their livelihood in exchange for their freedom. The Wanderers revolved against the Seeders but they were all wiped out. The story is about a girl named Rory who used to be the Wind Dancer. When her mother was killed by the Seeders she understood that none of them were actually good and she wanted to take revenge ever since. But when her father comes in contact with the deadly disease that’ve been killing everyone, she sets to travel to the Citadel to find a solution instead she comes to face to face with numerous dangers. It’s upto her to decide if she chooses to save her loved ones or save herself.

The plot was so different and the concept of the Wind Dancer was unique. Yes, there were some incidents that reminded me of the Hunger Games but they were all uniquely executed that made me love this book even more. Rory sets out alone in this journey but then she finds more companions from her land along with her brother who wants to join her, at first she’s reluctant but then she agrees. I loved all the action and the dangers that they had to go through to cross the forest and I almost cried after seeing what happened to all of them. I was really, really horrified during that piranha sequence, it was just so gruesome and terrifyingly sad. All the things actually sped up from this point onwards and there was not a single dull moment.

Another memorable scene was when all the wind dancers along Rory were in the pole which were moving up and down and they had to throw each other and the last one to stay upright would win. This scene reminded me a lot of the Hunger Games but it was executed really well and it was so awsome and so terrifying! The plot twist was really good but somehow things in their plan managed to go wrong and I’m sooo upset. The way things ended, I was like OMG! WHAT’S HAPPENING, I’m so confused and in very need of the next book right now and I have no idea when it’s going to be out! *SIGHS*

I loved and hated the characters. They were all uniquely potrayed and had a special element to them. I liked Rory very much, she was strong and a kickass protagonist. But she was not devoid of normal humanly feelings, she felt sadness, anger, fear and frustration which made it easy to relate to her. I was so afraid of her because of the risks she took, she was trying so hard to survive and save herself as well, I felt really bad for her situation and the way things turned out. And Aiden, I don’t have a clue how to feel about this guy. I mean, from the very first I was praying please let him be good, don’t make him evil, then I thought I was right but then again something happened which left me confused. ARGHH! I really, really hope something good happens in the next book, I mean atleast where it’s concerning him because I really like him despite his behaviour and shit. Damn me!

I liked the side characters as well, they were all unique and strong. I loved Rory’s brother and I want to know what happened to him! My favourite was Gage. He was sweet and a good friend, he wanted revenge from the Seeders for killing his father. Leura was another character I liked. But it was really sad because of the fate they met. And there were a few creepy characters as well like Harlan. I hated him so much and he really gave that bad vibe. I really want to see what happens to all these characters next and specially I want to see Harlan and his mother dead!

The writing was beautiful and simple. But there were quite a few times that I had to go back and reread the paragraph because I felt confused. Other than this and the slow start and I don’t have any complaints with this book because I was very much satisfied how everything was executed so perfectly. The pace was fast throughout the book and from the middle onwards I had to race with the book because I was dying to find out what happened next and so many surprises were thrown into the mix.

Overall, Poison was a really awsome read. The plot was unique and everything was executed really well. I loved the characters though some I hated and some gave pretty bad vibes. The authority in the Citadel were really cruel, they didn’t give a shit what happened to anyone or anything unless and until they were not harmed. The writing style was smooth and it was fast paced which I really enjoyed. I really can’t wait to read the next book!

Recommend it?

ABSOLUTELY YES!


Sooo guys, have you read Poison yet or are you planning to read it? Liked it? Hated it? Share your thoughts with me!

4 thoughts on “Review: Poison by Lan Chan

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- October 2015 ! | Daydreaming Books
  2. Pingback: The Autumn Book Tag!

Leave a Reply

