Review: Sound of Heartache by Chelsea Roy

25875499Author: Chelsea Roy

Tittle: Sound of Heartache

Series: Sound of, book 2 [Can be read as a standalone]

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [New-Adult]

Heat rating: Warm

Page count and format: 187 pages, Ebook

Published: July 21st 2015

Source: I received a digital copy of this book from Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: PicsArt_1444558587481


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Aimee was cruelly yanked away from her first and only love. She has never gotten over him and watched from afar as he rose to superstardom. She’s let fear control her and never reached out to him no matter how much she wanted to. This time is different. This time, she’s determined to see things through to the end. But will he still want her?

Brent tried to get over the woman who shattered his heart. Moving on has been impossible, and God knows he’s tried. He knows if she wanted to find him, she could. He has never given up hope even though he knows it’s highly doubtful he’ll ever see her again. And if she did show up, what would he say to her anyway?


PicsArt_1443945753901

I have mixed feelings about this book. It was a short and sweet read. I didn’t totally love it but I didn’t totally hate it either. Thank God for that! Well it was a good book but it could have been a lot better cause I felt there was something very important missing throughout the book.

The story starts with the present time and then goes into the flashback showing everything that happened in the college life of Brent and Aimee before coming to the present once again. It revolves around Aimee who volunteered to tutor biology to Brent in college which he was failing miserably. Slowly their relationship escalated to something more and Aimee ends up getting pregnant at the age of 17. When her parents threaten him they are forced to seperate from each other, only Aimee didn’t come back to him as promised but returns after ten years later. Now it’s upto them to decide if they can forgive each other and move on or forever live with their heartache.

The plot was clichéd. It was the same old rockstar romance where I didn’t find any new element added into the mix. The plot line in New-Adult books are becoming old rather fast but yet some books stand out amongst them but unfortunately this book was not one of them. One thing I felt that there was more telling than showing in the first portion of the book, during the whole flashback period where we get to know how they first met and fell for each other. I wanted to see more of their interactions but we were just told that these things happened. Another thing was that the moment I was thinking okay it’s going slow and good, the characters did something stupid which made me so mad. The romance was good but I wanted more depth to it. Although there were a lot of flaws, there were some funny moments and I did enjoy this book.

The characters were somewhat okay, I didn’t feel emotionally invested with them and that’s why I didn’t exactly fall in love with them either. Aimee was a good character but she was a bit too mature for her age but nonetheless she raised her daughter well and was a good mother. I did understand her reason for staying away but she could have come back much earlier after escaping from her parents. Brent was okay, he did a looot of stupid mistakes and for that I couldn’t love him, he made me so angry sometimes. But Brenna, their daughter was an angel. She was really sweet and accepted her father whole heartedly. Eric, Brent’s best friend was the character that I loved the most. He was the most caring and sensitive person, he fell in love with Aimee but never did he once mentioned his feelings and did everything to make sure the two people he loved the most stayed together. It was really, really sweet and it broke my heart. I really look forward to reading Eric’s story and see his happily ever after.

The book was written in a simple style and it was easy to read. I easily breezed through the book in two sittings. The pace was also fast which was a plus.

Overall,, Sound of Heartache was an okay read for me. The plot was clichéd, it failed to stand out and the characters were somewhat okay. The romance was good but I felt it lacked more depth. The writing style was smooth and it was fast paced. So I did enjoy this book but also felt that it could have been a lot better.

Recommend it?

Maybe.


So guys, read this book yet? Loved it? Hated it? Or are you planning to read it? Share your thoughts with me!

One thought on “Review: Sound of Heartache by Chelsea Roy

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- October 2015 ! | Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

