Daydreaming Discussions- Do you prefer Happily Ever Afters or Realistic Endings?

PicsArt_1462280909889

Hey there guys! Welcome to Daydreaming Discussions. This is a monthly feature created by me where I discuss anything bookish related or sometimes it might be about any non-bookish things as well. Also be prepared for a lot of ramblings and rantings and you’re very welcome to be a part of the discussion.

Soo…. I did three of these discussion posts, then I suddenly stopped. Honestly I couldn’t find a space to squeeze this feature in though I had quite a few ideas in my mind for a long time. So finally I’m presenting you today’s discussion: Doย you prefer Happily Ever Afters (HEA) or Realistic Endings (that will crush your heart, break them into small small pieces and throw them apart) ?

This topic came to my mind after I saw a post where the person stated that she was devastated because the hero died at the end. I’m not going to tell the name of the book because it would definitely spoil the ending for you, Clearly she didn’t think it was important to hide this major spoiler. *SIGHS* I’m so sad the ending got ruined for me. Anyways, after reading that this question came to my mind.

I’m gonna confess, I’m a sucker for happily ever afters. I even enjoy the clichรฉd one sometimes. Though I’m also satisfied when it ends by stating the hero and heroine are together for now and they have a vast future ahead of them. Anything could happen in that future but atleast I’m left satisfied that they are together for now. That’s all I need, I mean I need that after shipping two people hard throughout the book.

I’m not saying that I totally hate realistic endings. But my point is, I read books crazily…obsessively because I want to escape the harsh realities of life and go into another world where things are completely different. And when the one of the main protagonist dies I’m left shattered. I mean I loved these characters for so long, naturally I expected a happily ever after for them after so much struggle but then it doesn’t happen. I need the emotional satisfaction after reading a book.

Lately, a few authors have been trying this kind of ending or so I’ve heard. Frankly, I’m quite terrified. I want to laugh, cry, laugh again but I really want the book to end on a somewhat happy and satisfied note thatโ€™ll keep me contended and when this doesn’t happen I’m left utterly dissapointed. So I’m begging the authors don’t crush my poor soul! Pleaseeeeeee!

Although there are some kinds of bitter sweet endings that you can’t hate but feel satisfied. I’m okay with those but you do get my point, don’t you?

My poor heart can’t take all those pain so I think I’ll always be a BIG fan of happily ever afters.


So guys I want to know about your opinion. Do you prefer HEA or realistic endings where you don’t mind if one of the main character dies? And why do you prefer the one you do?

And oh, do you guys like this new banner/header of my discussion post? Lemme know you guys! ๐Ÿ™‚

20 thoughts on “Daydreaming Discussions- Do you prefer Happily Ever Afters or Realistic Endings?

  1. I think it really depends on the story.

    Sometimes, a “happily ever after for now works” for me other times it doesn’t. I’m one of those people who likes everything wrapped up nicely when I finish a book/series. I don’t want to be left wondering what might happen in the future. But at the same time, some stories need to finish that way.

    The worst thing is to be disappointed in the ending. Take the series finale of How I Met Your Mother. It took me the better part of 2 months to come to the conclusion that the finale was a smart way to end the series. But I was so attached to those characters that when I initially watched the finale I was SO HURT by the ending. After 10 years of watching the show, I wanted the ending I envisioned for the better half of the series.

    So while I want the nicely wrapped up ending, I’m also a sucker for a good plot twist and sometimes those realistic endings are just the perfect way to get a good reaction out of me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I absolutely agree with that, it definitely depends on the story. I like those kind as well sometimes I do manage to form my own story in my mind about them if it’s a HEA for now.

      Oh yes, I was not unfortunately an avid watcher of HIMYM but one of my friend was, she was totally devastated after it ended that way.

      So yes, I do agree with your point but I think I’m a bit biased when it comes to happily ever afters. I love to feel all happy and contented when a book ends that way. You do get it, don’t you? ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I do love a happy ending too (don’t we all!), but only if it’s in keeping with the overall plot. A book I read recently killed off the main character in the last chapter. Although it had built up to some pretty dire circumstances, I certainly wasn’t expecting THAT! I accepted it, as it was a spy thriller and you have to be prepared for ‘anything’ to happen. Thinking about it, it was probably the most exciting thing that did!

    Oh, and I love the banner. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Absolutely yes! ๐Ÿ™‚ I agree with your point. And now when you’ve said this, I don’t think I would mind such endings in mystery/thrillers, the sad ending bothers me in novels which have a main focus in the romantic aspect or in fantasy, dystopia genre where after everything they did together to survive yet they didn’t end up together.

      Eep! Thank you very much! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I PREFER EVERYONE TO DIE. MWHAHAHHA. *ahem* Okay, I’m torn. Like I DO love HEA’s because I get a lot of closure for them. But sometimes it makes me switch off my mind about that book and I don’t even think about it anymore. But with the more open endings, or the devastating ones, I find they linger in my brain longer. xD

    (Omg and SO ANNOYING that person ruined the ending for you. D: Some people are really not careful with spoilers)

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I KNOW WHAT YOU MEAN! ๐Ÿ˜› Things are totally different from a writer’s POV and a reader’s, so yuuush I understand what you mean.

      I do get your point, that’s why I talked about the bittersweet endings that leave you with a feeling of satisfaction even if there’s no happy ending. I’m okay with those but when a really good book with an awsome plot abruptly ends with one of the main characters getting killed, that really gets on my nerves and crushes my poor little heart.

      (Yush, exactly!)

      Like

  4. I always prefer books with HEA and I mostly avoid reading tragedies cause I couldn’t handle death and I would definitely wish for a alternative ending. I want to have a happy reading experience and It would be heart breaking if your favorite character has died in the book. Have you read the grisha trilogy? it was one of my favorite trilogy but I totally hated it’s ending.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think deep down the fangirl in me wants a HEA ending, but it still kind of depends. Usually if it’s a depressing book where the characters don’t ever seem to catch a break; I do tend to want to get some reprieve, you know? But for some books, it’s better to leave it sad or more realistically brutal to pack more punch and leave a greater impact on the readers. However, the book where the hero died? If that happened in a series I would be greatly upset! After having followed the entire series to have characters I’ve grown attached reach their demise… that’s too much to handle. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Anyway, super lovely discussion post, Poulami. And hehe, it’s okay! You’re not the only one that took a hiatus from their discussion series. Look at me, I only have two out so far. ๐Ÿ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- October 2015 ! | Daydreaming Books
  7. I will ALWAYS want the happily ever after or some sort of happy ending. I guess I just don’t read books for “deep thought” or a look at the trying times of life. I read books purely for fun entertainment only. I definitely agree that when you are so invested in a character or like them a lot, it’s impossible to not want a happy ending for them. I prefer fluffier/romance books too compared to the darker/scarier genres, so most books I read will end in some sort of happy ending. There have been a couple books I’ve read where the ending wasn’t a HEA and I rated the book way less and was upset lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: 3 Day, 3 Quotes Challenge – Day 3 – Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

