Review: Persephone’s Orchard by Molly Ringle

17790646Author: Molly Ringle

Tittle: Persephone’s Orchard

Series: The Chrysomelia Stories, book 1

Genre: Paranormal, Romance, [Young-Adult]

Heat rating: Cool

Page count and format: 269 pages, Ebook

Published: June 25th 2013 by Central Avenue Publishing

Source: I received a digital copy of this book from the author via Goodreads in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: PicsArt_1444558587481


Blurb (from Goodreads):

The Greek gods never actually existed. Did they? Sophie Darrow finds she was wrong about that assumption when she’s pulled into the spirit realm, complete with an Underworld, on her first day at college. Adrian, the mysterious young man who brought her there, simply wants her to taste a pomegranate.

Soon, though she returns to her regular life, her mind begins exploding with dreams and memories of ancient times; of a love between two Greeks named Persephone and Hades. But lethal danger has always surrounded the immortals, and now that she’s tainted with the Underworld’s magic, that danger is drawing closer to Sophie.


PicsArt_1443945753901

There are some books that you really want to love but end up with being dissapointed. Unfortunately this book was one of them. I really hoped to fall in love with it but I didn’t, I liked the whole concept but the characters were just only okay for me and I think it dragged on and on when it was completely unnecessary, this was the bit that bothered me the most but I overall I did enjoy this book.

The story revolves around Sophie who comes to a new college and on the first day she is sort of kidnapped and brought into a whole other realm. The guy named Adrian explains to her this the realm where the spirits of the dead enter when they die. He desperately wants her to eat a pomegranate because that will unleash all the memories of her past lives. But Sophie is reluctant so he tricks her into having some with some juice. After that all her memories come flooding by and she realises they were in love, he was Hades and she was Persephone a thousand years ago. When she finally comes to accept these terms, she is thrown in between a war among the immortals and the community named Thantos who wants to wipe out all the immortals.

First of all, I love when Greek mythology is fused into YA to create something totally new and unique. And I specially love the story of Hades and Persephone, so naturally I wanted to see how everything was potrayed here. I enjoyed the concept but I can’t pinpoint what it was but I felt something was missing. I liked it but it was not BAM ON! I liked reading about the fact that in all their past lives Sophie and Adrian had been together in some way or another and that’s why after Adrian remembered everything about their past lives, in this life he was desperate for Sophie to remember because he has never lived without her. Still I would have loved if there was more depth in their romance. I liked the action towards the end so I totally can’t say that I didn’t enjoy the book but yes this book felt awfully long, it dragged on and on and I was loosing interest in many portions.

Which brings me to my next point, the characters. I liked all the characters but I couldn’t connect with them on an emotional level. How much I tried I couldn’t care enough about them. Sophie was an okay character, she was quite simple and silly at times but I liked that she fought back when necessary. I liked Adrian, he was sweet, loved Sophie and wanted her safe at all costs. I liked Niko, he was sly, clever but a good person. And I have serious doubts about Quintin, the leader of the Thantos, that weather she is an immortal or not yet she wants to kill them all.

The writing style was simple and easy to read. It took me some time to finish the book because I constantly loosing interest at times but the pace remained even throughout the book. There was some humor in the book and it was funny at times.

Overall, Persephone’s Orchard was an okay read for me. The plot had potential but it somewhat felt flat for me anf it felt dragged on some portions. I couldn’t connect with the characters much but I did enjoy the action and the banters between the characters. The writing style was simple and the pace was even throughout the book. Frankly I’m not sure whether I want to continue with this series or not, perhaps I might give it a try later.

Recommend it?

Maybe you should give this book a try and decide for yourself?


So guys have you read Persephone’s Orchard yet? Did you love it or hate it? Or are you planning to read it? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

P.S. I just finished reading Bravely Fought the Queen by Mahesh Dattani and I feel sick and disturbed. I don’t know why this is in my syllabus! I know it’s a famous work and I have to no right to say this but I don’t think I have read anything horrible like this, ever in my life! I’m seriously depressed. Any remedies guys, please?

One thought on “Review: Persephone’s Orchard by Molly Ringle

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- October 2015 ! | Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

