Review: Give Me Yesterday by K. Webster and Elle Christensen

Givemeyesterdaycover1

Authors: K. Webster and Elle Christensen

Tittle: Give Me Yesterday

Standalone

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [New-Adult]

Heat rating: Very warm [Recommended 18+ due to language and sexual content]

Page count and format: 228 pages, Ebook

Published: September 24th 2015

Source: I received an eARC of this book from IndieSage PR in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: PicsArt_1444220604006


Blurb (from Goodreads):

High powered divorce lawyer, Victoria Larkin, is known as the ice queen. Tough. Emotionless. What they don’t know, is that ten years ago, she lost everything. Including her hope for the future.

Chase Monroe struggles with his own demons. Devastated by guilt and on a mission to correct his past, he uses his skills as a college psychology professor to help others move beyond their grief.

When Victoria is forced to attend grief counselling, she meets Chase, and there is an instant attraction. Chase is determined to help her confront her past and find happiness. Victoria is afraid to relive her pain.

Just as they begin to step forward, tragedy strikes and throws them backwards, and they find themselves, once again, shackled to the past.

Can Chase and Victoria find the path to a happy future together? Or will they forever be wishing for yesterday?


PicsArt_1443945753901

This book was so heartbreakingly beautiful. Ah… well I was actually crying from the prologue and it even managed to give me a nightmare and I woke up totally shaking! But other than this fact, I totally fell in love with this book. It’s a beautiful and realistic story about guilt, forgiveness, finding peace and moving on in life.

The story revolves around the life of Victoria or Tori who lost her husband and daughter at the young age of eighteen in a devastating accident which she witnessed with her own eyes. After that she recoiled from everyone and shut them out. She became the most successful divorce lawyer, also known as the ice queen. But after an incident in her office she is forced to attend a grief counselling as advised by her boss. There she meets Chase who has a tragic past of his own. They instantly connect and form a beautiful bond with each other. But when the destructive truth of their past comes out, it threatens their future forever.

It was such a beautiful story. Sorry, I just can’t stop saying it, because it really was. I loved it so much. There was so much pain as well as happiness, I was overwhelmed with so many different kind of emotions while reading this book. Ten years! It has been ten years since the accident after which Tori shut everybody out of her life and became the ice queen, never sharing her pain with anybody but it’s only after meeting Chase that she actually opens up and finally grieves for her beloved ones and comes into the position of accepting what has already happened and that yesterday could never come back how much she prayed for it, she knew it was time to accept what life offered her. And slowly, she truly became the person who she was once, she rediscovered herself with the help of Chase.

I already guessed the plot twist long before and I was actually horrified when I saw it was actually happening, I was literally shouting NO NO NOOOOO! Please don’t make it happen! But well what could I do, it slammed me pretty hard just like for the characters and it broke my heart. But the conclusion was so well and realistically handled that I fell in love with this book all over again.

The characters were my another favourite part of this book. Although I had nothing in common with Tori, I couldn’t help but love her and sympathize for her. It broke my heart to see her like that, all boxed up and not letting anybody in her life. Chase was definitely a swoon worthy guy. He was literally awsome and willing to do every single thing to bring a smile in Tori’s face. Their attraction was instant but I loved how their relationship built up slowly. Although I would have loved if their relationship escalated a little more slowly but their connection was pretty intense, they understood each other on a far more deeper level and it was clear how much they were comfortable around each other. I just loved their relationship and I enjoyed the sizzling chemistry and romance between them.

The side characters were really awsome as well, specially the ones in the grief therapy. They all formed a unique bond with each other and sort of formed a family. They really helped Tori when she was in the brink of breaking down. I liked Tori’s parents as well, they were really sweet and great.

These two women, I mean the two authors can literally bring magic on paper. The writing was so beautiful, even a little poetic sometimes, it was really easy to fall into the flow of this book. I loved the dialogues and how everything was executed. The pace was even throughout the book and there was not a dull moment even for a second.

Overall, Give Me Yesterday is a kind of novel that you come across rarely once in a while. It’s a book that you’ll remember forever because it has the power to leave it’s mark in your heart and mind altogether. With it’s heartbreaking plot and realistic characters, a beautiful story is woven with the magical writing by these two authors. I fell in love with this book and throughly enjoyed it from the start till the very end. I’m definitely looking forward to read more books by these two awsome authors.

Recommend it?

OH why is it even a question?! It’s a DEFINITELY YES!


Sooo guys, have you read this beautiful book yet? If yes what are your thoughts about it? And if you haven’t read it yet, I definitely suggest you do and then come back so we can gush together!

5 thoughts on “Review: Give Me Yesterday by K. Webster and Elle Christensen

  1. This sounds great! I love books that play on your emotions throughout reading it–wishing for a different outcome and the like. Going to add this to my TBR for sure!

    (Also, I don’t know when you changed the design of your site–I blame school interfering with my blogging–but I LOVE IT!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- October 2015 ! | Daydreaming Books
  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesdays: TBR Books I Found from Other Blogs – SERIESous Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

