ARC Review: Just One Kiss by Jami Wagner

justonekiss-wagner-ebookAuthor: Jami Wagner

Tittle: Just One Kiss

Series: Black Alcove, book 1 [Can be read as a standalone]

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [New-Adult]

Page count and format: 177 pages, Ebook

Expected publication: October 12th 2015

Source: I received an eARC of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: PicsArt_1431077886446


Blurb (from Goodreads):

A first kiss is hard to forget—and Kelsey Brian’s just walked into the bar where she works and isn’t planning to leave anytime soon. It figures. With her last semester of college finally here, Kelsey can’t wait to finish the year smoothly and start a new chapter. She doesn’t need to drive over yet another bump in the road.

Ethan Connelly has spent most of his adult life trying to be accepted by his father, and now he has the chance to make him proud. He’s also just stepped into another chance with the girl who got away. Deciding who matters most to him isn’t an easy choice. If he picks his father, he’ll lose her again—if he picks her, everything he’s worked for will be for nothing.

Can Kelsey learn to trust him, or will Ethan’s secret of why he’s really back in town tear them apart?


PicsArt_1443945753901

This book was short and sweet. I liked it though I didn’t fall in love with it, I think mainly because of the main character Ethan. But nonetheless there were some great and hilarious scenes which made me laugh so hard.

The story revolves around the life of Kelsey who is a college student and works part time in a bar run by her best friend, Sara. She is shocked to hear that Sara is going out for a world tour and leaving the bar in charge of her cousin Ethan. She and Ethan had a bit of history, they had kissed once while Ethan still had a girlfriend and she greatly dislikes cheaters because her best friend slash boyfriend cheated on her. She decides to focus fully on her work and college but it becomes hard when Ethan comes into the scene. They finally confess they like each other but there’s a bigger motif for Ethan’s coming here and if it’s revealed, it might destroy everything they had hoped to build.

The plot was pretty clichéd, this kind of plot is becoming so obvious everywhere but still the execution greatly matters and here, it felt flat for me. I was really hoping to enjoy this book very much but it didn’t happen though I won’t say I hated it, it was an okay read and I liked it. It came as a shock when I learnt about Ethan’s actual reason of coming here and that he agreed to play by his father’s plan just for his approval though deep down he knew that was never going to happen. The plot twist was good but after that everything just escalated a bit too quickly for my taste. Their attraction was also a bit too immediate but I did enjoy the romance between Kelsey and Ethan through the book.

The characters were okay. I couldn’t relate with them much. Kelsey was a hard working person, caring and passionate about her writing. She hated cheaters and hoped that Ethan wouldn’t turn out like the rest of them and she gave a fair chance to him. I didn’t like Ethan a bit. He just kept blowing the chances that Kelsey gave him. If I were in her place, I wouldn’t have given him that much chances. He knew what he was doing was wrong yet ke kept doing that and hurting Kelsey in the process. And when everything blew up in his face, he didn’t even fight for her. His excuse- she didn’t want him. What even! Ethan was a perfect example of a coward, he definitely wasn’t the swoon worthy guy I was expecting.

The writing was simple and easy to read. This book was short, so I finished it quite easily in two sittings. The pace was even throughout the book. I enjoyed the flow of the dialogues and the conversation between the friends.

Overall, Just One Kiss was an okay read for me. The plot was clichéd and the characters were somewhat okay. I couldn’t connect with them. Though I enjoyed the romance and there were quite a few hilarious scenes which were awsome. The writing was smooth and the pace was even throughout the book.

Recommend it?

Maybe you could give it a try if you like NA books and see if you like it or not.


So guys, heard about this book yet? Are you planning to read it? Share your thoughts with me.

7 thoughts on “ARC Review: Just One Kiss by Jami Wagner

  1. I’m pretty much a MEh for NA reads so far…like I hope to find one, someday, that’ll wow me?! But so far I’ve been monstrously underwhelmed. D: I probably won’t dash after this one, but at least it was a fun read, if totally cliche, for you! 🙂
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I still haven’t read any NA, but I do have a few Colleen Hoover books now. Even though a lot of readers adore her, I feel like they’re going to be a disappointment. It’s also kind of because I saw this video and noticed some of her books made it onto the list. Anyway, great review, Poulami! I may be skipping this one if it’s on the meh side.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up- October 2015 ! | Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

