Review: The Assassin by Pamela DuMond – Blog Tour + Giveaway!

TheAssassinTourBanner2

Welcome to my tour stop of The Assassin by Pamela DuMond hosted by Xpresso Book Tours. You can view the full tour schedule here.


AssassinAuthor: Pamela DuMond

Tittle: The Assassin

Series: Mortal Beloved, book 2

Genre: Fantasy, Historical Fiction, Time Travel, Romance, [Young-Adult]

Page count and format: 193 pages, Ebook

Published: July 5th 2015 by Pamela DuMond

Source: I received a digital copy of this book from Xpresso Book Tours as a part of the blog tour in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: PicsArt_1431077933984


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Time Traveler. Messenger. Beloved. Spy.

“I was a Messenger: I kept the memory of all our encounters, our lives, like a locket that brushes the skin and bones covering my heart. But Samuel was a Healer: he didn’t time travel. His kind lived, died, re-incarnated, and he didn’t retain memories from his past lives. Every year I landed in required starting our relationship over: from ashes, from scrap… Every place I journeyed had beauty as well as darkness; all my time-travels were bittersweet.”
-Madeline.

Madeline’s a Messenger: time traveling across lifetimes and delivering messages that could change one life or many. When she discovers that her true love, Samuel, is alive in present day, but doesn’t remember her from their past, she journeys to a deadly royal conflict in medieval Portugal hoping to rekindle his memory. Mortal assassins as well as dark-souled time travelers seek to kill her. Will Madeline and Samuel be together again in life—or only in death?


PicsArt_1433969528805

I was very exited to start this book. I immediately started reading this after I finished book 1, The Messenger this evening. You can find my review for The Messenger here. The way it ended in a cliffhanger, I couldn’t wait to devour The Assassin. It definitely led up to the expectations. The story was kind of the same yet a lot different. The plot was more intriguing, the characters were different and great and the pace was fast which I enjoyed very much. Overall, I loved this book.

Summary-

Madeline has returned to her own century and she finally decides to let go of her love for Samuel until she spots him, flesh and blood, in the train station. When they meet, she realises he doesn’t remember her. And then she meets Ryan, the guy sent to train her to be a Messenger. At first she is reluctant but when he tells her there’s a way Samuel can remember her and they can be together in this lifetime, she wholeheartedly agrees and she embarks on a new adventure in medieval Portugal. But things are more trickier this time as she realises danger lurks in the shadows and she has to be careful as ever.

Plot-

I really enjoyed the plot. It was intriguing and intersting as ever. This time Madeline ended up as a gypsy woman named Nadja in medieval Portugal during the reign of King Afonso IV in Coimbra. The author took the beautiful yet heartbreaking tale of Prince Pedro and Inez de Castro and spinned it into her own way. It was really heartbreaking to see the way they ended up. Nonetheless I enjoyed the culture and grandeur of that time, I also enjoyed the gypsy culture. The romance was different this time because Samuel was not the same guy we met in book 1 but nonetheless I loved it. There was more action than the previous book which I definitely enjoyed. And I liked the mystery surrounding the message that Madeline had to deliver. Everything was executed perfectly.

Characters-

There were so many new characters introduced in this book, I ended up loving most of them. Madeline was the same old but she did mature. She was stronger and compassionate and was easily relatable. She fiercely tried to protect the ones she loved, I loved her loyalty towards her friends and everybody she cared for. I loved her inner monologues more this time, they were pretty hilarious and funny! Samuel was different this time, he was a haughty nobleman. It took a long time for him to come out of his shell before we glimpsed the Samuel that Madeline had actually fallen in love with. He cared for her, just in a different way. In the previous book, he knew they couldn’t be together because of their races and it was sort of again the same thing again, but he didn’t resist earlier but this time he did. So I did feel angry towards him but thankfully he came back to his senses and I loved him once again.

I loved the side characters, they were pretty unique. I definitely love this, the author manages to create a set of memorable side characters everytime. I hope to see more awsome people in the next books. Among them I loved Miri, she was Madeline’s gypsy friend, she was really nice and caring and pretty sweet. And I loved her best friends as usual, they were pretty awsome.

Writing style-

The writing was simple and beautiful. It was pretty easy to read and I breezed through the book in one sitting. I enjoyed how the dialogues flowed out and how everything was executed. The pace was pretty fast and even throughout the book. I definitely enjoyed the writing in this book, it was pretty addicting.

Overall-

The Assassin was a book that I throughly enjoyed, it was intriguing from the very start and I enjoyed the mystery aspect of the book. The plot was intersting and the twists were enjoyable as well as surprising. The characters were different and unique and I loved them. The writing was smooth and beautiful and the pace was fast and I enjoyed the thrill ride very much. This book also in ended in a cliffhanger, seriously this is torture but thankfully it ended in somewhat of a peaceful note but nonetheless I have to wait impatiently till the next book comes out. I can’t wait to embark a new adventure with Madeline!

Recommend it?

Yes if you’ve read book 1 or you enjoy this genre.


Author Bio:

PamelaPamela DuMond is the author who discovered Erin Brockovich’s life story, thought it would make a great movie and pitched it to ‘Hollywood’.

She writes romantic comedic mysteries, romantic YA time travel and New Adult romance.

Her book The Story of You and Me was a Quarterfinalist in the Amazon Breakout Novel Award (ABNA) 2014 in Romance.

Cupcakes, Pies, and Hot Guys was a Quarterfinalist in ABNA 2013 in Mystery .

She’s addicted to TV shows — The Voice and Reign. The movies Love Actually and The Bourne trilogy (with Matt Damon — not that other actor guy,) make her cry ever time she watches them. (Like — a thousand.)

When she’s not writing Pamela’s also a chiropractor and cat wrangler. She loves reading, the beach, working out, movies, TV, animals, her family and friends. She lives in Venice, California with her fur-babies.

She likes her coffee strong, her cabernet hearty, her chocolate dark, her foods non-GMO and she lives for a good giggle.

Author links:

Facebook || Twitter || Goodreads || Website

Purchase Links:

Amazon || B&N

Purchase Links of book 1- The Messenger:

Amazon || B&N


Check out the Book Trailer:


Giveaway (INTL): ends Oct 8th

  • $20 Amazon Gift Car
  • 2x eBook copies of The Messenger
  • 2x eBook copies of The Assassin

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Book Tour organised by:

ButtonXBT

2 thoughts on “Review: The Assassin by Pamela DuMond – Blog Tour + Giveaway!

Leave a Reply

