Review: The Messenger by Pamela DuMond

23491293Author: Pamela DuMond

Tittle: The Messenger

Series: Mortal Beloved trilogy, book 1

Genre: Fantasy, Historical Fiction, Time Travel, Romance, [Young-Adult]

Page count and format: 207 pages, Ebook

Published: October 2014 (first published April 10th 2012)

Source: I received a digital copy of this book from Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: PicsArt_1431077933984


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Sixteen-year-old Madeline’s meant to fall in love with Samuel in every lifetime. But she meets him for the first time when she accidentally time travels into the past—hundreds of years before she’s even born.

Their relationship is forbidden—Samuel’s half Native, Madeline’s white. Every rendezvous they share must be secret. Each moment they spend together tempts the odds that they’ll be discovered and brutally punished. But their love is fated—they musk risk all. Danger intensifies when Madeline learns she’s in the past not only to fall in love, but also to claim her birth right as a Messenger—a soul who can slip through time’s fabric at will. She can bring messages that change one life or even save many.

Deadly Hunters, dark-souled time travelers, crave Madeline’s powers and seek to seduce or kill her. Can Madeline find her way back to the future in time to save herself and Samuel?


PicsArt_1433969528805

This book was seriously freaking good! I enjoyed it so much. After reading a few reviews I was a bit hesitant but it wouldn’t have been fair to the book so I decided to give it a try nonetheless. Also, I’m not much into historical fiction but this book really changed my opinion. And boy, I just loved the ride! The plot was intriguing and the characters were pretty great. It was pretty fast paced and I flew through the book, there was not a single dull moment and it was throughly entertaining.

Summary-

Madeline is a normal girl, atleast she thought so before she finds herself in 1675 during the war between King Philip and the colonizers. At first she thinks she is having a nightmare until the truth sinks in, that she has actually time travelled. There she finds everybody calling her Abigail. Only two people believe her that she is not Abigail but Madeline- Samuel and an older woman named Angeni. She learns from them that she is a Messenger who can travel through time and help pass messages, even help change people’s lives. She slowly falls in love with Samuel, her soul mate. Things begin to fall in place until disaster strikes and they have to run for their lives. Everything takes a drastic turn and Madeline has to take a painful decesion- either she has to let go of Samuel or save her life.

Plot-

The plot was intriguing. I loved the concept of the messenger. Though I have to admit, at times it was a bit confusing and I had to read a few portions again and again to clear it. Madeline finds out that she is a Messenger but she is still naive and vulnerable and she needs training to improve. I liked seeing how she coped up with things and discovered herself. I loved the mystery surrounding her mother and I loved the plot twist, when it was revealed I was genuinely surprised. I also loved the seeing the different culture of that time, the author managed to capture the essence and potray it beautifully. I liked the soul mate thing, it added an intersting twist to the story and their romance which was developed slowly which I definitely liked though I wanted a bit more depth and passion. I simply loved everything, the action and the chasing was pretty good and I was satisfied how everything was executed.

Characters-

The characters were diverse and pretty great. I really liked every one of them. Madeline (I love this name!) was an awsome character, she was sweet, caring, honest and compassionate. I mostly liked her inner monologues, they were fun to read and added humour to the story. She didn’t want to believe that she has travelled through time but when she finally accepted it, she handled it maturely. She was a pretty relatable character. I loved how she fiercely wanted to protect Angeni when they captured her for a crime she didn’t commit. I liked Samuel very much. He was a bit mysterious, loyal and caring. I liked how he believed Madeline’s true story at the first go. They both knew their relationship wouldn’t be accepted in the society but they couldn’t help but fall for each other. I really liked their relationship.

“He smiled, leaned his head down, and cradled my face in his rough palms. He pulled me to him and said, ‘Madeline. I do not care where you are from—the future, the past, a star in the sky. I will love you here, now. I do not care what people think. I will love you in the past. I will love you in the future. I will love you, forever, Madeline.’ And he kissed me.”

-Madeline.

I loved the side characters as well. Elizabeth, Abigail’s cousin was a great character. She was sweet and cared genuinely for Madeline even though she was different from the previous Abigail she had known. And I definitely loved Angeni, she had this motherly aura, you can’t help but love her. I felt so sad when Madeline helplessly tried to save her but couldn’t. I also liked Madeline’s two best friends, Chaka and Aaron. I hope to see more of them in the next book.

Writing style-

I enjoyed the writing of The Messenger. It was simple and easy to read. I easily breezed through this book and finished it in two sittings. I would have finished it early but it was already passed 3 am last night so I had to close the book though I didn’t want to. It was pretty intersting and addicting. The pace was pretty fast and I loved it. I raced through the book and couldn’t wait to learn what happened next.

Overall-

The Messenger was a book which I loved very much. I enjoyed the concept of it. The plot was intriguing but a bit confusing at times. The characters were pretty great and diverse and I fell in love with them. I loved the romance though I wanted a bit more depth and passion. The writing was simple and smooth and the pace was pretty fast and I enjoyed it throughly. This book was pretty interesting from the start and the way it ended, with that cliffhanger, I would have died if I didn’t have the second book with me right now. So I’m gonna stop talking now and start the next book in this series.

Recommend it?

Definitely yes if you like time travel stories and historical fiction, even if you don’t you should give it a try.


So guys, have you read this awsome book yet? Liked it? Hated it? Or are you planning to read it soon? Share it all with moi!

4 thoughts on “Review: The Messenger by Pamela DuMond

  1. Pingback: Review: The Assassin by Pamela DuMond – Blog Tour + Giveaway! | Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

