Review: Lucid by Jay Bonansinga

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000040_00008]Author: Jay Bonansinga

Tittle: Lucid

Standalone

Genre: Paranormal, Horror, [Young-Adult]

Page count and format: 171 pages, Ebook

Published: April 28th 2015 by Smashwords Edition (first published April 7th 2015)

Source: I received a digital copy of this book from Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: PicsArt_1431077956882


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Lori Blaine is not your average seventeen-year-old high school student. Cool and iconoclastic in her dread-locks and natty thrift shop garb, with an IQ that’s off the charts, she is the ersatz leader of a pack of Goth kids that circle around her in the halls of Valesburg Central like a school of pilot fish. Lori speaks softly, but when she does speak, people have a tendency to listen.

But Lori Blaine has one problem: The door.

Lori’s dreams are haunted by this strange, recurring symbol. The door is always there on the periphery… beckoning to her, daring her to see what might be waiting for her on the other side. Finally, at the urging of an overzealous school psychologist, Lori Blaine decides to face her fears. The next night, she goes through the dream door… and immediately plunges into a shattered looking glass world in which nothing is as it seems and evil awaits around every corner.

But when Lori fights back, all hell breaks loose.


PicsArt_1433969528805

This book was SO FREAKING AWSOOOOME!! I LOVED, loved every bit of it. First of all, the cover is sooo creepy that I’m afraid to look at it! The plot was incredible, the concept was definitely awsome. How did I not know something so awsome like lucid dreaming! The concept fascinated me to such an extend that I want to try it myself. I did some of my own research and Wiki bro says that it could be achieved with sheer practice. Though I doubt it’ll possible but there’s no harm in giving it a try! Yesh, I know what you guys are thinking but I was born crazy! Now moving on…

Summary-

Lori is a girl who can lucid dream. Basically it means that you realise in your dream that you are dreaming and from that point onwards you are in complete control of your dreams. But in Lori’s dreams there is always a door which she tries to stay away from. But finally when she confronts her school psychologist, he tells her to cross through the door and see what happens. She decides to take upon the advice and what she confronts behind the door is beyond her imagination. There is a whole different out there in which she is not alone. She meets a bunch of people who claim that they are protecting this limbo space from the dangerous creatures known as bogies who possess people through their nightmares. Now, Lori is caught between a war between the two sides and she has only one option if she ever wants to get rid of her nightmares, she has to fight back. And when she does, all hell breaks lose.

Plot-

The plot was fresh and absolutely incredible. It had the perfect amount of creepiness and thrill which kept me on my toes from the very first page. The mystery aspect was well maintained and I was dying to know what happened next. The plot was so gripping, it was very hard to stop reading the book for a second. The concept of lucid dreaming was the thing which fascinated me the most. Just imagine, how incredible it is to lucid dream and take full control of your dreams! The author took this concept and twisted it into so much more. The twists and turns were so awsome and surprising! I never guessed them and they poured on me. I had quite a few “WHAAAAAAT” moments. The plot waa also full of action which I definitely enjoyed, there was something or the other constantly happening and it kept me intrigued throughout the novel. I simply loved the way things were executed.

Characters-

The characters were diverse and unique in their own way. I liked Lori a lot, she was a Goth and a total misfit in her school but she had a few loyal friends. She was afraid like any other person when she had to face her nightmare but when she had no other option she fought back to save herself and save her loved ones. She acted quite maturely given the situation. I also liked Nick, he was sweet and caring. He was the one forever locked in the dream dimension because he crossed his time there but he took up his responsibility quite maturely and did everything to save Lori and help her go back.

Hugo was another character I liked, he was a loyal best friend to Lori and believed her when she told the truth. The archangel Michael was quite mysterious but he was a nice guy, I quite liked him. The bogies were oh so gross creatures. At first I imagined them like the grievers in The Maze Runner, well they were quite similar but with wings. Thinking about them makes me shudder.

Writing style-

The writing was simple and addicting. It was really so hard to stop reading it. The writing was very easy to get into and I fell into the rhythm from the first page and finished it in one sitting. I loved the descriptive details which made it easy to not to get confused about the concept. The pace was pretty fast throughout the book and I enjoyed the thrill ride very much. I’m definitely looking forward to read other books by this author.

Overall-

Lucid was an incredible book that I immensely enjoyed. The plot was great, the concept was absolutely awsome and the characters were diverse and unique. The writing style was smooth and pretty addicting, it was hard to stop reading it for a second, there was never a single dull moment in the novel. The pace was pretty fast and this book had the perfect amount of creepiness mixed with thrill which made the book very intriguing.

Recommend it?

ABSOLUTELY! YES! You guys have to give this book a try, it was sooo incredible and awsome! Just go and read this!


So guys have you read Lucid yet or want to? Liked it or hated it? And how many of you are aware of the concept of lucid dreaming? Share your thoughts with me!

4 thoughts on “Review: Lucid by Jay Bonansinga

  1. Pingback: The Autumn Book Tag!

Leave a Reply

