Review: Connected by Kat Stiles

25447326Author: Kat Stiles

Tittle: Connected

Genre: Fantasy, Romance, [Young-Adult]

Series: Connected, book 1

Page count and format: 216 pages, Ebook

Published: June 3rd 2015 by Wild Child Publishing

Source: I received a digital copy of this book from Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: PicsArt_1431077933984


Blurb (from Goodreads):

High school is hard enough, Em knows. Her freshman year introduced her to all the cliques, annoying teachers, and tough homework assignments. But discovering you have super powers and not knowing how to control them is a whole new level of complicated.

Thankfully, Em isn’t alone. Her best friend Roz starts having unusual dreams that come true, and Tommy, Em’s secret crush, can hear the softest whispers in class.

A romance blossoms with Tommy. But just as things are looking up, people start dropping like flies. A telepathic serial killer is on the loose and only Em and her friends have a hope of stopping him.

Or do they? If they don’t figure out the killer’s identity soon, one of them could be next.​


PicsArt_1433969528805

This book was really good, I definitely liked the plot and the characters were great as well. It was quite a fast read and I enjoyed the ride. Though I didn’t fall in love with it but I enjoyed it immensely.

Summary-

The story revolves around a girl named Emily (or Em), she is the outcast in her class, she has only one true friend- Roz who always stays by her side and is a good friend to her. A new guy named Tommy with a past, enrolls in their school and Em forms a crush on him. Em’s always sweaty hands seems to heat up and she learns that she’s a healer and Roz finds out she’s a psychic as she starts having visions. They soon understand Tommy is no different than them, he has a sort of super hearing power. Then slowly things starts to spiral out of control. Roz’s deadly visions seems to come true and the trio quickly realise that there’s a killer on loose. But stopping this person seems quite impossible because he’s not an ordinary guy either.

Plot-

The plot was fresh and good. I quite enjoyed it. I liked how Em discovered her powers with the help of the school nurse Judy who had powers of her own and she handled it quite maturely. Her dreams rather nightmares about her father created a sense of mystery in the novel and I definitely wanted to find out more about it and I’m exited to read about it in the next book. Although the first part of the book lacks in action but things began to change and it took an interesting turn as it reached towards the middle. The romance between Tommy and Em was really sweet but I would have liked if there was more depth, hopefully I will get to see that in the next installment. The killer part was handled really well although I already guess the plot twist, I liked how things were executed.

Characters-

I liked the diverse characters in this novel, specially the trio. Em was a relatable character, she was sweet and shy. I loved the moment when she finally stood up for herself to the bullying. Roz was another character I liked, she was caring and sweet and looked out for her best friend. Tommy is the mysterious guy but he opens up to Em and I liked their bond, they could relate to each other. He was quite humorous and I loved it about him. I definitely loved the fact that they were responsible and took it upon themselves to solve the murder mystery.

Tommy’s brother was another character I liked, he was really funny and a good brother. I really felt angry towards Em’s family, not only she had to face her bitchy classmates who always made fun of her but she had no peace at her home as well. Her sister was quite psychotic, I understood her reasoning for following her everywhere but it definitely crossed the line and what kind of mother was that, she didn’t trust Em ever, she was quite unemotional towards everything. And the doctor, he was really, really creepy.

Writing style-

The writing was quite simple and easy to read. I easily breezed through the book in two sittings, I loved the smooth flow of the dialogues. The pace was fast and even throughout the book and I completely loved it.

Overall-

Connected was a book that I enjoyed very much. I liked the plot which was fresh and the characters were relatable. The budding romance between Tommy and Em was really sweet. The writing was simple and smooth and the pace was pretty fast. There was not even a single dull moment in this book and the mystery kept me on my toes. The last portion was really thrilling but the book ended on a cliffhanger and I’m dying to know what happens next, hopefully the second book will be released within next year.

Recommend it?

Yes.


So guys, have you read Connected yet? If you have, did you love it or hate it? And if you haven’t, are you planning to read it soon? Share your thoughts with me!

2 thoughts on “Review: Connected by Kat Stiles

Leave a Reply

