ARC Review: Shattered Blue by Lauren Bird Horowitz

25953603Author: Lauren Bird Horowitz

Tittle: Shattered Blue

Series: The Light Trilogy, book 1

Genre: Fantasy, Romance, [Young-Adult]

Page count and format: 336 pages, Ebook

Expected publication: September 15th 2015 by Skyscape

Source: I received an eARC of this book from Skyscape and Two Lions via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: PicsArt_1431077886446


Blurb (from Goodreads):

For Noa and Callum, being together is dangerous, even deadly. From the start, sixteen-year-old Noa senses that the mysterious transfer student to her Monterey boarding school is different. Callum unnerves and intrigues her, and even as she struggles through family tragedy, she’s irresistibly drawn to him. Soon they are bound by his deepest secret: Callum is Fae, banished from another world after a loss hauntingly similar to her own.

But in Noa’s world, Callum needs a special human energy, Light, to survive; his body steals it through touch—or a kiss. And Callum’s not the only Fae on the hunt. When Callum is taken, Noa must decide: Will she sacrifice everything to save him? Even if it means learning their love may not be what she thought?


PicsArt_1433969528805

Shattered Blue was a book that had definitely some new and fresh elements. The cover is so gorgeous. The concept, the characters were very intriguing. However I didn’t fall in love it with it but I did enjoy it nonetheless.

Summary-

When Callum comes to Monterey boarding school, Noa feels immediately attracted to him. However she senses he’s different from the rest of them. They begin to grow close after Callum gives up resisting to stay away from Noa. He divulges the truth about his existence- that he’s a fae and he’s banished from his home dimension because he took the blame for his brother, Judah about their sister’s death. Judah mysteriously appears into their life without stating his actual reason of being here. It’s not long before Callum is captured by a hunter sent by their father and Noa and Judah set on the journey to find him. Bitter truths are revealed and a tragic incident occurs which spins their action into entirely something unpredictable.

Plot-

The plot was fresh and unique. I really enjoyed it. The concept about the faes was totally awsome and unique. They were divided into four colour categories- red, blue, green and clear, it was definitely something which intrigued me and made me want to find out more about them. I hadn’t read anything like this before. I loved the explanation that Callum gave of their realm and how things worked there. It made everything more clear to understand why and how things were going on. But something nagged me, I don’t know what but I always felt that something was missing. I enjoyed the romance between Callum and Noa though I felt it was a bit rushed, I understand it was necessary for the plot to move forward but it just escalated a bit too quickly. Nonetheless, I loved how things were executed, specially the last portion of the book where so many twists and turns were thrown into the way, it was literally awsome and jaw dropping.

Characters-

I liked the characters, they were intriguing but I had a hard time connecting with them. I didn’t feel much emotionally invested in them. Noa was a nice character, she was caring, passionate and a budding writer. Her love for her little sister Sasha, how she cared and worried about her, was the thing I loved the most about her. Sasha was totally adorable and definitely my favourite character, she was just so sweeeeet. I liked Callum, he was different, warm and caring. He went to great extent just to be with Noa but I did feel sad and angry because he was holding back so many secrets. Judah was a character I definitely favoured more than Callum. At first he seemed like a jerk but he was totally something else underneath, situations made him that way and I felt so bad for him. He already played an important role in this book, I know it’s going to be much more in the next book and I so want to read that. And yes there is a love triangle but it’s really well written, I can’t wait to know how it takes its next turn.

Writing style-

The writing was beautiful. It’s another of one of the main reason I liked this book. Though I felt that the pace was not even throughout the book, the story was slow at first and it took its time to pick up the pace which was a down factor for me. I had a difficult time to read a good number of pages at a time, I had to stop and take breaks and it took quite a number of sitting for me to finish this book though this drastically changed towards the last portion where I pretty much raced to finish it.

Overall-

This book was really intriguing, the plot was fresh and new and I enjoyed the concept very much, the characters were good but I had a hard time connecting with them. The writing was beautiful and the love triangle was handled really well. I loved how things were executed overall and the twists and turns really blew my mind. I definitely want to continue this series and see how everything goes, specially after how everything ended in a cliffhanger. I can’t wait to read the next book.

Recommend it?

Yes if you like slow but an intriguing storyline with great twists and turns.


So guys, heard about this book yet? Is this already in your tbr? Can’t wait to read it? Share your thoughts with me!

9 thoughts on “ARC Review: Shattered Blue by Lauren Bird Horowitz

  1. I was really bored with this book for 50% of it because it is so slow! I had to read it in spurts because it is just so long! And it’s a shame because I liked the concept and the faerie world and wanted to like it so much!

    I couldn’t connect with the leads, though I really like Judah. The romance was fast but I think I like the direction it is going to go in.

    And that ending though…I wasn’t going to pick up the sequel until those last few pages. Now I’m intrigued 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome review! Yes! The pace in the beginning almost made me DNF it. I had to take so many breaks like you did haha. I think you enjoyed Callum and Noa’s romance more than I did — I agree though that it went too fast. The love triangle was something I wasn’t expecting to happen! I didn’t think that Judah would fall for her and when he chose to save her instead of the ring *ugh*. Then in the end when he couldn’t read her mind and she couldn’t give him her Light, I was freaking out haha. I can’t wait to see what happens next and I hope to see more of Aurora!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

