Review: The Heartbreakers by Ali Novak

25266817Author: Ali Novak

Tittle: The Heartbreakers

Series: The Heartbreaker Chronicles, book 1 [Can be read as a standalone]

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, [Young-Adult]

Page count and format: 336 pages, Ebook

Published: August 4th 2015 by Sourcebooks Fire

Source: I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: PicsArt_1431077933984


Blurb (from Goodreads):

“When I met Oliver Perry, I had no clue he was the lead singer for The Heartbreakers. And he had no idea that I was the only girl in the world who hated his music.”

Stella will do anything for her sick sister, Cara—even stand in line for an autographed Heartbreakers CD…for four hours. She’s totally winning best birthday gift this year. At least she met a cute boy with soft brown hair and gorgeous blue eyes while getting her caffeine fix. Too bad she’ll never see him again.

Except, Stella’s life has suddenly turned into a cheesy love song. Because Starbucks Boy is Oliver Perry – lead singer for the Heartbreakers. And even after she calls his music crap, Oliver still gives Stella his phone number. And whispers quotes from her favorite Disney movie in her ear. OMG, what is her life?

But how can Stella even think about being with Oliver — dating and laughing and pulling pranks with the band — when her sister could be dying of cancer?


PicsArt_1433969528805

This book was sooo cute. At first I was confused whether to request it for review or not because of the mixed reviews in Goodreads. But then I put aside all my doubts and decided to see it for myself and I’m so glad I did, I absolutely enjoyed this heartwarming book which was filled with really awsome moments and great characters.

Summary-

Stella loves her sister, Cara very much, who’s going through a tough time because of her cancer. Due to this she couldn’t attend the concert of her favourite band- The Heartbreakers. Although Stella doesn’t like their music, she and her brother Drew decide to get their autograph as Cara’s birthday present. She didn’t know when she met a cute boy in Starbucks that he was the lead singer of The Heartbreakers and he, i.e. Oliver didn’t know she was the only girl who didn’t like their music. As Stella gets to know Oliver she realises he’s not bad at all but there’s always a “but.” She finds her questioning herself, will such a relationship with a famous person even possible, specially when her sister is fighting with cancer?

Plot-

I loved the plotline. It might be a little clichéd or cheesy but I enjoyed it very much nonetheless. The bond between the triplets- Stella, Cara and Drew were totally awsome, made me wish I had siblings like that who would do anything for each other. The family aspect was dealt very nicely in this book. Although the plot was not realistic at all, but that’s one of the soul reason I enjoyed it much more. C’mon a girl can dream right? Who doesn’t wish to meet someone famous in a coffee shop or Starbucks or like anywhere and when they seem to like you back, it’s a win-win. I think we all have dreamt about this every once in a while. *sighs* It was pretty much predictable how everything was going to go down but I loved how things were executed and handled perfectly.

Characters-

I pretty much loved all the characters in this book. They were different and each had their own unique personality. I liked Stella. Although she was pretty rude to the boys at first, her behaviour changed as she got to know them and she matured throughout the novel. She was childish at times but with a little push she knew how to correct her mistakes and move forward. She was witty and funny as well and I enjoyed the banters between her and Oliver. Oliver was a character I loved as well. He was impulsive, sweet and caring. It melted my heart when he did those small things for Stella which were really sweet gestures, he knew how to make his girl smile. He really did some stupid but when he stated the reasons, I understood but a little more communication would have solved their problem. But, nonetheless I loved their romance, it was really cute.

I really loved the rest of the boys in the band. Alec was the quite and shy type but he was a good listener. Xander was fun and caring but it was JJ who was my absolute favourite. He was flirty but really, really adorable. I fell in love with him and I can’t wait to hear his story. The boys were always team Stella and whenever Oliver did something stupid they would give him the cold shoulder. They sort of formed a big happy family. I really enjoyed their pranks and stuff, it was super fun to read about them.

Cara and Drew, Stella’s siblings were really nice and awsome characters as well, I loved them very much. Cara was everything for Stella but she knew her sickness shouldn’t be the reason to stop Stella from exploring her dreams. She gave the necessary push that was required for Stella to venture into a new adventure. Drew was a protective brother but not over possessive, he was loving, caring and a really sweet guy and was always there for his siblings.

Writing style-

The writing was simple and smooth. It was pretty easy to get into the story and I didn’t feel bored for even a second. It was a pretty entertaining read and I finished it in a few sittings. The pace was even throughout the story, though I did feel it slowed down a little during the middle but it picked up its pace quite soon. I was satisfied with the dialogues and the banters and the writing flowed quite smoothly.

Overall-

The Heartbreakers was really a good and interesting read. It was funny and light hearted, it was the perfect book I needed to read. It was fluffy and romantic as well. I loved the family and the friendship aspect this book beautifully portrayed. The plot was although a bit predictable but it was executed nicely. I enjoyed the characters very much, each of them were different and unique in their own way which made me fell in love with them. The writing was smooth and easy to read and the pace was even throughout the story. I’m really looking forward to read the rest of the books in this series.

Recommend it?

Yes if you enjoy cute, light-hearted and fluffy contemporary romance.


So guys, have you read this yet or are you planning to? Share your thoughts with me!

10 thoughts on “Review: The Heartbreakers by Ali Novak

  1. I’ve read quite a number of mixed reviews on this, but I’m still so compelled in picking this up especially after reading your review. Also, there’s just something about reading a character falling for a member of a boy band that’s so exciting. It must be the fangirl in me, haha. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed this, Poulami!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

