Review: The Ugly Stepsister by Aya Ling

UglyStepsisterAuthor: Aya Ling

Tittle: The Ugly Stepsister

Genre: Fantasy, Young-Adult

Page count and format: 245 pages, Ebook

Published: Published June 12th 2015

Source: I received a digital copy of this book from Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: PicsArt_1431077956882


Blurb (from Goodreads):

When Kat accidentally rips apart an old picture book, she’s magically transported into the world of Cinderella–as Katriona, one of the ugly stepsisters! Life turns upside down now that she’s a highborn lady and must learn how to survive the social season, including how to get through the door in a huge metal hoop skirt. To get back, she’ll have to complete the story, right to the end of happily ever after. But the odds are huge: the other stepsister is drop-dead gorgeous, the fairy godmother is nowhere to be found, and the prince, despite being insanely hot, openly dislikes balls. Can she ever return to the modern world?


PicsArt_1433969528805

This book was hilarious and literally awsome! I think it’s one of the best retelling I’ve ever read. The concept is fresh and unique, I fell in love with the characters specially the protagonist Kat and the way everything was executed left me satisfied till the very end.

Summary– The story is a retelling of Cinderella. It’s about a girl named Kat who one day while cleaning her attic rips apart an old picture book of Cinderella and finds herself transported to the story world and wakes up in the body of one of the ugly stepsister known as Katriona Bradshaw. There she finds out from the goblin named Krev that she must complete the story till the happily ever after in order to go back to her own world. But problems are inevitable when she finds falling for the prince herself.

Plot– The plot was definitely my favourite, the author spinned the tale into something entirely different and the twists and turns never stopped to surprise me. There were so many hilarious moments, (I must tell you she loved to trip) and I ended up laughing like an idiot. The concept was breathtakingly fresh and I throughly enjoyed the ride. I liked the setting and Kat was thrown totally into a new era where she had to learn how to do everything people did during that time, it was definitely fun to see her adjust everything and even control her modern language. I didn’t expect the final twist, it was definitely surprising but I loved it. The ending was bitter-sweet and I was afraid I won’t like it but in the end I was satisfied.

CharactersI loved the characters! Kat was my favourite. She’s a hardcore bookworm and loves to read all day and get lost in the imaginery places, (Fortunately it actually happens in real for her!) and she totally loses the function of speech when she meets cute boys. But after she emerges from the story world she is a fully different person, she’s more mature, confident and capable of handling things herself. I loved her effort that she showed in the story world to improve the condition of the working class children. Her character just touched my heart, she was so good-hearted and brave. She definitely earned a spot in my list of favourite characters. Edward, the prince was another character I liked. He was a good person at heart and definitely not spoilt nor a rich brat. Instead he was caring and understanding. No wonder he fell for Kat because she was different from the others (obviously!) and was not the one throwing herself at him at every chance she got like the others. I liked the romance between Kat and Edward, though it didn’t play a major factor but I was satisfied with it.

So perhaps you guys are wondering, how come I am not say anything about Cinderella when it’s a retelling of that story. Basically because the author does start off with the tale of Cinderella but transforms it into something fully different. But of course she’s present. She’s a servant girl, timid and mostly keeps to herself. She’s caring and sweet. I liked the backstory and the twist the author introduced for her character. I hated the stepmother and the other stepsister, Bianca very much, they were rude and simply worthless human beings! Krev, the goblin was a funny character, I definitely liked him, though he showed he was enjoying the show but I could feel his concern for Kat which was really sweet.

Writing style– The writing was simple and beautiful. It flowed smoothly and I loved how the dialogues flowed out. The pace was fast and I didn’t feel bored for even a second. I loved the action, the interaction between the characters, I simply loved how everything was executed in a neat and perfect way.

Overall– The plot was incredibly awsome, fresh and unique, the setting was beautiful. The twists and turns were intersting to read. I adored the characters, specially Kat. And the writing style was smooth and beautiful. I easily breezed through the book in two sittings. The Ugly Stepsister is definitely one of my new favourites this year.

Recommend it?

ABSOLUTELY if you like retellings with a twist, a fresh plot, unique execution with a little less romance.


So guys, have you read this awsome book yet? If not, you definitely need to grab your copy and enjoy the ride? Already read it? Did you love it or hate it? Share your thoughts with me!

6 thoughts on “Review: The Ugly Stepsister by Aya Ling

  1. Pingback: Review: Princess of Athelia by Aya Ling | Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

