Review: Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

8490112Author: Laini Taylor

Tittle: Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Series: Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy, book 1

Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Young-Adult

Page count and format: 391 pages, Ebook

Published: September 27th 2011 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (first published September 2011)

Source: Purchased

My rating: PicsArt_1431077933984


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grows dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”, she speaks many languages – not all of them human – and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When beautiful, haunted Akiva fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?


PicsArt_1433969528805

I had read positive and negative reviews of this book, so I didn’t know what to feel. I went into this book keeping a neutral felling overall. And I’m so glad I read this book, I absolutely fell in love with it. I read this as a buddy read or read along hosted by me and Tasha @Head In The Cloud, Heart In The Books from 15th to 31st July.

“Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love. It did not end well.”

This book captivated my attention from the very beginning. The setting, the plot, the characters were simply incredible and it took me to a whole new world of experience. And that ending, oh my god, it totally broke my heart.

The story revolves around a girl named Karou. She is an art student in Prague, she is anything but normal. She works or specifically runs “errands” for Brimstone, who is not a being of this world. She longs to find about her original identity, about who she is but Brimstone never reveals the truth. She always travels through portals. One day during one of her errands, a mysterious winged stranger tries to kill her and she finally manages to escape but returns to find the shop burned and empty and a black handprint on the door in the portal. She becomes devastated and finally she confronts the angel named Akiva and she feels a bond between them. They develop a relationship which quickly becomes something much more than friendship. But when the truth comes crashing down, it threatens to break everything between Karou and Akiva.

The plot was incredible, I really haven’t read anything like this before. Everything was executed so amazingly. The setting was so good. I have never been to Prague but after reading this book I feel like I have. There, as well as Morocco and the worlds of the angels and chimaeras. Every place was so detailed and wonderfully described. The mysterious aspect was so well maintained, I was dying to know the truth and what happened next. It was really impossible to stop reading this book, specially after Akiva entered the scene and very slowly the mysteries began to unravel. The plot twist was great as well. At first I guessed it, then I thought it couldn’t happen but that’s exactly what happened and I was like whaaaat!

“Wishes are false. Hope is true. Hope makes its own magic.”

The characters were another favourite aspect I loved in this book. Each character is unique in its own way, and they are portrayed so wonderfully. I loved Karou, she was fierce, strong, passionate about what she does and brave but she was lonely at the same time. Akiva was someone I immediately felt attracted to. He was dangerous, sexy and caring and sweet at the same time. He had that mysterious aura around him and I longed to find out more about him. When these two meet each other, it’s from that point onwards that the story really began and everything became much more intersting.

I liked Karou’s best friend, Zuzana. She was really good at heart and cared about Karou and after an incident she belived her as well. I felt Kishmish (Kishmish is known as raisins in the Bengali language, and I kept imagining this creature as a raisin! 😛 ) was weirdly cute. And although Brimstone was someone very scary but I felt from the beginning that he was a good person, not entire evil at heart. Issa or the snake lady was kinda scary as well but I liked her. As I said earlier all the characters were unique in their own way.

The writing was gorgeous and smooth. I really enjoyed the vivid descriptions and details of all the things. The author’s imagination is astounding, the world and the characters she created were amazing! Though at first I did feel a little bored but as soon as Akiva entered the scene I was practically racing through the book.

Overall, the plot was something fresh and different from anything I’ve ever read. The characters were unique in their own awsome way. The romance was beautiful. I didn’t feel that it was an insta-love situation because I understood that there was a lot more going on, their relationship was much more than normal. And the writing was descriptive and smooth. Once the mysteries began to unravel I couldn’t stop myself from reading this book. I really can’t wait to reas the next book in this series.

Recommend it?

ABSOLUTELY YES. This book is definitely worth the hype and an amazingly written fantasy.


So guys, have you read this amazing book yet? Liked it? Hated it? Or are you planning to read it soon? Share your thoughts with me!

16 thoughts on “Review: Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

  1. I agree with ravenblake99. I liked Daughter of Smoke and Bone, but the next two didn’t live up to it. I’m still glad I started the series. It was a beautiful concept and Laini Taylor has a great writing style.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was one of those people who didn’t totally love this book. I had been dying to read it for years and I just felt so let down.

    I enjoyed the premise but it was far too long for me and I needed that little umph of excitement. I’m curious about the rest of the series but I’m undecided about reading it or not. Maybe I’ll read them a little bit at a time.

    I hope you enjoy the sequels!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, I do hope you like the next book. Yes, I do agree it was long, I felt it dragged on a bit in the beginning before picking up its speed. But I think you should give the other books a chance as well. Maybe they might surprise you…. or not, but you have to read it to find out! 😉

      I really hope so ! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I had the same feeling as Constance at first. I thought the book is quite “strange”. But it’s the reason I’m in love with it now. It has that very irresistible unique side.
    I hope you enjoy the next books too! Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great review! I bought this a few days ago, so I’m really excited to read it. The cover is so pretty too, so I hope I enjoy it as much as you did. I’m usually quite good at persevering through a slow book (especially if I’ve bought it myself), so I’m hoping I’ll be able to get through to the good bits 🙂

    ~Denise @ The Bibliolater

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I used to be really into books that had angels when I was in my Hush, Hush/Unearthly/Fallen phase. Now looking back I think the only one that was really unique and worth rereading someday is Unearthly. So with my reading past with angels, I knew I had to pick Daughter of Smoke and Bone up someday. I did see the buddy read posts you and Tasha had up, but unfortunately I couldn’t join in because of my schedule and the fact that I don’t own this book yet. Anyway, I’m so glad you’re part of the group that enjoyed this! By the way, I love your new display picture, Poulami! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: The Creative Blogger Award & The Summer Reader Book Tag!

Leave a Reply

