Review: Dismissed by Kirsty McManus

25440825Author: Kirsty McManus

Tittle: Dismissed

Standalone

Genre: Contemporary, Young-Adult

Page count and format: 166 pages, Ebook

Published: April 28th 2015 (first published April 27th 2015)

Source: I received a digital copy of this book from Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: PicsArt_1431077840340


Blurb (from Goodreads):

The second Lizzie White lays eyes on her new English teacher Brandon Thomas, she is hooked. Brandon is young, cool and sexy – and nothing like the other teachers at her school. But of course he is forbidden from fraternising with the students or forming any sort out of outside hours relationship. And combined with the fact that Lizzie’s best friend Taylor declared her feelings for Brandon first (and has therefore claimed theoretical ownership), Lizzie decides it’s all too hard and focuses on a budding relationship with fellow student and class clown Gabe instead. But then Jason shows up. Jason is Brandon’s trouble-making twin brother who seems to have no qualms about flirting with students or leaving a trail of broken hearts wherever he goes. Before she knows it, Lizzie is dragged into a confusing world of blurred lines and lustful thoughts, where loyalties are tested and true feelings are explored.


PicsArt_1433969528805

I really, really hate giving a low rating to a book, but I had no choice here. There was nothing in this book that could hold my attention. Thankfully it was short enough so I finished it easily but I was thinking something’s going to happen now but nothing exiting ever happened. I really thought I was going to enjoy this book but it ended up being dull and boring. The plot felt flat for me and the characters were somewhat okay, sometimes even too irritating, that’s why Dismissed was a huge dissapointment for me.

The story revolves around a girl named Lizzie who is always overshadows by her best friend Taylor. A new teacher called Brandon comes to their high school to teach them English and he is gorgeously handsome. As Taylor announces to Lizzie that she is in love with Brandon and she is going to make him his, Lizzie keeps her dreams aside but she can’t help but like him. Plot twist occurs when they find out he has a twin brother named Jason and they are in a band together. Taylor decides she is going to go for Jason instead and things become too messy and complicated which threatens to destroy the reputation of Lizzie and Brandon.

I read the blurb and thought that there was going to be some epic forbidden romance between Lizzie and the teacher, Brandon. You guys know that I am a sucker for forbidden romance. Unfortunately nothing ever happened in the plot overall. It just felt flat for me. These two people, Lizzie and Brandon fall in love with each other without even a minimum communication between them. They barely communicated, other than what the strictly teacher student relationship required and it is expected to believe that they somehow fell in love. There was not a bit of realistic factor in this book which really enraged me. Like I said earlier, particularly nothing happened to keep me hooked.

I didn’t like much the characters either. Yes, Lizzie was sensible but she barely stood up to her best friend, Taylor. But I did like it when she finally stood up for herself. I didn’t know why she even stuck with a shallow person like that. But nonetheless I could somewhat understand the situation cause I had a similar friend like this in school and I’m really relieved I don’t have to see her anymore in my life. (I consider that as a dark phase in my life!) Taylor was really so irritating, I felt like closing this books because of her, I really wanted to strangle her. Basically I just hated this character. Brandon was the only sensible person in this whole book but this is also the reason nothing romantic ever happened between him and Lizzie. Jason, his twin brother was another nuisance in this book but he laters comes out as a good character. So, basically I had a hard time connecting with the characters and I didn’t root for any of them.

The writing was smooth. I did like how the dialogues flowed out. The pace was even throughout the book and that’s why I was able to finish this book very fast.

Overall, I am disappointed with this book. I expected a lot of action, secrets, going behind the back, massive betrays and most importantly epic forbidden romance. Nothing of this sort ever happened in this book. The plot felt flat for me and the characters didn’t manage to hold my attention. Only the writing was smooth and the pages easily flew by easily.

Recommend it?

I don’t think so.


So guys have you been dismissed yet? Loved this book or hated it? Share your thoughts with me.

4 thoughts on “Review: Dismissed by Kirsty McManus

  1. Great Review! I’m glad you’ve felt the same way too! I’ve also expected it to be some sweet forbidden romance but what I’ve got was totally disappointing and the plot was so dull that made me regret picking this up. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

