Review: Seeker by Amy Reece

25457062Author: Amy Reece

Tittle: Seeker

Series: The Seeker series, book 1

Genre: Paranormal, Romance, Young-Adult

Page count and format: 164 pages, Ebook

Published: April 28th 2015 by Limitless Publishing

Source: I received a digital copy of this book from the author via Goodreads in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: PicsArt_1431077933984


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Ally Moran has always just known about things—things she shouldn’t really be able to know…

Suddenly when she starts having vivid visions about a former friend who is in desperate trouble, the adults in her life think she might hold the key to an ancient mystery.

Jack Ruiz has a troubled past, but is trying to make a fresh start at a new high school…

He just wants to keep his head down and graduate, hopefully before he turns 20. The last thing he needs is to get involved with a feisty redhead and her psychic visions.

While Jack valiantly attempts to keep Ally at arm’s length, she is equally determined to be a part of his life. Who will win this battle of wills?

More importantly…

Can this unlikely couple work together to find answers to Ally’s visions before someone gets killed?


PicsArt_1433969528805

I liked this book. Though I hate comparisons but the plot line was similar to that of Fire in Frost by Alicia Rades (you can read my review here). But I liked this a lot better than that, the characters were developed and handled maturely, the plot was neatly executed by keeping things interesting and I liked the pace which is even throughout the book.

The story is about a girl named Ally. She knew her family was different from the others but she didn’t want those different qualities to pass on her. She discovers that she has the ability to have visions about the past. Later she discovers she can glimpse the future as well. From her visions she understands that one of her former friend, Victoria is pregnant and she is being abused time and again. At first she is reluctant to do anything about that but finally she understands that she needs to help Victoria whether she is her friend or not because the situation is getting worse.

The plot was good, neatly executed but a bit predictable. Though I wanted a lot more explanation about her family history, a little is given. But I guess we will learn more about her powers and stuff in the next book because she is apparently one was the strongest Seer anyone has ever seen and when this is discovered by one of her grandmother’s friend, they decide to take her to the high council. Unfortunately the book ends here but I’m very exited to know what happens next. But overall, things were kept intersting enough and I was hooked from the beginning. Though I would have liked if there was bit more focus on finding the abuser and something to help the victim rather than the romantic aspect, though I’m not saying it’s a bad thing, it would have been nice and solid if that was the minor factor.

The characters were pretty good though sometimes Ally was whiny and irritating. But it is understandable since she didn’t want to accept the fact that she was different, she just wanted a normal life and she was not given a choice. I really would have liked if she made a greater effort to help Victoria. This is the only thing that I disliked about this book. Whereas Crystal in Fire in Frost was completely devoted to help the victim at all cost, I don’t think Ally tried that much here. Other than that she a was good character. I liked Jack very much. He was sweet and caring and harboured a crush on Ally though they never spoke until until she had a vision in class and nearly fainted. She later shared her secret with him and without running away or freaking out as Ally thought he would do, he actually believed and supported her. He had a past that he wanted to forget and that’s why he tried to stay away from Ally but that didn’t happen. They feel hard and fast for each other. I definitely liked the romance between these two.

I liked Ally’s best friend, she knew all her secrets and was really supportive of her. And I really felt bad for Victoria, she didn’t have a way out and was constantly abused. Things got a bit violent towards the end before they finally caught the guy responsible for everything. I really liked how bravely Ally acted at that time, without thinking about the consequences, she went straight inside the den to save Victoria.

The writing was smooth and easy to read. I definitely liked it. The pace was fast and I never felt bored for a second.. Once I got into the story it was hard to keep it down and it didn’t take much time for me to finish it.

Overall, the plot was good, the characters had their fair share of faults but they were great nonetheless. The romance was good though I would have loved if the major focus was on finding the guy responsible for abusing Victoria. Other than this factor, I really enjoyed reading this book, it was really good and I specially loved how everything was executed.

Recommend it?

Yes.


So guys have to read this book yet? Liked it? Loved it? Hated it? Or are you planning to read this? Share your thoughts with me!

4 thoughts on “Review: Seeker by Amy Reece

Leave a Reply

