Review: The Way to Never by O.E. Boroni

25584641Author: O.E. Boroni

Tittle: The Way to Never

Series: The Never trilogy, book 2

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Adult

Page count and format: 204 pages, Ebook

Published: July 25th 2015 by Waves Corporation

Source: I received a digital copy of this book from the author via Goodreads in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: PicsArt_1431077933984


Blurb (from Goodreads):

When falling out of love, refuses to become an option…

Nathan Roque first met Lenora Baker, a beautiful, exasperating, and bitter girl when she was just fifteen years old. He fell so deeply in love with her that he suspected that in his lifetime, nothing else could ever mirror the kind of commitment that she drew out of him. But she is left heartbroken when an unfortunate incident drives them apart.

Thirteen years later, he sets out to reach out to her when he can no longer resist the consuming thoughts of her that have haunted him for so long. However, the same demons that caused him to let go of her in the first place are still holding him back. But when he is thrust into a situation where he has no choice but to become professionally involved with her, a Pandora’s Box of angst, resentment, and passion is unleashed.

Now they are forced to make the decision on how to proceed. But will it justify the one that they made in the past, or will it mock it?


PicsArt_1433969528805

You can read my review for book 1, The Beginning of Never here.

Another huge cliffhanger at the end just like the previous book in this trilogy, i.e. The Beginning of Never. I must say, the author definitely loves cliffhangers but it’s really, really painful for the readers. I mean, I don’t know how I’m going to survive before the conclusion or the last book comes out. This is really so difficult. Now I should just try writing the review otherwise I will keep saying this again and again.

The story takes place after 13 years since Nathan and Lenora first met. Yes, you heard me right, there was a freaking 13 years gap. So, they are all adults now with good jobs and finally due to one work project they are forced to work together and they finally meet after this very long period. They try to maintain a strictly professional relationship but it isn’t possible to stay away from your first love, specially when Nathan wants Lenora back in his life and the situation become majorly complicated because she is already engaged.

The plot was… well complicated, not like the first one but was still somewhat. The actions of Lenora and Nathan was what made it complicated. Lenora wanted answers but when they met she just couldn’t bring herself to ask about it. She knew she still loved Nathan but she was so stubborn to accept the fact which made me very angry. Everything could have been solved if they actually acted like adults and accepted that they are meant for each other. I definitely wanted Nathan to fight a bit more for her but he didn’t want to create new problems for her seeing that she already moved on in her life. But staying away from each other wasn’t possible for them either, the chemistry and attraction between them was undeniable.

Which brings me to my next point, the characters. I definitely liked Lenora. She was that same old stubborn self. But like I said everything would have been less complicated if she would have just accepted that Nathan was the one for her not her fiancé Damain. I didn’t like this Damain guy a bit, frankly my first thought about him was that I wanted to hit him with a fry pan! He was so insensitive and selfish, he was the reason the accident happened in the first place which had serious consequences for Lenora but for him work was always his first priority, plus he was a jealous freak. I hated the way he acted towards Nathan. Nathan on the other hand took great care of Lenora. He was there for her every single time, he wanted to make up for the lost time and the way he took care of her melted my heart and my anger towards him slowly faded away. I specially loved her friends, there were some old and new faces but all of them totally rocked, I loved how they constantly remained beside Lenora and were her support system.

The romance level was however low but the attraction between them was crackling. I definitely wanted her to break everything off with Damain and go for Nathan but I liked how she was loyal to Damain. That made me respect her more. Although Nathan and Lenora did share a few passionate kisses. I was worried that nothing was going to happen at first, it was over 70% and I was thinking that will there not be one kiss at all and then suddenly in the next line they were kissing. What a happy coincidence! 😀

The writing was simple and smooth. I loved how the author executed everything but that cliffhanger, it will kill me! But I did feel like this book was a bit slow, the plot was lacking action. The first book was an emotional roller coaster and I was rushing off to finish it. I didn’t feel that rush in this book. I would have loved if there were a few more things happening, other than that I don’t have any complain about this book.

Overall, the plot was good but a bit complicated due to the characters who I definitely loved once more in this book. I needed a bit more romance but I wasn’t entirely dissapointed because those kisses they shared were really steamy. And the writing was smooth. I for one, can’t wait to read the conclusion of this trilogy and get back to these awsome characters.

Recommend it?

If you loved the first book, then you should read this one because the conclusion is defining going to be intersting.


So guys, read this one yet? Liked it? Hated it? Share your thoughts with me!

4 thoughts on “Review: The Way to Never by O.E. Boroni

Leave a Reply

