Daydreaming Discussions- Are you a Book Sniffer?

PicsArt_1462280909889

Hey there guys! Welcome to Daydreaming Discussions. This is a monthly feature created by me where I discuss anything bookish related or sometimes it might be about any non-bookish things as well. Also be prepared for a lot of ramblings and rantings and you’re very welcome to be a part of the discussion.

Hello to all the book sniffers out there. Uh…I mean book lovers. Hope you all are having a great day! Let’s get on with today’s topic, shall we…

Today I wanted to talk about my bookish ritual: Book Sniffing! πŸ˜›

I know it’s a funny topic, but it’s something I love.Β I don’t know when I actually started this, but I think I do it since forever, since they just smell so delicious.

Well, definitely not all books smell awsome, but those which do, I can keep smelling them all day, the smell is just so addicting. And I’ve to tell you, books from Amazon smells really great because all the books I’ve buyed from there haven’t dissapointed in quality or smell. I love that. I even smell all my text books as well. Yeah, I know I know, I’m sorta, okay maybe a lot, obsessed. πŸ˜€

When a new book arrives, like all book nerds out there, I can’t simply wait to open the package and take it out. Once I carefully cut the package out and take the glorious book in my hands, the first thing I do is open up the pages and sniff it, unashamed. πŸ˜› I don’t think I give a care in the world even when I’m outside, and I’m like this:

57bd705a93525858fd1663ade8c14c50

Is this normal? Uh, a big yes for me! I sure loooove sniffing books. I really wish there were perfumes available that would smell like books. It would literally be awsome.

But some books which have been kept at a place for a long time, specially in a damp place can hamper the beautiful smell. Of course we treat our books like our babies, but nonetheless we shouldn’t forget to take special care to preserve the beautiful smell as well by keeping it clean, free from dust and away from damp places.

Another thing, that’s a no no while sniffing books, definitely don’t wear lipstick while doing that, you don’t want anything to happen to your precious baby, do you?

Uh.. I can’t think of anything else right now. I tried to write this for the whole day but I’ve so sick I couldn’t get a single word out but finally I did a little.

So guys, do you like sniffing your books? Do you do it occasionally or always when you get a book in your hand? Or do you never do it? And if you do, do you (unashamedly) smell books in public like me or like to keep it a private affair? πŸ˜›

12 thoughts on “Daydreaming Discussions- Are you a Book Sniffer?

  1. I love love love sniffing books! Old books, new books, storybooks, school books… just about everything. They all smell differently. New books have this fresh paper smell to them while old books smell like memories… (I know I sound a bit weird right now but that’s just how I feel) and I love them all.
    I usually tend to keep the sniffing a ‘private affair’, as you put it. But with new books, I’m pretty shameless. πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LOL. Oh, Poulami. This may be an unpopular bookworm opinion but I just don’t sniff books. Like I don’t have anything against readers that have that prereading (or I guess, all-time for some folks) ritual. Then again smell isn’t one of my favorite sensory perceptions, though I would hate to not be able to smell. Visuals are much more important and I can say that covers make a huge difference for me-but I guess for most readers. I won’t go into too much detail because I’ll save that when you make a Daydreaming Discussions about that! As I’ve been saying in each of my comments: love this series, Poulami! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

