Review: Beyond Reach by Siobhan Davis

BEYOND-REACH-web-view-6.01Author: Siobhan Davis

Tittle: Beyond Reach

Series: True Calling series, book 2

Genre: Sci-fi, Dystopia, Romance, Young-Adult

Page count and format: 263 pages, Ebook

Published: May 18th 2015 by Createspace (first published April 30th 2015)

Source: I received a digital copy of this book from the author via Goodreads in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: PicsArt_1431077933984


Blurb (from Goodreads):

SOME SECRETS ARE WORTH FIGHTING FOR.

Back on Earth, Ariana is caught in a dangerous crossfire between clandestine rebel organization Clementia and the power-hungry government. Refusing to divulge the location of the secret information entrusted to her by her late father, she desperately tries to bargain for her Mom, Lily, and Cal’s rescue. She’s fighting a losing battle, and the clock is ticking.

Presented with evidence of her fiancé Cal’s apparent betrayal, she loyally defends him despite her concerns. With her emotions in turmoil, matters become even more complicated as she grows closer to her ex-boyfriend Zane.

When the stakes are raised, a succession of shocking revelations rocks her world, setting her on a path that will not only change her destiny but the fate of humanity.

Confronted by a memory so abhorrent comes a truth she would do anything to forget.

But some things just can’t be undone.


PicsArt_1433969528805

I loved this book! Something always felt missing in the first book but that gap was fulfilled here. There was a massive amount of improvement in this book from every corner. But oh! that cliffhanger at the end, it will kill me!

The plot was intersting as usual. This book starts when they are already on earth after Zane’s rescue mission to Novo. But they couldn’t bring back Cal, Ariana’s mom and sister with them. After see a video of Cal with the President, Ari begins to question her trust although she vehemently defies everything said against him but the seed of doubt is planted in her mind. As a result she begins to grow close to Zane which results in a lot of conflicting emtions.

I liked Ariana’s character better in this book. She seemed a bit more mature. I desperately wanted her to choose Zane but she stayed loyal towards Cal. I really loved Zane’s POV in this book. So many things are explained in details here. But at a point it was frustrating, I wanted Zane to move on from Ari. According to me, I think Isla would have been actually a great choice for him because she genuinely cares and loves him. Her outbursts towards Ari was quite natural as well because she didn’t want to loose the one person she considered her friend and family. And Cal, although goes through a temporary phase of amnesia, he doesn’t stop loving Ari. It was sweet but I just didn’t like them together, but that’s just my opinion.

Lots of twists and turns are introduced in this book which was pretty awsome. But there are so many questions that I need answers to, I know they are finally going to be delivered in the final and the third book but it’s hard to keep on waiting. It was getting really interesting. Also, we get to know more about Clementia, the underground organization that’s fighting against the unfairness caused by the government of Planet Novo. But that’s not actually the truth and when the twist was revealed, I was pretty surprised and shocked. I definitely didn’t guess that.

I enjoyed the writing in this book. It felt that the author was now more comfortable with her characters. The showing and the telling seemed pretty balanced in this book.

Overall, I enjoyed this book pretty much. There was a lot of character development, the plot was brilliantly handled and the pace was fast paced. It kept me on the edge from the beginning. Seriously the cliffhanger at the end will be the death of me. I can’t wait to read the conclusion of this trilogy!

Recommend it?

Most definitely yes.


So guys, have you started this one yet? If not you reeeeally need to. Share your thoughts with me!.

10 thoughts on “Review: Beyond Reach by Siobhan Davis

  1. Great Review =). I actually like Ari and Cal together and Zane should stay with Isla. She really cares about him and I think that way more than Ari. After that cliffhanger I need Destiny Rising as soon as possible but I still have other things to read before.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Review: True Calling- The Short Story Collection by Siobhan Davis

Leave a Reply

