Daydreaming Discussions- Why book bashing should be stopped

PicsArt_1462280909889

Hey there guys! Welcome to Daydreaming Discussions. This is a monthly feature created by me where I discuss anything bookish related or sometimes it might be about any non-bookish things as well. Also be prepared for a lot of ramblings and rantings and you’re very welcome to be a part of the discussion.

Today I wanted to discuss about the “book bashing” stuff.

This topic actually came to my mind when E.L James announced her release of her new book Grey. The amount of people bashed about this book, really pissed me off. This was only one example but there are many other books that some people shamelessly bash about.

There’s a difference between critically pointing something out and bashing. I know a lot of people, I’m going to name only a few like- Analee @Book Snacks, Summer @Xingsings and Lauren @SERIESous Book Reviews in this blogging community whose reviews I love to read. You know why? Because these people know how to point out the things they don’t like about a particular book instead of bashing.

If we take Fifty Shades or Grey for example, of course your opinions might vary and just because you don’t like the erotica genre doesnโ€™t give you the right to simply bash about. I, for one don’t like this genre as well but I have read the first two books in this series. And honestly, I didn’t hate it, and the 2nd book was actually great. Plus there are people who love this genre and somebody has to write for those people, right? ๐Ÿ˜›

Yesterday when talking to Lauren we discussed an aspect of this. When everybody talks about a book being garbage, most of the people who have actually enjoyed the book think twice before freely talking about it. Because there’s this voice in the head which is afraid of being judged. Plus, bashing affects the opinions of people as well. Like when you bash about a book so badly and somebody might have picked up that book but because of that they decide not to without actually knowing if they might have actually enjoyed that book or not. ( I hope I’m making some sense here.)

I think everybody should keep in mind one thing that the author actually works very hard to write a book. And by no means can we disrespect that.

So, it’s a request to everybody out there, if you do don’t like a book, state the facts why you didn’t like it instead of discouraging the author and simply bashing about it.


So guys what do you think about this topic? Do you agree with me or not? Share with me.

20 thoughts on “Daydreaming Discussions- Why book bashing should be stopped

  1. LOVE THIS!

    You’re so right: there is a HUGE difference between being critical and being just plain mean!

    Reading is so subjective and that’s the beauty of it! You can’t be expected to like everything you read, just like you can’t be expected to like everyone you meet. But just because you don’t mesh well with someone, it doesn’t mean you can be flat out rude and hurtful towards them! And I know books don’t have “feelings” but the people who read them do so it’s just common decency to think before you speak (or type in most cases)!

    Thanks so much for the very flattering compliment! I really enjoy reading your reviews as well and look forward to many more!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Meme-ful Musings: Critiqued for Your Reading Choices | SERIESous Book Reviews
  3. This is all of my feelings in a post way more expressive than I could have pulled off, I love this!
    I share your disappointment with people’s reactions to Grey and some of the terrible comments that came about with its release on social media. I’ve read the Fifty Shades trilogy and I thought the second and third books were quite good! I wish people would think, like you said, about how the author worked really hard on their books and the people who enjoy them should be treated with the same respect as everyone else. Thanks for this amazing discussion!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I completely agree with you.. I hate writing negative reviews and therefore I’ve never written a separate review for a book I didn’t love! I’m pretty sure no one gets up in the morning and decides, “Okay, lets write a bad book today”.. So there’s no point in book bashing. Doesn’t it seem impolite atleast?? If nothing else, berate the CHARACTERS in the book, why the author??
    And oh, I’m so tired of being judged when I say that the last two books of 50 shades weren’t really bad..*shakes head*

    Liked by 2 people

    • I absolutely hate that too. And when I do, I try to point out the facts why I didn’t like it.
      Exactly, why the author! I don’t understand the psychology of those people who shameless bash the book along with the author. Simply there’s no point.
      And yep, although I’ve read until the second one, I liked it and I will read the 3rd one eventually but some people just don’t understand, do they?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Exactly!!!!
        I personally found the 3rd book the best… ๐Ÿ˜Š
        People can have different opinions about books, I don’t understand the need to be so violent about their views.. *shakes head*

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I absolutely love this post, Poulami! ๐Ÿ˜€ By now you probably know that I don’t read erotica and don’t plan to (for now, that is). And I honestly don’t consider any writing to be “garbage” because reading is just so subjective. I feel like as long as a book allows some audience to love reading and enjoy it, it does its job as literature. Sure, some books are more well written than others but that doesn’t make the story itself bad for everyone. And it definitely doesn’t deserve hate. I never read 50 Shades but the backlash Grey is getting is too ridiculous. People that haven’t even given it a chance have been bashing the book and James. I never had plans of becoming an author, but I’m sure it sucks to read critical reviews on your book(s) (rejection just hurts) let alone ones that are purely just hateful.

    Again, lovely post Poulami! I always enjoy these discussions of yours! They manage to inspire me to try to create more creative content. I haven’t branched out with my blogging style (whatever that is) or made any discussion posts yet, but I hope to make some thought-proviking posts like yours (maybe someday–Colleen Hoover pun unintended). And thank you for mentioning me; it really made my day! T.T โค And Analee and Lauren are such sweet bloggers; I'm glad you brought them up as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Summer! ๐Ÿ™‚ Exactly my point, I find bashing to be completely pointless and baseless, it does more harm than good.

      I’m so glad I managed to inspire you. โค
      Hehe, no problemo! ๐Ÿ˜€ Yes indeed they are, I really love your blogs! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. This is a very late comment, sorry about that!

    Anyway, I totally agree!! Book bashing is terrible. I remember, several years ago, I was reading Twilight, but I wouldn’t read it in public for fear of people asking too many questions and making too many hateful comments like “Why are you reading THAT book?”, “Ew, Twilight sucks, how could you read that”, etc etc. And that is NOT right. No one should be ashamed of the books they read because of people who harshly bash a book that does not deserve to be bashed. No matter how much a person enjoys or doesn’t enjoy a book, no one should have the right to say hateful comments about it, even less so if they haven’t even read the book, such as in the case of some people with the Fifty Shades books. I myself haven’t read the books, nor do I have plans to in the near future, but I certainly don’t think they deserve such hate as they have been getting. It’s just not right, and so unfair to the author and the people who enjoy those books. Reading is quite subjective, so just because you didn’t enjoy a book doesn’t mean others won’t, and it certainly doesn’t give you the right to hate against it and/or the author. Like Sripurna mentioned, no one just wakes up one day and decided to write a bad book. Authors work hard on their books and when there are people out there who start hating on these books, not only is in discouraging, but hurtful as well, and people must realize the consequences of their book bashing, to not only authors, but other readers who might’ve enjoyed the book being bashed or to readers who have read and enjoyed the book.

    This is a super long comment, I hope you don’t mind! This is a great discussion post, Poulami, I absolutely love it! Thank you so much for writing this wonderful post. And also, thank you so much for the compliment! It made my day to see that someone enjoys my reviews. ๐Ÿ™‚ I can say the same for you in complete honesty; your reviews are always respectful to the author and written so nicely, tactfully including what you liked and disliked. โค
    Once again, great post!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hehe! No worries, I’m super glad you stopped by! ๐Ÿ˜€
      Exactly my point, I’m glad you agree. People should really be aware of this bashing stuff and seriously stop, I believe they are spreading a lot of negative energy as well! And yep, they should have some respect for the author no matter how much he/she dislikes their books!
      And no problemo! ๐Ÿ™‚ I only stated the truth. โค
      Thank you so much Analee, it really means a lot.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. well said! I hate it when people feel bad about reading a certain book. When they talk about the book they like that the majority don’t like (which isn’t very often because they’re afraid of being judged) they always buffer it by beginning with something like, “well i know this book isn’t great but..” I hear a lot of that when people talk about Twilight. If you like the book then you like it. It’s completely your opinion. own it. people aren’t all going to have the same taste with books (or anything really). I don’t like Fifty Shades of Grey and I have the right to my opinions but that doesn’t give me the right to talk nastily about the author and the people who read it.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Summer Says: All Things About ARCs (Well Sort Of) | xingsings
  9. Pingback: Daydreaming Discussions (7): Why it’s perfectly okay to be the black sheep in the bookish community. – Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

