Review: Legend by Marie Lu

PicsArt_1434913486829

15753977Author: Marie Lu

Tittle: Legend

Series: Legend, book 1

Genre: Dystopia, Young-Adult

Page count and format: 305 pages, Paperback

Published: April 16th 2013 by Speak (first published November 29th 2011)

Source: Purchased

My rating:Β PicsArt_1431077933984


Blurb (from Goodreads):

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross pathsβ€”until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.


PicsArt_1433969528805

This book was so great, the concept, the plot, the kickass characters, everything. It was unique and different. I’m glad I didn’t wait much longer and decided to buy this book the previous month.

The story is told from two alternating point-of-views of the two main protagonists- June, the prodigy of the Republic’s and Day, the notorious criminal who is extremely hard to catch. The plot was typical dystopian. The world is completely changed and a new government has taken over, and they may or may not have everyone’s best interest at heart. I would have loved it if there were a few explanations of the present situation. I hope some are given in the next book.

June didn’t have any personal grudge against Day but after his brother’s death, he is her number one target because she is told that Day killed her brother. She formulates a plan to capture Day and sets out on her mission. Finally their paths cross and the story takes a new turn. When they first met, they were both unaware of their real identities of each other. But it didn’t take long for June to find out the truth. One day she is kissing him back, the next day she is handing him over to the Republic, I felt so angry on her sometimes!

But nonetheless, I loved the characters. Both Day and June were smart and sassy. I didn’t mind their insta-attraction but what I didn’t like was the fact that their attraction was based on looks. But they fell for each other quite slowly. While staying with Day, he opened her eyes to a whole new world. It was the same one she was living in, but he lived in a part of it she didn’t know existed. There were also some characters that I wanted to punch so hard. Like Thomas and Commander Jamnson. Thomas was totally like a puppet, I was always suspicious of him and that sort of proved right towards the end. And I seriously wanted to strangle that commander.

I liked the idea of the Trial where the ones who score the highest gets admitted to the best universities and the ones who don’t have to live in poor conditions doing some pay jobs. And there is also this plague which is spreading in the lower slum sections. We find the truth that the Republics are behind this. But why do this? When they are already seperating the strong from weak, then why are they deliberately killing the weaker section of the society? Answers..answers..I need some answers, hopefully they will be given in the following books of this series.

The writing style is smooth and simple, the author painted a vivid description of the world she created. The pages flew by easily, I would have finished it in one sitting if it wouldn’t have 3am already, so I had to finish it up the next day.

The twists and turns were really great, I absolutely loved it. It kept me on the edge and I wanted to know what happened next so badly. It was action-packed which was another thing I loved. I can’t wait to read book 2 and find out what happened after they managed to escape from the Republic.

Recommend it?

If you love dystopia, then absolutely.


So guys have you read this one yet? Want to? Did you love it or was it just meh for you? Share it with me!

11 thoughts on “Review: Legend by Marie Lu

  1. I agree with everything you said. June and Day are both awesome, and although I’ve only read the first book (I’m just not being able to get my hands on the second one! :/ ), I ship them strongly. Although June seriously got me sooo frustrated with her sometimes…
    Commander Jameson got me all angry, but then I never trusted that person to have a heart. But Thomas, he got me furiously mad… like, I was all cursing in my room. Creeped my mom out in the middle of the night πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so happy you enjoyed this book! June and Day are one of my favorite couples, and I’m glad you like them as well. XD I hope you enjoy the next book! And I also hate Thomas and Commander Jameson, I swear my blood boils just thinking about them… πŸ˜‰ Great review, and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

