Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

 

16096824Author: Sarah J. Maas

Tittle: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses, book 1

Genre: Fantasy, Romance, In between Young-Adult and New-Adult

Page count and Format: 331 pages, Ebook

Published: May 5th 2015 by Bloomsbury Children’s

Source: Purchased

My rating: PicsArt_1444558511051


Blurb (from Goodreads):

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.


 

PicsArt_1443945753901

I read A Court of Thorns and Roses as a part of the read-along hosted by Josie’s Book Corner and Bibliophile Gathering. It is the first book I read by Sarah J. Maas and boy, I was completely blown by it, specially by her writing style. I regret that I didn’t read her books earlier but now I can’t wait to read the Throne of Glass series.

This book was epic. I haven’t read anything that dealt with faeries and this book executed them perfectly. It is a retelling of one of my favourite fairytale Beauty and the Beast. Sarah J. Mass made this into something completely unique and different but keeping the actual storyline in mind.

Feyre is a skilled hunter who hunts to keep her family from starving and one day she kills a wolf in the forest. She finds out that it was not any normal wolf, but actually a faerie and as a punishment from the faerie lord she is given two choices, either to be killed or to be taken to Prythian forever, the land of the faeries. She ultimately agrees to the latter proposal and as she starts living there she finds out the faeries are not that bad as she had thought and she begins to fall for Tamlin, the faerie lord but then everything turns upside down when she discovers about the curse and embarks a journey to save Tamlin from the vicious Amarantha.

I absolutely loved Feyre’s character. She is loyal, fierce, sassy and does everything to keep her family safe and surviving even though they don’t pay a heed to her at all. She hated everything at first in the faerie kingdom but slowly her opinions begin to change and she starts falling for Tamlin. At first their encounters were a bit awkward but totally cute and funny! I loved the romance that blossomed between these two, it was really good.

“Don’t feel bad for one moment about doing what brings you joy.”

I liked Tamlin, he was really really good but I didn’t exactly fall in love with him, instead I fell for the bad guy. *SIGHS* But well Tamlin was oh-so-gorgeous and I loved how he understood Feyre. His backstory was heartbreaking and I was glad that Lucien was with him in every step. He was Tamlin’s right hand and a very dear friend. I loved Feyre’s and Lucien’s relationship, they are completely BFF material.

I was confused what to feel about Rhysand at first but I did understand that he was going to have a very important role later on and I was proved right. I couldn’t help but fall for him, his character reminded me so much of Damon Salvatore from The Vampire Diaries (I’ve been in love with him since his very first scene in the show.) Yes, his way was wrong, how he handled things with Feyre but I firmly believe that he is going to redeem himself. Even Feyre acknowledged that he was only one who was keeping her intact when she was playing the dangerous game with Amarantha. I totally ship Feyre and Rhysand!

“When you healed my arm…You didn’t need to bargain with me. You could have demanded every single week of the year.” My brows knit together as he turned, already half-consumed by the dark. “Every single week, and I would have said yes.” It wasn’t entirely a question, but I needed the answer.
A half smile appeared on his sensuous lips. “I know,” he said, and vanished.”

Amarantha, oh how much I hated her. She was really shelfish and evil. I mean I understand the reason she became like this but still. The challenges she threw upon Feyre were really dangerous. The third and last challenge made me gasp because of the horrific nature of the task. Nesta was another person I didn’t like at first but when Feyre came back home, she was the only one who understood her. I really want to see more of her in the next book.

The writing style was the best thing about this book. I was completely mesmerised by the beautiful writing, how well the author could describe everything, even a tini-tiny thing was described beautifully with details.

All in all this book was definitely worth the read. I’m glad I didn’t wait to read this book, it was fast paced and it kept me at the edge from the very beginning. I definitely can’t wait to read the second book in this series.

Recommend it?

Oh, it’s a definite YES.


So guys, have you read this awsome book yet? Loved it? Hated it? Share it with me.

9 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: The Creative Blogger Award & The Summer Reader Book Tag!
  2. Pingback: Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
  3. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author.I will ensure that
    I bookmark your blog and definitely will come back in the foreseeable future.
    I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great job, have a nice weekend!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Review: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas || An Epic tale of politics, intrigue and romance |

Leave a Reply

