Review: Acqua Morta by Adam Bane

24662379Author: Adam Bane

Tittle: Acqua Morta

Series: Commissario Martelli, book 1. Can be read as a standalone.

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Page count and format: 314 pages, Ebook

Published: January 18th 2015

Source: I was provided an ebook by the author in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: PicsArt_1431077933984


Blurb (from Goodreads):

An electrifying thriller for fans of Harlan Coben and Michael Connelly.

Forced into retirement because of ill-health, Commissario Domenico Martelli is hired to investigate a grotesque and disturbing murder.
The case brings him into conflict with his former colleagues and into confrontation with a mysterious and devious killer.

Set in the breathtaking Ligurian countryside, ACQUA MORTA will keep you guessing until the very last page.


PicsArt_1433969528805

This book was indeed epic. I am a hardcore mystery/thriller fan and when I got the opportunity to read and review this book, I couldn’t pass it up and I’m so glad I didn’t, it was a hell of a ride.

“The hell is empty and all the devils are here.”

The plot was indeed very good. The dual setting is located in Italy and England. They are told in the alternate POVs of Martelli and Inspector Ted who are both investigating a crime in different countries which is actually linked.

The story starts off by giving us the horrific description of the murder that Martelli and his other officers are investigating. It is very graphically described which made me actually flinch by the gruesome and horrific manner of the murder and the vivid description of the dead body. It is also the last day of work for Commissario Martelli before his retirement. But after that day he gets an offer from the brother of the murdered to work as a private investigator and solve the crime. Although he is warned by his friend that it wouldn’t be intelligent thing to do but nonetheless he takes up the offer and from here onwards the actual journey begins.

This book is a little slow paced in comparison to the other mysteries and thrillers that I have read but it didn’t stop me from turning the pages to find out more and what was going to happen next. Everything is described vividly and graphically, specially the food made me very hungry and the description of all places made me want to visit those places immediately. But sometimes it felt a bit heavy and tedious but nonetheless I enjoyed it most of the times.

I loved the two main characters, they were different and unique in their own way. Other than that I loved the other characters as well, such as Commissario Martelli’s friends in the police department and Inspector Bracco. I wish we had seen a little more of Bracco, his dedication and commitment to his work and Martelli was impressive.

The mystery aspect of the book was really, really good. It kept me on the edge and made me guessing. In the last few chapters, I was completely left breathless. I was actually rushing to know what was going to happen next because the situation was really tensed, anything could have happened. And it did, I was so sad that we actually lost a character, I couldn’t believe it. I sort of guess who was the killer when I was nearing to the end and damn I was proved right! The killer was indeed a sociopath.

Acqua Morta is a book that will definitely take to to a hell of a ride and it will keep you guessing from the beginning till the very end. I can’t wait to read book 2 in this series.

Recommend it?

YES.

Leave a Reply

