Review: Not in the Script by Amy Finnegan

18480474Author: Amy Finnegan

Tittle: Not in the Script

Series: If Only series, book 3. Can be read as a standalone.

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Young-Adult

Page count and format: 384 pages, Paperback

Published: October 7th 2014 by Bloomsbury UK Children’s

Source: Purchased

My rating: PicsArt_1431077933984


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Millions of people witnessed Emma Taylor’s first kiss—a kiss that needed twelve takes and four camera angles to get right. After spending nearly all of her teen years performing on cue, Emma wonders if any part of her life is real anymore . . . particularly her relationships.

Jake Elliott’s face is on magazine ads around the world, but his lucrative modeling deals were a poor substitute for what he had to leave behind. Now acting is offering Jake everything he wants: close proximity to home; an opportunity to finally start school; and plenty of time with the smart and irresistible Emma Taylor . . . if she would just give him a chance.

When Jake takes Emma behind the scenes of his real life, she begins to see how genuine he is, but on-set relationships always end badly. Don’t they? Toss in Hollywood’s most notorious heartthrob and a resident diva who may or may not be as evil as she seems, and the production of Coyote Hills heats up in unexpected—and romantic—ways.

This novel in the deliciously fun If Only romance line proves that the best kinds of love stories don’t follow a script.


PicsArt_1433969528805

This book is just so adorable. I already purchased it a month ago but I had to stop myself from reading it due to my finals. And the very first thing after coming back home after my exams ended was to pick up this book. And I’m so glad I read this, it was totally awsome.

The plot was really good. The book is told from the alternative POVs of Emma and Jake. They are both casted in an upcoming television series, alongside another actor who Emma has had a crush on forever and a brand new Hollywood starlet. Emma already had a few bad experience of dating her co-stars which always ended in a disaster, that’s why she vowed not to fall for any of her co-stars again but as slowly slowly Jake and Emma’s friendship grows, she finds out its really hard not to like a guy like him but there’s also Emma’s best friend, who has always been a massive Jake (“the Bod”) fangirl. Not wanting to violate the girl code she tries her best to stay away from him… but in vain.

What I loved the most about this book were the characters. Emma is really likable as well as relatable, she is just like any other girl trying to live her life like a normal human being but it’s very difficult when you are a star. The paparazzi and media are always after some juicy gossip and they always make a mountain out of a mow hill. I liked that she was trying really hard to stay away from Jake because that would hurt her BFF but sometimes I was like Oh God just kiss him already! And Jake *SWOONS* is a kind of guy, that is really hard to come by in real life (I think guys I need to go on a world tour to find a guy like that!), there are more people like Brett than Jake. But well, he was charming without being cocky, he was always managed to make Emma laugh, he understood her and gave her the necessary space she wanted. I loved how the two characters fight for their feelings for each other and grow as a character at the same time. The way these two came together was indeed slow but it was fun to read.

The other characters were executed perfectly as well. Brett was sometimes intolerable, well most of the times but he was just like that. I was mostly confused what to feel about Kimmi, sometimes I liked her and sometimes I wanted to punch her but well what can I say, she is the best frenemy ever. And Emma’s BFF, I liked her at first but then she became quite irritating but I liked how everything turned out in the end.

Also, another thing I liked how Emma did not easily forgive Jake for misunderstanding her and he had to fight for her. The ending was soooo sweet. I was smiling like a damn fool. The romance was really cute and fluffy. I wish there was a little more built up between the two character but it was swoon worthy. Another aspect of Emma’s character that I absolutely loved was that she wanted to do something worthy for the people other than fulfilling her dream. That’s why she set up an organisation/foundation for disabled or sick people who were need of money. I identified her with myself because I really want to do something similar in the future.

In this novel, we also got to see the other side of curtain. The author also seemed to have an excellent understanding of the film industry, and I found myself just as interested in the behind-the-scenes perspective as well as the romance.

The writting was simple and excellent. It was easy to read and the pages easily flew by. I finished it in two sitting.

Not in the Script is really funny and sweet. I pretty much wore a smile on my face the entire time I was reading. If you are in the mood for some light hearted romance, then I would totally recommend this book. You won’t want to stop until you have finished the book. Well, at least that’s how I feel. This was a wonderful debut from the author!

Recommend it?

Definitely.


So guys have you read this book yet? Did you like it, love it? Share your thoughts with me.

9 thoughts on “Review: Not in the Script by Amy Finnegan

Leave a Reply

