Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass

Featured Image -- 553Author: Kiera Cass

Tittle: The Selection

Series: The Selection series

Genre: Dystopia, Young-Adult

Pages: 327 pages, Paperback

Published: April 24th, 2012 by HarperTeen (1st published January 1st, 2012)

Source: Purchased

My rating:Β PicsArt_1431077886446


Blurb (from Goodreads):

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself–and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.


My thoughts:

So, most of you already know that I started reading The Selection as a part of the Blog Buddy Read held by Victoria @ Addlepates and Book Nerds. I’m glad I decided to participate and I quite enjoyed reading this book but (YES, HERE COMES THE BIG BUT) not as much as I wanted to.

The plot was predictable. This factor kind of takes away the charm of the book. Nonetheless, I kept on reading. The plot moved forward at a nice pace and Kiera Cass dealt with a multitude of different characters very well. The events of The Selection are told from the point of view of America Singer. She is a five, that means her caste is quite low and people who are fives are usually artists, America is a singer. She doesn’t want to be a part of the Selection because she is already in love with Aspen, her childhood friend but ultimately on his insistence, she signs up and gets selected as well. She knows that she’s going to come back in a day or two but as slowly slowly she gets to know Prince Maxon her decesions begin to change.

First of all, America, I liked her character. She was sassy and spoke her mind and even didn’t think before kneeing the prince in the groin when she thought he was going to touch her. (EPIC SCENE! πŸ˜› ) I don’t think she would have given Prince Maxon a chance if she hadn’t been deeply hurt by Aspen. Thankfully for that, she gets a chance to know the prince and they decide on a deal to be friends but at a point she understands that it is more than that. I really liked what she said to Aspen at the end when he wanted her back-

β€œNo, I’m not choosing him or you. I’m choosing me.”

Prince Maxon was charming and sweet and he was honestly confused with the Selection because out of them he had to choose a soul mate who would also be his future queen.

β€œWhat do you think my chances might be of finding a soul mate in the group of you? I’ll be lucky if I can just find someone who’ll be able to stand me for the rest of our lives. What if I’ve already sent her home because I was relying on some sort of spark I didn’t feel? What if she’s waiting to leave me at the first sign of adversity? What if I don’t find anyone at all? What do I do then, America?”

Yeah, he was a confused mess but he got along with America pretty well, he was quite funny at times. And he didn’t know how to handle crying women.

β€œIs this a good time to pat your shoulder?”

But what I loved the most about them, is their conversations, they opened up to each other and when he learned about the conditions of the lower caste, he immediately thought of a solution and implemented necessary actions. That showed he was kind, caring and would be a great king in the future. He also gave America the necessary space she wanted. Like I said in an earlier post, he is the perfect boyfriend material but I wished I knew a bit more about his character and his past.

Among the other characters, I didn’t like Aspen much. At first I did but his huge ego destroyed that. He kept his ego first than his love for America. I particularly loved America’s father, he was gentle, sweet and caring and America was his princess. May, America’s sister was also nice and bubbly, she loved to talk and was full of enthusiasm. Marlee was another character I immediately liked, despite her caste she didn’t mind being friends with America but Celeste was a character I hated very much. She would do anything to remove her competitions by hook or crook. Another thing I liked in this book was the description of all the gorgeous dresses. Made me wish I could have them all.

The writing was simple and descriptive. I wish the love triangle ends soon because I don’t usually get the point of loving two people at the same time. All in all, I enjoyed this but I wished it was much more. I do have The Elite, the 2nd book in this series but I’m not in a hurry to read that at all.

Recommend it?

Yes, if you like love triangles but not otherwise.


So, I kept writing American instead of America here! πŸ˜› What did you guys think about this book? Did you guys liked it or not? Do share your thoughts! And did you like my new rating butterflies?

7 thoughts on “Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass

  1. I agree with you on this book, I enjoyed it but I didn’t love it. I wish more was done about the rebels and wayyyy less on the love triangle. I couldn’t stand Aspen so reading that love triangle was torturous.

    Perhaps its a bit of a SPOILER but I found the love triangle to be even worse in Elite. It also doesn’t help that I can’t stand America either πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly! I just don’t really understand tye meaning of love triangles. I mean it’s okay at first, you’re confused but you eventually have to make a decision and that shouldn’t be hurried but it should be fast enough because meanwhile there’s two guys hanging onto that decesion!

      No spolier for me because I have read some reviews where people even suggested to skip the 2nd book and directly go to the 3rd, and as I already have the book I will read it, eventually when I have nothing in my hand.
      Hehe…I understand your condition.

      Like

      • Agreed. I can understand having two potential interests but I don’t understand how you can fall in love with both at the same time in such a “deep way”. Worst is all the flip flopping between. So frustrating.
        I wouldn’t go so far as to say that you should skip the 2nd book entirely, instead I would say be prepared to be patient as these characters start to test your tolerance for love triangles and teenage drama πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Review: The Elite & The One by Kiera Cass || Where I finally bid goodbye to this series |

Leave a Reply

