Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer

13206828Author: Marissa Meyer

Tittle: Cress

Series: The Lunar Chronicles, book 3

Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal, Young-Adult, Sci-fi

Pages: 354, Ebook

Published: February 4th, 2014 by Feiwel & Friends

Source: Purchased

My rating: ★★★★★


Blurb (from Goodreads):

In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.


My thoughts:

I can’t freaking tell you how much I liked this book. This was so, so awsome. So, Cress is a retelling of Rapunzel, one of my absolute favourites. And the cover is so beautiful!

“Her satellite made one full orbit around Planet Earth every sixteen hours. It was a prison that came with an endlessly breathtaking view— vast blue oceans and swirling clouds and sunrises that set half the world on fire.”

The plot was seriously brilliant. We swing into action from the very beginning of this novel, during which we meet Cress and get to know the kind of life she lived inside this satellite for almost a decade. She is pretty much naive yet sweet and has so many imaginative ideas of the real world and it’s people. The gang, i.e. Cinder, Thorne, Scarlet, Wolf, and Iko decide to go on a mission to rescue Cress from her satellite. Things happen and then everything go horribly wrong, causing them to separate. What I loved about this book was it gave the readers the perfect opportunity to get to know each individual character in a more intimate manner.

Thorne and Cress end up stranded in the Sahara Desert, which is interesting because Cress has never stepped foot on Earth and being isolated for years didn’t exactly grant her the best social skills, and due to certain circumstances on the satellite, Throne is left blind. Poor Thorne.

“Maybe great, epic romances don’t just happen. We have to make them ourselves.”

Cress and Thorne are utterly hilarious and adorable. I love her huge crush on him, and the disillusionment that follows. I love Thorne’s charm and the way it plays off Cress’s total ignorance of most things and her strong ability to perceive other things.

“Captain?”

“Yeah?”

“Do you think it was destiny that brought us together?”

He squinted and, after a thoughtful moment, shook his head. “No. I’m pretty sure it was Cinder.”

As for the all the characters, whether there are a main character or a secondary character, I still loved them. Even though with every book Marissa Meyer adds several new ones, it doesn’t feel like you get lost at all. They’re vibrant and so full of personality. For example, Cress is the biggest damsel in distress we have had in the Lunar Chronicles. But by the end, she’s different and not the sheltered girl she was before taking orders.

Cinder finally has accepted her role and is ready to execute her plan which starts with:

Glancing around the room, Cinder tipped up her chin. “It starts with kidnapping the groom.”
Iko’s hand shot into the air.
“Yes, Iko?”
“That is the best idea ever. Count me in.”

Iko is one of the best characters ever. She is my favourite. Although she is only an android but she is totally full of sarcasm and humour and I love her spunky personality.

“See? Injustice. Here we are, risking our lives to rescue Kai and this whole planet, and Adri and Pearl get to go to the royal wedding. I’m disgusted. I hope they spill soy sauce on their fancy dresses.”

Jacin’s concern turned fast to annoyance. “Your ship has some messed-up priorities, you know that?”

“Iko. My name is Iko. If you don’t stop calling me the ‘ship,’ I am going to make sure you never have hot water during your showers again, do you understand me?”

Sheeesh, see, she is awsome!

In this book we see a little less of Wolf and Scarlet because something major happens with Scarlet, and Wolf is mostly in a grumpy and sad state which I’m not going to spoil it for you guys.

And lastly, Kai, I’m so glad they kidnapped him. I kind of never been so glad with anyone else’s kidnapping before. 😛

Bending his head, Kai pressed his lips to her knuckles. The plating had no nerve endings, and yet the touch sent a tingle of electricity along her arm.

“Cinder?”

“Mm?”

He lifted his gaze. “Just to be clear, you’re not using your mind powers on me right now, are you?”

She blinked. “Of course not.”

“Just checking.”

Then he slipped his arms around her waist and kissed her. Cinder gasped, pressing her palms against his chest. Kai pulled her closer. Her hands tentatively made their way to his shoulders, before stringing around his neck.

TOTALLY EPIC. FINALLY!!

So, basically this was the moment we all have been waiting for and it finally happens in this book. There was the right amount of anticipation before we finally get to see the kiss which was basically, totally, absolutely perfect.

Too much quotesy review, eeh? I couldn’t help it! They were all simply awsome. The writing was great as usual, simple and straightforward. It was so difficult to put this book down for a single second. I’m so exited to see how Cinder starts a revolution in Luna with the help of everyone and finally defeat Levana. I am usually a fast reader but with this book I wished I could read even more faster and I really wish it didn’t end. But sadly it did and now I have to wait for the last and final conclusion in Winter which is going to be released in November 10th, 2015. Six freaking months. How am I gonna survive? The Lunar Chronicles is definitely my new favourite series.

Recommend it?

Oh dear lordie, ABSOLUTELY!


So did you guys read Cress yet?  If not you definitely need to read this series. And if yes, how much did you like it? Come here people and fangirl with me some more! I would love to hear your thoughts.

5 thoughts on “Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer

  1. Great review! Ah! I loved Cress so much! One of my favorites! I was so sad about Thorne becoming blind but thank God it wasn’t permanent! Cress and Throne were SO cute! I love them. They’re my second favorite couple in the series – with Kai and Cinder being the first haha. I did not enjoy Scarlet and Wolf here. I honestly am not a big fan of them at all (sorry if you are!) I put that same quote of Kai and Cinder’s kiss on my review, too! It was a long time coming and it was perfect!! We have to help each other with this long wait for Winter! Six months is too long!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! 😀
      Yeah I did enjoy every couple including Scarlet and Wolf. But no worries.
      That quote was unavoidable, it was juat so great. And well great minds think alike. 😛
      Yes, we do have to help each other, this is going to be a tough journey, glad you’ll be there by my side. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Review: Winter by Marissa Meyer | Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

