Review: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

13206760Author: Marissa Meyer

Tittle: Scarlet

Series: The Lunar Chronicles, book 2

Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal, Young-Adult

Pages: 269, Ebook

Published: February 5th, 2013 by Feiwel & Friends (1st published on January 1st, 2013)

Source: Purchased

My rating: ★★★★☆


Blurb (from Goodreads):

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison–even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.


My thoughts:

The first book in this series, i.e. Cinder ended up with a cliffhanger and I couldn’t wait to find out what happened next, so without wasting anytime I started the next book, Scarlet the very next day. And, omg this book was awsome like the first one, I’m glad I read this without any delay.

“She did not know that the wolf was a wicked sort of animal, and she was not afraid of him.”

Scarlet is the retelling of Little Red Riding Hood. The book picks up where it left off, but it opens up by introducing us to the new character in this universe named Scarlet who is looking for her missing grandmother and along the way she meets a guy named Wolf who agress to help her in the search for finding her grandmother. And together they leave for Paris and the adventure begins.

I loved Scarlet, she wears a red hoodie and carries a gun in her left. She’s tough, stubborn and determined, she doesn’t wait for someone to save her grandmother but takes matter in her own hands to do so. I also loved her feisty personality and how she kept defending Cinder without knowing anything about her at all.

Wolf, was not at all what I was expected of a big bad wolf incarnation. He was…well shy. And I found him adorable, when he was not being a deadly fighter. His character was a bit complex because of his past but I liked the mystery surrounding him. I was eager to find out who he was actually.

And Cinder has escaped prison alongwith a new character named Thorne, a womanizer and a fugitive. In this book, we see Cinder slowly starting to deal with her Lunar abilities and the new-found shocking identity of hers. And Thorne, well he was pretty damn hilarious. I loved their love-hate friendship, it was a refreshment to read something like their relationship.

“A relieved grin filled up Thorne’s face. “We’re having another moment, aren’t we?”

“If by a moment, you mean me not wanting to strangle you for the first time since we met, then I guess we are.”

My only regret is that we didn’t get enough Kai in this book. (Would I ever get enough?) But we see a second side to him here which is more mature, serious and loyal and I absolutely agree he would be able to make a great and honest king who would rule with compassion. We also see him dealing with Levana who is hell bent on finding Cinder and also his conflicting emtion towards Cinder. *SIGHS*

Oh, honourable mention, Iko, how can I forget my favourite character. This android has secured a final place in my heart. Her practice of sarcasm has serious improvements in this book and well she can blush!

Marissa Meyer had woven a deep and complex plot, I absolutely loved how Scarlet and Cinder connected and she writes in such a way that you can’t put it down. I liked the flipping point of views, there were mainly two different goals, Cinder trying to find more about herself and something that would stop Kai from agreeing to marry Levana and Scarlet trying to find her grandmother, it was awsome how this two worlds collided, intermixing into one.

I wished there was a bit more depth to the character of Scarlet and Wolf but it didn’t have that scope because the story was moving too fast. There was an insta-attraction between them that didn’t take much time to develop into something more deeper but I kinda liked that. It was kind of like who knows how much we can live in this world where war was going to break out sooner or later and we should live in the moment. You getting me? *SHAKES HEAD*

“But you’re the only one, Scarlet. You’ll always be the only one.”

I tell you, I really loved their feiry and passionate romance. So, I really enjoyed this epic ride and as usual this ended with another biggie cliffhanger. I was like OH GOD WHY, REALLY THIS ENDED LIKE THIS!! Again, I couldn’t wait and had to make a run for the 3rd book.

Recommend it?

Duh, YES!


So have you read this book yet? What are your thoughts about this one? Did you like the new characters?

5 thoughts on “Review: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

  1. Pingback: Review: Winter by Marissa Meyer | Daydreaming Books

Leave a Reply

